Oswego, IL
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 245ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Pro Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Visiting Theresa

1    7/8/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signs
-Multiple tees
-Concrete pads for ams
-Nice baskets
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Nice restrooms (near the pool)
-Brooms near most of the concrete pads for sweeping
-Good shot type variety
-Good mix of open and wooded
Cons: -Distance variety is lacking; seemed like most holes were the same distance.
-Gravel pads for pros
-Thick bushes on some holes can eat your discs
-Yellow rocks marking the pro pads didn't have numbers
-The flow of the course seemed to overlap, and some hole may have played across each other. This could be an issue during heavy tourney play.
-After finishing some holes, it was confusing to find the next tee. Some signage between the basket and tee would have help some areas.
Other Thoughts: I am from Mississippi and got a quick opportunity to play while visiting the Chicago area. Lisa, Macy, and Theresa came to play with me also.

The course is nice overall. I enjoyed the weather up that way too. I lost one disc while up there, so that put a damper on things. Glad I got a chance to play though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    7/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in wooded area away from any other park activities. Good sense of seclusion inside the forest.
- Almost every type of shot needed throughout the course. Definitely rewards good line shaping through wooded fairways and around larger trees.
- Some decent elevation changes on a few holes help to keep every drive a bit different than the last.
- Alternate tees turn this tough course into a brutal one. There are lots more obstacles and lots more length on almost all of the pros.
- Good baskets, great tee pads, great signage, and even brooms to clear the box. Alternate tees are in good shape and clearly marked as well.
Cons: - Not many... terrain is pretty much flat in general, no water, nothing that can be helped. Some of the holes are kind of similar to each other, but that is bound to happen with the land in use.
Other Thoughts: - Nice wooded course that rewards good shots and punishes bad. Wooded fairways are mostly clear, no random skinny trees to avoid. Holes out of the woods also have good obstacles.
- The first time through, I stuck to the short tees, and was grateful for it. Some of the pro tees seemed downright nasty, in a good way of course. Hole 2's pro tee is directly over a nasty patch of forest/rough that would feast on short shots.
- Course made excellent use of the available land. Very well designed and enjoyable. One of my favorite Chicagoland courses thus far.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A course that has everything.

5+    5/17/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of hole types
-Uses land well
-Good combo of Woods and Fields
-Challenging Pars
Cons: -Pro tees are natural, using yellow rocks instead of concrete tees like the amateur ones.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that show how a disc golf course should be designed. This course has a great combination of holes, from woods and fields, hyzers and anhyzers, and long and short shots. This course really tests your ability to place your shots and ability to throw with accuracy. Plenty of risk/reward with this course. Played a tournament here a year ago. Definitely a favorite of mine. Worth a trip out there to play it. Also next to Jericho Lake, which I hear is another great course. Play Eagle Ridge and you will not be disappointed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 sooo fun.

1    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: 815RocSolid
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - nice baskets
- nice flow
- possibilty of low score
- ace runs
- nice signs
Cons: - some holes a lil too easy from am tees
Other Thoughts: every hole had me wanting to unload the bag. any course that makes me feel like that is good in my book. i wish i didnt live 45 mins from here, i would play this course everyday if possible.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the land
- Fun technical course
- Open holes incorporate the hills, trees, and bushes.
- Wooded holes have great tunnel shot and great use of the steep hill side.
- Level cement teepads
- Tee Signs have an actual picture of the hole from the tee
- Pro tees look like the up the challenge significantly
- Easy to follow
- Great mix of shots
Cons: - Pro pads are limestone and no marked distance
- Lack of trash cans and benches
- Chuckers are plentiful
Other Thoughts: This is a fun technical course not far from the Fox River. I wish this course was closer so I could play it far more often. We played from the Am pads cause the teepads for the pro was loose limestone. I wish we had more time to play 2 or 3 rounds. If your in the area definitely go play. Jericho Lake is not far away either which is another fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego has come a long ways.

5+    4/10/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course started out as a super short below average 9 hole course. Over the last few years 9 new holes have been added and ther are now 2 sets of tees.

The park itself has some nice open areas with some heavy woods. In the woods there are some nice elevation changes and unique areas.

Tee #1 can be difficult to find. You have to walk down the path across the tracks to find it.

Oswego is now the best course in the western suburbs.

It has a wide variety with 2 sets of tees. The old 9 are more open while the new 9 have added heavy woods and difficulty. There is some minor elevation in the woods.

The short tees now have concrete. They are in the process of adding concrete long tees this year.

The tee signs are very cool. A picture was taken of each hole. They were framed on a post. The distance is also on the sign.
Cons: Long tees are currently natural.

This course is still on the short side even with the addition of long tees. There are really no holes where you can open up and rip.


Other Thoughts: The local club is very active. Post on the forum to find a playing partner.
http://foxvalleymetrodiscgolfclub.com/new/

Here are a couple of videos taken a few years ago. It's early spring so there are no leaves on the trees. You can get a feel of the course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Make a day out of it and go play Aurora.

My Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Eagle Ridge is worth the trip.

1    11/8/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: El Mexicano
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of the available property. Nice Good distance holes along with some challenging wooded holes. I played this in the fall, so it was easier to see the holes. I imagine the course plays much tougher in the Summer when the foliage grown out.There are plenty of risk reward shots. Cement tee pads are very nice. Once the long cement tee pads are added, this will be a good tourney course.
Cons: None come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Fox Valley has done a great job getting this course to where it is. I expect the cousrse to become even better as it ages.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the west

5+    9/16/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: simplepmart
Played: 92  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: THE best course that I've played in the western subs of Chicago. Plenty of challenge as you wind up, down, through, and around the beautiful scenery. Plenty of risk/reward as you have to make frequent decisions to either lay up for the par or go for the chains and get your birdie. Good signs and flow to the course. A must play if you are anywhere close to Montgomery/Aurora/Oswego/Naperville.
Cons: Couldn't give this course a 5 because it only has 1 hole out of the 18 that you can unleash a bomb on. I always leave this course wanting to have been able to air it out just a few more times. Mosquitoes are pretty thick in the summer during the late evening, so bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is 1 of my top 5 Chicagoland courses. You won't be disappointed!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course

5+    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: Jusssstin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly everything about this course is a pro. it has short technical holes and longer holes wher you can just bomb them. I live right down the street and this is my home course.
Cons: if you have a strat throw you are probably looking for a little while. other than that this course really has nothing wrong other than a few bugs after it rains
Other Thoughts: bring everything you got to master this course. does not favor lefties or righties.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park with rolling hills, and a mix of open space with scattered trees and brush, and wooded areas. The elevation is used well to force uphill and downhill control, and add some difficulty to the wooded holes. The open holes are pretty flat, but have brushy areas to punish errant drives, and well placed trees to take away some easy lines. The wooded holes force accuracy, and will punish shots that stray off line. The greens in the woods are nice and challenging, and add some fun challenges to putts.

There is a good mix of lengths on the course, from some open bombs, to short technical shots. There are definitely some ace runs, but not a whole lot of real gimmes on the course. There are two sets of tees per hole, and though I didn't have time to play the longs they looked like they changed the course quite a bit and added some fun challenge to the easier holes. There is a nice putting area by the first tee, along with a signboard with a course map and local information.

Each short tee had a signpost with a hole picture showing the hole location and long tee location along with distances for both tees. They were easy to read, and easy to see from a distance, making course navigation pretty easy overall. The short tees are currently a mix of crushed stone tees that were in nice shape, and brand new concrete tees (locals told me that the rest of the short tees will be concrete shortly, and they are working on the longs). The long tees were natural, but were well marked with bright yellow stones, and were level and not rutted.

The locals were out working on the course, and protecting the newly poured concrete tees. All were very friendly and helpful. Seems like a great group of people take care of the course, and their hard work really shows.
Cons: The course was pretty buggy when I played, so make sure you bring spray. There was also some poison ivy off some of the fairways, not a huge deal just make sure you keep an eye out for it. Some of the natural tees weren't in the best shape, though the club seems to be working hard on the tees and this should be resolved soon. I would like to see some signage on the long tees, otherwise players have to walk to the short tee to see the hole information, and they aren't always right together.

A couple holes play near or over a walking path, there were some times we had to wait for pedestrians to clear the holes. Otherwise, the area is just for disc golf though so it wasn't a big deal. This course is nice, and clearly well taken care of, it just didn't have holes with a lot of wow factor, or any that really stuck out as memorable.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly in terms of signage and navigation, but there are some places where thick brush might frustrate newer players without accurate drives. More experienced players will enjoy the challenge on some holes, especially from the tougher long tees.

This is a fun course, and definitely worth playing if you're anywhere near. All the people on the course were friendly, and the course had a nice atmosphere overall. Pair this course with nearby Jericho Lake for a good day of discing!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.