Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 300ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Well Rounded Course

2-4    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a ton of variety in its holes. There are holes for every shot in your bag. This is also a very wooded course, which will certainly test your ability to place your shots cleanly. A lot of the holes have guardian trees, which really push good shot placement. Some holes also have the baskets up on small hills, which make for punishing roll aways from missed putts. The hills in the area are used well, and make for fun elevation changes. The fairways are maintained very well. The short tees are cemented very well, and the long tees are in pretty good shape as well. The brooms on every tee are great additions, aside from the fact that jerks always have to break them. The course uses the land it has very well. The course also has a good amount of trash/recycling cans.
Cons: I hope I'm not the only one who feels this way, but the signs here SUCK! Its simply a picture from the tee, that you're already standing on, and a yellow arrow pointing to the general area of the basket. I would definitely prefer some aerial views similar to Highland Park's.

The course could also use a few more benches, they're very few and far between.

My most outstanding gripe with this course though is the rough. Its filled with thorns, and bugs, and all kinds of general unpleasantness. Its just too much, to the point where even on open holes, if you stray a foot off the fairway, it becomes a production to find your disc amongst all the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: This course is an all around fun experience. It's challenging, and pretty with the scenery. There are more challenging courses, like Highland Park, and prettier ones, like Community Park, but this one allows you to have your cake and eat it too. I recommend it to anyone who's in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Unanticipated Gem

5+    8/13/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Eagle Ridge years ago, and I could have sworn it was a 9-hole pitch & putt. With that in mind I really was not expecting much at all from it, but I was pleasantly surprised. It has to be right up there with the best courses in the Chicagoland area. The course is wooded with well defined fairways. Get out of the fairway and there is a nice underbrush to deal with. You need to manage the course as most of the baskets have guardian trees and you need to be in the right spot for a good birdie putt. There are a few openish shots (#3, #11, #15) added in to the design, giving it some variety. The course has very good elevation changes for the area and has a few pin placements with nice drop-offs to add some challenge. The course has good tee signs with a photo of the hole and short tee distances, and the baskets have yellow marks leading you to the next basket. They also have brooms on the tee signs so you can clean off your tee if needed. I didn't really keep track, but there were a few tees with benches. There are two tees on each hole (the short tees are concrete and the longs are crushed gravel) and in most cases the long tee added a different look to the hole. For me the course played very differently (and harder) from the longs, which is supposed to be the point of long tees. All in all it is a very well put together course.
Cons: Like a lot of wooded courses, it's on the short side. It seemed like I had a Roc in my hand off the tee a lot. A lot of the holes are a similar distance with a similar layout and feel, so after a while it got a bit repetitive. There are a lot of Roc shots out there. There are a few open holes, but they really are not bomb's away length. The one hole that has really good distance (#16) has a HUGE tree right in the middle of the fairway, so you really can't let 'er rip on that hole. That's just nit picking though. On hole # 14 the basket is too close to the tee on # 12. Otherwise, it's a solid design.
Other Thoughts: I've said many times that if you are in Chicago you should just play the course closest to you since none of them are really worth going out of your way to play. I might have to change my tune as Eagle Ridge is a very good course. I'll go out on a limb and say it is worth a special trip to play.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is very well maintained
- Nice mix of Open and wooded shots
- Course takes advantage of hills to create some challenging shots
- Brooms are by the cement tees
- Nice photos are used to map the location of the basket
- Most baskets have a yellow bar to indicate the location of the next hole
- Some nice user of bushes and trees for line shaping shots
- Variety of holes which require the use of both forehand and backhand shots.
Cons: - Course could use more garbage cans and benches
- Heavy bushes and brush can eat up your disc
- There is little variety in hole lengths
- 1/2 the course feels as if it is lacking variety
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today and it is a beautiful park. The only damper on my day was not having a machete to whack my way through some of the thick underbrush to retrieve my Teebird which arched off path.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego - Disc Golf Heven

5+    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in the western suburbs.

Great elevation changes for an Illinois course

Good open holes and wooded holes

Sweeping faiways, well groomed

Cons: The civic centre plays music to loud yet If you are a to 20 person you wont mind

can be a little crowded

BUGS!
Other Thoughts: Next to Joliet's West Park, this is one of the best courses in the Chicagoland area. Wish they had 24 holes!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets in perfect condition with hole number on top.
-Putting basket
-Cement Amateur tees and natural pros for now, until they install the cement ones. The tees are all in great shape too.
-Tee signs were some of the best I've ever seen, very unique and quality built. They include Distance and hole number are accurate and easy to understand. None of the signs are damaged.
-Brooms at every tee
-Loops back to start
-Camping nearby
-Restrooms and water fountain by the pool
-Nice shot variety does not favor lefties or righties
-Good mix of tight and technical, yet still fair
-Challenging course which is fun
-Parking was not an issue
-Scenic park which is secluded and tucked away from any other park activities
-Not too crowded
-Friendly locals
-Tournaments held here
-Clean park without much litter and it provides a decent amount of trash cans
Cons: -Could use a little more variety in the distance of the holes
-Few more benches would of been nice
-Couple of the holes are pretty similar to each other
Other Thoughts: Buggy in the evening, bring the spray!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Visiting Theresa

1    7/8/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signs
-Multiple tees
-Concrete pads for ams
-Nice baskets
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Nice restrooms (near the pool)
-Brooms near most of the concrete pads for sweeping
-Good shot type variety
-Good mix of open and wooded
Cons: -Distance variety is lacking; seemed like most holes were the same distance.
-Gravel pads for pros
-Thick bushes on some holes can eat your discs
-Yellow rocks marking the pro pads didn't have numbers
-The flow of the course seemed to overlap, and some hole may have played across each other. This could be an issue during heavy tourney play.
-After finishing some holes, it was confusing to find the next tee. Some signage between the basket and tee would have help some areas.
Other Thoughts: I am from Mississippi and got a quick opportunity to play while visiting the Chicago area. Lisa, Macy, and Theresa came to play with me also.

The course is nice overall. I enjoyed the weather up that way too. I lost one disc while up there, so that put a damper on things. Glad I got a chance to play though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    7/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in wooded area away from any other park activities. Good sense of seclusion inside the forest.
- Almost every type of shot needed throughout the course. Definitely rewards good line shaping through wooded fairways and around larger trees.
- Some decent elevation changes on a few holes help to keep every drive a bit different than the last.
- Alternate tees turn this tough course into a brutal one. There are lots more obstacles and lots more length on almost all of the pros.
- Good baskets, great tee pads, great signage, and even brooms to clear the box. Alternate tees are in good shape and clearly marked as well.
Cons: - Not many... terrain is pretty much flat in general, no water, nothing that can be helped. Some of the holes are kind of similar to each other, but that is bound to happen with the land in use.
Other Thoughts: - Nice wooded course that rewards good shots and punishes bad. Wooded fairways are mostly clear, no random skinny trees to avoid. Holes out of the woods also have good obstacles.
- The first time through, I stuck to the short tees, and was grateful for it. Some of the pro tees seemed downright nasty, in a good way of course. Hole 2's pro tee is directly over a nasty patch of forest/rough that would feast on short shots.
- Course made excellent use of the available land. Very well designed and enjoyable. One of my favorite Chicagoland courses thus far.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A course that has everything.

5+    5/17/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of hole types
-Uses land well
-Good combo of Woods and Fields
-Challenging Pars
Cons: -Pro tees are natural, using yellow rocks instead of concrete tees like the amateur ones.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that show how a disc golf course should be designed. This course has a great combination of holes, from woods and fields, hyzers and anhyzers, and long and short shots. This course really tests your ability to place your shots and ability to throw with accuracy. Plenty of risk/reward with this course. Played a tournament here a year ago. Definitely a favorite of mine. Worth a trip out there to play it. Also next to Jericho Lake, which I hear is another great course. Play Eagle Ridge and you will not be disappointed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 sooo fun.

1    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: 815RocSolid
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - nice baskets
- nice flow
- possibilty of low score
- ace runs
- nice signs
Cons: - some holes a lil too easy from am tees
Other Thoughts: every hole had me wanting to unload the bag. any course that makes me feel like that is good in my book. i wish i didnt live 45 mins from here, i would play this course everyday if possible.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 170  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the land
- Fun technical course
- Open holes incorporate the hills, trees, and bushes.
- Wooded holes have great tunnel shot and great use of the steep hill side.
- Level cement teepads
- Tee Signs have an actual picture of the hole from the tee
- Pro tees look like the up the challenge significantly
- Easy to follow
- Great mix of shots
Cons: - Pro pads are limestone and no marked distance
- Lack of trash cans and benches
- Chuckers are plentiful
Other Thoughts: This is a fun technical course not far from the Fox River. I wish this course was closer so I could play it far more often. We played from the Am pads cause the teepads for the pro was loose limestone. I wish we had more time to play 2 or 3 rounds. If your in the area definitely go play. Jericho Lake is not far away either which is another fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.