Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 240ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Worth the in state drive

5+    8/9/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Bodangle22
Played: 92  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a fairly secluded part of the civic center's land. Only a section of a path runs through but only comes into play from 2 of the long sets of tees (which are elevated 10 feet over joggers/bikers heads). Once you walk over the train tracks you notice (especially if your from the chicago area) your stepping into an actual DGC. The land used gives the best variety for this course. The "open" holes have enough obstacles in the way to make you still choose a line while the wooded holes offer enough challenges to where if you hit a tree off the box your never guaranteed a 3 or a 4 and even a 5. Something nice to have in this area. The shorts are a great course to get in your buzzz/roc practice while the longs force you to use every disc your brought. The longs add plenty of lengths to the shorts and plenty of challenge for the adv/pro player. Not a destination course in the country but certainly for the state.
Cons: The longs are limestone as of right now. Money was raised just waitng on the park district to get their arse in gear. Some of the long tee pads could use some minor tweaking as far as placement. Poison ivy could be a pain in the ass but the park district put very imformative signs around to warn people about them.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and will miss it when I move. Special thangs to the FVMDG especially SR. for all the hard work he puts in as well as the DG sodfather Frank for taking the time to make the trip to lend a hand and install some of those sweet new benches.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 High Fun Factor, Good Variety Here

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
**Easy to find
**Parking right on the street.
**Walk past the playground equipment and over the railroad tracks to the course (don't forget to look BOTH ways, I don't know if these are active tracks or not).
**Easy navigation thanks to a Yellow painted basket tine and the foot paths.
**The course starts out with the first few holes being pretty easy. I kind of like a course that starts this way to give you a few holes to loosen up.
**Lots of blind shots which left me laying up in the middle to see what was on the other side.
**Good use of the minimal elevation available.
**Nice picture tee signs with a yellow arrow pointing towards the basket.
**Fairly short and technical, but, that's OK.
**I think almost the entire course was in like the 230-260ft range
Cons: .
>>>I HATE PRAIRIE GRASS...
>>>You can be a foot off of the fairway and lose your disc.
>>>It's like a cheap way to save on a little mowing to define a fairway using Prairie Grass.
>>>Nobody wants to lose their favorite anhyzer disc that's beat-in just right in this stuff...
>>>How much fun is that???
**Poison Ivy
**Punishing rough
**I've heard that the bugs are ferocious here, but, even they had run for cover on the 105+ heat index day that we played.
Other Thoughts: .
Nice Course, in a nice neighborhood.
My wife and I had a good time playing here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Variety

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 122  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My round at Oswego was incredibly fun! The course's best feature is it's large variety of shots demanded in its holes. Normally, I consider myself a right hand backhand thrower. Here, however I found that the course forced me to have a consistent game with all sorts of different shots, including forehand drives and approaches... very good practice for people trying to get better. Additionally, there is a lot of variety in the distances of each of the holes and this is enhanced even further by the long sets of tees. Unlike some courses, the long tees here, though not concrete, are fairly easy to judge as to where exactly the teepad ends and begins. There's also some good scenery as you go in and out of a forest that kind of takes you away from the park, which is in fact pretty busy.

To summarize: A moderately challenging round, thanks to variety. There are birdies to be had though, so if you are having a good day you should have an awesome round.

Update 3/31/13!!!!
One of my few gripes about this course when I first played it was that the pro tees were not concrete. Well that has changed, so I felt the course deserved a half a disc increase in its rating.
Cons: *I wasn't very impressed with the first three holes from the short tees... they were pretty short and open. The round picked up considerably after that.

*There simply was not a hole on the course that was amazing. They were all pretty good, and you'd get to the teepad and say "what a neat hole." there weren't any that blew my mind.

Other Thoughts: When I went here, the baskets for holes 2, 17, and 18 were down, but a Parks person was picking them up in a pickup truck. I don't know if vandalism is common at this course, but if so that would be a most unfortunate way of ruining a very fun place!

Finally: several snakes seen throughout the round! For some people that's a deal breaker.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Chicago (area) Course

1    3/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Good variety between wooded, and more open shots
-There is some up and down to the course which is nice to see near Chicago
-Good hole distance variety
-Punishes poorly planned shots
-Good looking course
-Pro and Am tees
-Concrete Am tees
-Baskets are in good shape
-Signage is decent
Cons: -No signs a pro tees
-More benches and trash cans would be nice
-Brush is too punishing at times
-Bugs can be a problem especially on the mid-9
-Some trails can cause hazards on Pro tees
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course, and well worth a drive to get too. Not too long so playing twice through is possible. Keep in mind how rough the rough is, and stay careful, and bring bug spray. Other than that a wonderful course that keeps giving

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego Disc Monster

2-4    11/5/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety when it comes to shot selection, as well as balancing between wooded and open holes.
Cons: This course will eat your discs if you are not an accurate thrower. To some, that provides incentive away from risk-taking, but for others, it just means $10-$20 down the drain.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is great for experienced players but maybe a little frustrating for inexperienced players.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

5+    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety in hole design
- Distance variety in holes
- Good use of the given terrain
- Modest elevation changes
- Well defined fairways
- Risk/reward in shot selection
- Blind holes
- Interesting basket placements
- Solid tee signs
- Two sets of tees
- Concrete pads on the the short tees
- Baskets in Good Conditions
- Navigation is fairly simple.
- Bathrooms at Civic Center (when open)
Cons: - The rough is thick thick thick.
- Large Amounts of Poisin Ivy
- Bike path runs through the park
- Some of the long tees have "unfairways"
- Long tees have no tee signs
- Long tees are gravel marked by two yellow stones.
- Fierce Bugs
- No waterfountain
Other Thoughts: Eagle Ride is an excellent disc golf course that starts out in a Prairie setting and transitions into some moderate-tight woods. This course boasts a good variety of distance with both long open drives and tight technical shots. Each hole feels unique and memorable and they will test your arsenal of shots. The holes in the woods are very technical and will force you to control your shots. The thickness of the rough creates high risk/reward decisions by forcing you to make the choice to go big at the risk of an errant shot that burrows deep into the thicket or to play it safe for three by keeping it in the fairway. Hillside basket placements also create high risk reward decisions as missed putts could result in roll-aways. The long tees are for the most part very different than the shorts and make the course much more challenging. Only a few long tees seem to be a longer shot of the short tee, each other long tee requires a different shot than the short tee to score successfully. Overall the course design is all that it can be. Some added amenities such as concrete pads and tee signs for the long tees and some clearing of rough (especially poisin Ivy) could bump this course up to a 4.5 for me. I highly recommend this course because it is significantly better than most Chicagoland courses.

*** Survival Notes:
-There are restrooms on site only if the Civic Center is open.
- No water fountain on site that I could find, bring liquids the prairie holes get quite toasty in the sun.
- Bring bug spray the bugs are fierce in the summer time.
- Watch for poisin Ivy (there is lots)
- If you throw a disc over the fence on the East side of the property, the company can get ornery about you jumping it to retreive your disc. I would try and get permission before searching for it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

5+    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 98  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variation! Lots of chances to utilize different driving techniques for all types of throwers.
-Recreational and professional tees (pros only gravel)
-Good signage with pictures of the holes from the Red tees.
-Good mix of hole layouts. Tightly wooded holes demand and reward accuracy, a few open 350Ft+
-Great shot-shaping here! Wooded holes force you into throwing a certain technique or disc...even on the more open holes this is evident.
-Easy to navigate. I've never seen "Next Tee" signs, but the walking lines guide well. Even when the course is busy, it's not congested.
-Elevation is utilized decently here. Throwing up/down the ravines, there's a couple elevated tboxes.
-Plays well after a rain. This course was dry/drained enough to play a day after a huge thunderstorm. If you're wearing proper footwear, this course is like a walk in the park.
-Good practice area, which is also used as the 19th pin/green, throwing from the backside of 18's green.
-Nice park information board and benches at the start. A couple man-made stools near tboxes throughout.
-Beautiful, lush park. So green! (I'm used to desert terrain)
-Plenty of trash cans throughout, please use them!
Cons: -Course plays short. I'd bet it was designed with technicality in mind over raw distance, and that's fine. However, I would prefer a few more options in the 375+ range.
-Lots of thick brush/undergrowth here. Now that the course has been around for a few years there's been improvements. However, an errant throw will likely lose you a disc.
-Change. Started playing this course when it was only 9. Moved away from ILL, only to come back and find all but one of the baskets in the same position. This leads me to believe the pin placements never move.
-No water hazards. I find this to be a Con, not because I like diving for discs, but the risk/reward isn't as high and I normally like it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in the Western suburbs! Very solid design, and you can't coast through this round and expect to score well. Playing the pro tees, and this turns into a different course. The difficulty skyrockets, and the Con listed above (lack of distance) isn't an issue, and there's plenty added when playing Pro.

I would suggest long pants and hiking footwear. Don't come out in flat Adidas (like I normally wear). If you go into the rough, you want to be protected from the plants and bugs. Bugs CAN be bad here, however I didn't notice many after a thunderstorm, which I found to be odd.

This course is 5 miles away from Jericho, which, is no Gold level course for sure, but very enjoyable nonetheless! I do think, however, that Eagle Ridge is a MUCH stronger course than Jericho Lake.

Leagues here on Thursday nights, I believe 6PM start.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your Time!

2-4    7/5/2009   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Nice mixture of wooded and semi wooded holes. Some more open, but a solid mixture.

- Several alternates set up for the holes.

- Very well maintained course, virtually NO litter, and the grass is always trimmed up nicely.

- mostly dirt or sand tee pads, but very clearly marked with signs, etc.

- Some use of elevation which is nice.

- Baskets are all pretty new and in good shape.
Cons: - Not much bad about the course other than I did almost have a disc stolen... Left it at a hole, and some kid tried to lie and say it was his, he even tried to rub off my name on it but you could still see it. I got it back though
Other Thoughts: I think this is one of my favorite courses I've ever played really. I think the only thing that could be better is maybe having cement tees? I think that's nitpicking, but I like them.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    4/12/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots that don't favor one type of throwing style. Every hole you get something different. Tee boxes are set up really nice, and course is just over all well taken care of. Plus the course is never over crowded (use to be wonderful a few years ago when it was always empty, but I guess you can't keep a good course like this hidden forever).
Cons: BUGS!!!!!!! Bring bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Besides the bugs it's a great course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Chicagoland DG

1    3/19/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Eagle Ridge is located in a spacious community park. The disc golf section has walking trails nearby but otherwise is well-separated from the playground equipment and most other general-use park areas. Modest elevation changes, though not epic in scale are found throughout the course and are put to good use. Rollaways can become a factor on a few holes due to pin placement, but generally the terrain is more "rolling" than hilly. The course starts off in a grassy field, works its way through a well-worn wooded area, and then back out to the field.
- The wooded holes provide the majority of the excitement. Schule is minimal and the fairways defined. A decent variety of hole styles force hitting various lines.
- The pro tees (which unfortunately I did not get the opportunity to play) seem to add not only distance but often a very different, more difficult angle of approach.
-Very good trapezoidal, brushed concrete pads comprise the am tees, while the pro tees consist of crushed gravel.
- A couple of well-placed mandatories help rectify possible safety issues and increase the difficulty of two holes.
Cons: -Signage could be improved. Signs are only up on the am tees, and only provide the hole number, distance, and a photograph of the hole from the tee, which doesn't help much in the case of several blind holes, even with yellow arrows pointing out the general vicinity of the pin.
-Navigation can be slightly tricky in one or two places, as worn trails heading to a nearby tee seem the logical path, but will take you to the wrong tee. In general though, the flow is straight forward and easily managed.
Other Thoughts: -Some fairways seem too close to adjoining fairways. With the amount of traffic this course gets, the need to be aware of errant discs exists. My group was almost hit by a wayward drive from another hole, without a "fore" for warning. The crowded nature of this course along with some of the blind fairways exacerbates this issue. I do not consider this a "con," because the course is crowded due to it's quality and variety of design.
-Easily amongst the best Chicagoland has to offer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.