Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 345ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome Variety

5+    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 108  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My round at Oswego was incredibly fun! The course's best feature is it's large variety of shots demanded in its holes. Normally, I consider myself a right hand backhand thrower. Here, however I found that the course forced me to have a consistent game with all sorts of different shots, including forehand drives and approaches... very good practice for people trying to get better. Additionally, there is a lot of variety in the distances of each of the holes and this is enhanced even further by the long sets of tees. Unlike some courses, the long tees here, though not concrete, are fairly easy to judge as to where exactly the teepad ends and begins. There's also some good scenery as you go in and out of a forest that kind of takes you away from the park, which is in fact pretty busy.

To summarize: A moderately challenging round, thanks to variety. There are birdies to be had though, so if you are having a good day you should have an awesome round.

Update 3/31/13!!!!
One of my few gripes about this course when I first played it was that the pro tees were not concrete. Well that has changed, so I felt the course deserved a half a disc increase in its rating.
Cons: *I wasn't very impressed with the first three holes from the short tees... they were pretty short and open. The round picked up considerably after that.

*There simply was not a hole on the course that was amazing. They were all pretty good, and you'd get to the teepad and say "what a neat hole." there weren't any that blew my mind.

Other Thoughts: When I went here, the baskets for holes 2, 17, and 18 were down, but a Parks person was picking them up in a pickup truck. I don't know if vandalism is common at this course, but if so that would be a most unfortunate way of ruining a very fun place!

Finally: several snakes seen throughout the round! For some people that's a deal breaker.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Chicago (area) Course

1    3/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Good variety between wooded, and more open shots
-There is some up and down to the course which is nice to see near Chicago
-Good hole distance variety
-Punishes poorly planned shots
-Good looking course
-Pro and Am tees
-Concrete Am tees
-Baskets are in good shape
-Signage is decent
Cons: -No signs a pro tees
-More benches and trash cans would be nice
-Brush is too punishing at times
-Bugs can be a problem especially on the mid-9
-Some trails can cause hazards on Pro tees
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course, and well worth a drive to get too. Not too long so playing twice through is possible. Keep in mind how rough the rough is, and stay careful, and bring bug spray. Other than that a wonderful course that keeps giving

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego Disc Monster

2-4    11/5/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety when it comes to shot selection, as well as balancing between wooded and open holes.
Cons: This course will eat your discs if you are not an accurate thrower. To some, that provides incentive away from risk-taking, but for others, it just means $10-$20 down the drain.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is great for experienced players but maybe a little frustrating for inexperienced players.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ridge

5+    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 101  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety in hole design
- Distance variety in holes
- Good use of the given terrain
- Modest elevation changes
- Well defined fairways
- Risk/reward in shot selection
- Blind holes
- Interesting basket placements
- Solid tee signs
- Two sets of tees
- Concrete pads on the the short tees
- Baskets in Good Conditions
- Navigation is fairly simple.
- Bathrooms at Civic Center (when open)
Cons: - The rough is thick thick thick.
- Large Amounts of Poisin Ivy
- Bike path runs through the park
- Some of the long tees have "unfairways"
- Long tees have no tee signs
- Long tees are gravel marked by two yellow stones.
- Fierce Bugs
- No waterfountain
Other Thoughts: Eagle Ride is an excellent disc golf course that starts out in a Prairie setting and transitions into some moderate-tight woods. This course boasts a good variety of distance with both long open drives and tight technical shots. Each hole feels unique and memorable and they will test your arsenal of shots. The holes in the woods are very technical and will force you to control your shots. The thickness of the rough creates high risk/reward decisions by forcing you to make the choice to go big at the risk of an errant shot that burrows deep into the thicket or to play it safe for three by keeping it in the fairway. Hillside basket placements also create high risk reward decisions as missed putts could result in roll-aways. The long tees are for the most part very different than the shorts and make the course much more challenging. Only a few long tees seem to be a longer shot of the short tee, each other long tee requires a different shot than the short tee to score successfully. Overall the course design is all that it can be. Some added amenities such as concrete pads and tee signs for the long tees and some clearing of rough (especially poisin Ivy) could bump this course up to a 4.5 for me. I highly recommend this course because it is significantly better than most Chicagoland courses.

*** Survival Notes:
-There are restrooms on site only if the Civic Center is open.
- No water fountain on site that I could find, bring liquids the prairie holes get quite toasty in the sun.
- Bring bug spray the bugs are fierce in the summer time.
- Watch for poisin Ivy (there is lots)
- If you throw a disc over the fence on the East side of the property, the company can get ornery about you jumping it to retreive your disc. I would try and get permission before searching for it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

5+    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 94  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variation! Lots of chances to utilize different driving techniques for all types of throwers.
-Recreational and professional tees (pros only gravel)
-Good signage with pictures of the holes from the Red tees.
-Good mix of hole layouts. Tightly wooded holes demand and reward accuracy, a few open 350Ft+
-Great shot-shaping here! Wooded holes force you into throwing a certain technique or disc...even on the more open holes this is evident.
-Easy to navigate. I've never seen "Next Tee" signs, but the walking lines guide well. Even when the course is busy, it's not congested.
-Elevation is utilized decently here. Throwing up/down the ravines, there's a couple elevated tboxes.
-Plays well after a rain. This course was dry/drained enough to play a day after a huge thunderstorm. If you're wearing proper footwear, this course is like a walk in the park.
-Good practice area, which is also used as the 19th pin/green, throwing from the backside of 18's green.
-Nice park information board and benches at the start. A couple man-made stools near tboxes throughout.
-Beautiful, lush park. So green! (I'm used to desert terrain)
-Plenty of trash cans throughout, please use them!
Cons: -Course plays short. I'd bet it was designed with technicality in mind over raw distance, and that's fine. However, I would prefer a few more options in the 375+ range.
-Lots of thick brush/undergrowth here. Now that the course has been around for a few years there's been improvements. However, an errant throw will likely lose you a disc.
-Change. Started playing this course when it was only 9. Moved away from ILL, only to come back and find all but one of the baskets in the same position. This leads me to believe the pin placements never move.
-No water hazards. I find this to be a Con, not because I like diving for discs, but the risk/reward isn't as high and I normally like it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites in the Western suburbs! Very solid design, and you can't coast through this round and expect to score well. Playing the pro tees, and this turns into a different course. The difficulty skyrockets, and the Con listed above (lack of distance) isn't an issue, and there's plenty added when playing Pro.

I would suggest long pants and hiking footwear. Don't come out in flat Adidas (like I normally wear). If you go into the rough, you want to be protected from the plants and bugs. Bugs CAN be bad here, however I didn't notice many after a thunderstorm, which I found to be odd.

This course is 5 miles away from Jericho, which, is no Gold level course for sure, but very enjoyable nonetheless! I do think, however, that Eagle Ridge is a MUCH stronger course than Jericho Lake.

Leagues here on Thursday nights, I believe 6PM start.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Your Time!

2-4    7/5/2009   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Nice mixture of wooded and semi wooded holes. Some more open, but a solid mixture.

- Several alternates set up for the holes.

- Very well maintained course, virtually NO litter, and the grass is always trimmed up nicely.

- mostly dirt or sand tee pads, but very clearly marked with signs, etc.

- Some use of elevation which is nice.

- Baskets are all pretty new and in good shape.
Cons: - Not much bad about the course other than I did almost have a disc stolen... Left it at a hole, and some kid tried to lie and say it was his, he even tried to rub off my name on it but you could still see it. I got it back though
Other Thoughts: I think this is one of my favorite courses I've ever played really. I think the only thing that could be better is maybe having cement tees? I think that's nitpicking, but I like them.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    4/12/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Au Gratin O'Brien
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging shots that don't favor one type of throwing style. Every hole you get something different. Tee boxes are set up really nice, and course is just over all well taken care of. Plus the course is never over crowded (use to be wonderful a few years ago when it was always empty, but I guess you can't keep a good course like this hidden forever).
Cons: BUGS!!!!!!! Bring bug spray!!!
Other Thoughts: Besides the bugs it's a great course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Chicagoland DG

1    3/19/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Eagle Ridge is located in a spacious community park. The disc golf section has walking trails nearby but otherwise is well-separated from the playground equipment and most other general-use park areas. Modest elevation changes, though not epic in scale are found throughout the course and are put to good use. Rollaways can become a factor on a few holes due to pin placement, but generally the terrain is more "rolling" than hilly. The course starts off in a grassy field, works its way through a well-worn wooded area, and then back out to the field.
- The wooded holes provide the majority of the excitement. Schule is minimal and the fairways defined. A decent variety of hole styles force hitting various lines.
- The pro tees (which unfortunately I did not get the opportunity to play) seem to add not only distance but often a very different, more difficult angle of approach.
-Very good trapezoidal, brushed concrete pads comprise the am tees, while the pro tees consist of crushed gravel.
- A couple of well-placed mandatories help rectify possible safety issues and increase the difficulty of two holes.
Cons: -Signage could be improved. Signs are only up on the am tees, and only provide the hole number, distance, and a photograph of the hole from the tee, which doesn't help much in the case of several blind holes, even with yellow arrows pointing out the general vicinity of the pin.
-Navigation can be slightly tricky in one or two places, as worn trails heading to a nearby tee seem the logical path, but will take you to the wrong tee. In general though, the flow is straight forward and easily managed.
Other Thoughts: -Some fairways seem too close to adjoining fairways. With the amount of traffic this course gets, the need to be aware of errant discs exists. My group was almost hit by a wayward drive from another hole, without a "fore" for warning. The crowded nature of this course along with some of the blind fairways exacerbates this issue. I do not consider this a "con," because the course is crowded due to it's quality and variety of design.
-Easily amongst the best Chicagoland has to offer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Single position MachIII baskets are all in good shape.
-Tee Pads: Pro (Crushed gravel); Am (Concrete)
-Tee signs: Signs on all 18 holes located at Am tees only. Show hole number/distance. An actual photo of the hole (from the Am tee) is located on each post with an arrow pointing to the basket or direction of the basket if not visible in the photo. Direction to Pro tee is noted on the photo, along with distance to the hole from the Pro tee.

General Course Design & Layout
-Par: 54
-Distance: Pro Tees: 5870ft/326avg; Am Tees: 4925ft/274avg.
-Overall Layout: Semi-Technical
-Fairway Variety: Straight (9), Left to Right (5), Right to Left (4).
-Elevation: Mostly flat with minimal elevation changes.
-Elevation Variety: Flat (15), Uphill (1), Downhill (2)

Eagle Ridge/Civic Center provides a fun, semi-technical layout with a pretty solid design. The course provides a single 18-hole loop over relatively flat terrain that is moderately wooded. The baskets and tees are in good shape and navigation is a breeze. The layout is easy to follow, and there is a bar (painted yellow) on the bottom of each basket which indicates the direction to the next tee. The course is clean and well-maintained with trash cans on each hole located at the Am tees. Brooms are located on some tees to clean off the pad on necessary holes.

The fairways are mowed lower than the rough in the open areas which helps to define the fairways on the open holes and separate the fairways on nearby holes. This is a nice feature and helps add visual appeal considering the relatively flat terrain. The wooded holes have a lot of thick brush and foliage, but the fairways are clean and well-defined. The few elevations on the course are minimal at best but used as effectively as possible in the design. There are a few wide open holes, and a couple of decent technical holes, but the course in general is comprised of shorter semi-technical holes where there are some obstacles to work around, but nothing drastic.

Length really offers no advantage on this course, with the Pro tees averaging under 330/hole, and the Am tees around 274/hole. A good controlled tee shot will yield a low score. The Pro tees offer a different look/feel on some holes and are located directly back from the Am tees on others offering more length but a similar feel as the Am tees. The course provides a nice visual appeal, and seemed to be pretty popular, there were several groups out playing the course during my visit.
Cons: -No signs on Pro tees: For a first timer to the course playing the Pro tees, you will spend some time walking to the Am tee to look at the sign/photo of the layout, then back to the Pro tee to throw. Signs at the Pro tee would be a big help.

-Walking/Biking Trails: There is a walking/biking trail near many of the fairways, be aware of others in the park who may not be watching for stray shots.

-Thick Brush/Bugs/Snakes: The wooded holes have a lot of thick brush around them, and some poison ivy as well. Come prepared for ticks/mosquitoes. With the nearby Fox River, snakes are definitely present, I saw 3 during my only round at this course.

-Drop-offs: Some fairways/greens have steeper drop-offs that could make retrieving stray drives/approaches more difficult. A small retaining wall is built behind the basket on 5 to help prevent drives from skipping through the green and down the slope. The slope is also present to the right of the fairway on 6, 12, and 13.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun course to play. There are many courses near the Oswego area, I only got to play this one during my visit with family, but was not disappointed. The first tee is a short hike from the parking area, but there is a posted sign to point you in the right direction. If you are in the area, it is worth stopping by to play, a solid 3.5 disc course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Well Rounded Course

2-4    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a ton of variety in its holes. There are holes for every shot in your bag. This is also a very wooded course, which will certainly test your ability to place your shots cleanly. A lot of the holes have guardian trees, which really push good shot placement. Some holes also have the baskets up on small hills, which make for punishing roll aways from missed putts. The hills in the area are used well, and make for fun elevation changes. The fairways are maintained very well. The short tees are cemented very well, and the long tees are in pretty good shape as well. The brooms on every tee are great additions, aside from the fact that jerks always have to break them. The course uses the land it has very well. The course also has a good amount of trash/recycling cans.
Cons: I hope I'm not the only one who feels this way, but the signs here SUCK! Its simply a picture from the tee, that you're already standing on, and a yellow arrow pointing to the general area of the basket. I would definitely prefer some aerial views similar to Highland Park's.

The course could also use a few more benches, they're very few and far between.

My most outstanding gripe with this course though is the rough. Its filled with thorns, and bugs, and all kinds of general unpleasantness. Its just too much, to the point where even on open holes, if you stray a foot off the fairway, it becomes a production to find your disc amongst all the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: This course is an all around fun experience. It's challenging, and pretty with the scenery. There are more challenging courses, like Highland Park, and prettier ones, like Community Park, but this one allows you to have your cake and eat it too. I recommend it to anyone who's in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.