Disc Golf Store
Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 330ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oswego - Disc Golf Heven

5+    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 103  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in the western suburbs.

Great elevation changes for an Illinois course

Good open holes and wooded holes

Sweeping faiways, well groomed

Cons: The civic centre plays music to loud yet If you are a to 20 person you wont mind

can be a little crowded

BUGS!
Other Thoughts: Next to Joliet's West Park, this is one of the best courses in the Chicagoland area. Wish they had 24 holes!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets in perfect condition with hole number on top.
-Putting basket
-Cement Amateur tees and natural pros for now, until they install the cement ones. The tees are all in great shape too.
-Tee signs were some of the best I've ever seen, very unique and quality built. They include Distance and hole number are accurate and easy to understand. None of the signs are damaged.
-Brooms at every tee
-Loops back to start
-Camping nearby
-Restrooms and water fountain by the pool
-Nice shot variety does not favor lefties or righties
-Good mix of tight and technical, yet still fair
-Challenging course which is fun
-Parking was not an issue
-Scenic park which is secluded and tucked away from any other park activities
-Not too crowded
-Friendly locals
-Tournaments held here
-Clean park without much litter and it provides a decent amount of trash cans
Cons: -Could use a little more variety in the distance of the holes
-Few more benches would of been nice
-Couple of the holes are pretty similar to each other
Other Thoughts: Buggy in the evening, bring the spray!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Visiting Theresa

1    7/8/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signs
-Multiple tees
-Concrete pads for ams
-Nice baskets
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Nice restrooms (near the pool)
-Brooms near most of the concrete pads for sweeping
-Good shot type variety
-Good mix of open and wooded
Cons: -Distance variety is lacking; seemed like most holes were the same distance.
-Gravel pads for pros
-Thick bushes on some holes can eat your discs
-Yellow rocks marking the pro pads didn't have numbers
-The flow of the course seemed to overlap, and some hole may have played across each other. This could be an issue during heavy tourney play.
-After finishing some holes, it was confusing to find the next tee. Some signage between the basket and tee would have help some areas.
Other Thoughts: I am from Mississippi and got a quick opportunity to play while visiting the Chicago area. Lisa, Macy, and Theresa came to play with me also.

The course is nice overall. I enjoyed the weather up that way too. I lost one disc while up there, so that put a damper on things. Glad I got a chance to play though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    7/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in wooded area away from any other park activities. Good sense of seclusion inside the forest.
- Almost every type of shot needed throughout the course. Definitely rewards good line shaping through wooded fairways and around larger trees.
- Some decent elevation changes on a few holes help to keep every drive a bit different than the last.
- Alternate tees turn this tough course into a brutal one. There are lots more obstacles and lots more length on almost all of the pros.
- Good baskets, great tee pads, great signage, and even brooms to clear the box. Alternate tees are in good shape and clearly marked as well.
Cons: - Not many... terrain is pretty much flat in general, no water, nothing that can be helped. Some of the holes are kind of similar to each other, but that is bound to happen with the land in use.
Other Thoughts: - Nice wooded course that rewards good shots and punishes bad. Wooded fairways are mostly clear, no random skinny trees to avoid. Holes out of the woods also have good obstacles.
- The first time through, I stuck to the short tees, and was grateful for it. Some of the pro tees seemed downright nasty, in a good way of course. Hole 2's pro tee is directly over a nasty patch of forest/rough that would feast on short shots.
- Course made excellent use of the available land. Very well designed and enjoyable. One of my favorite Chicagoland courses thus far.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A course that has everything.

5+    5/17/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of hole types
-Uses land well
-Good combo of Woods and Fields
-Challenging Pars
Cons: -Pro tees are natural, using yellow rocks instead of concrete tees like the amateur ones.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that show how a disc golf course should be designed. This course has a great combination of holes, from woods and fields, hyzers and anhyzers, and long and short shots. This course really tests your ability to place your shots and ability to throw with accuracy. Plenty of risk/reward with this course. Played a tournament here a year ago. Definitely a favorite of mine. Worth a trip out there to play it. Also next to Jericho Lake, which I hear is another great course. Play Eagle Ridge and you will not be disappointed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 sooo fun.

1    4/14/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: 815RocSolid
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - nice baskets
- nice flow
- possibilty of low score
- ace runs
- nice signs
Cons: - some holes a lil too easy from am tees
Other Thoughts: every hole had me wanting to unload the bag. any course that makes me feel like that is good in my book. i wish i didnt live 45 mins from here, i would play this course everyday if possible.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the land
- Fun technical course
- Open holes incorporate the hills, trees, and bushes.
- Wooded holes have great tunnel shot and great use of the steep hill side.
- Level cement teepads
- Tee Signs have an actual picture of the hole from the tee
- Pro tees look like the up the challenge significantly
- Easy to follow
- Great mix of shots
Cons: - Pro pads are limestone and no marked distance
- Lack of trash cans and benches
- Chuckers are plentiful
Other Thoughts: This is a fun technical course not far from the Fox River. I wish this course was closer so I could play it far more often. We played from the Am pads cause the teepads for the pro was loose limestone. I wish we had more time to play 2 or 3 rounds. If your in the area definitely go play. Jericho Lake is not far away either which is another fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oswego has come a long ways.

5+    4/10/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course started out as a super short below average 9 hole course. Over the last few years 9 new holes have been added and ther are now 2 sets of tees.

The park itself has some nice open areas with some heavy woods. In the woods there are some nice elevation changes and unique areas.

Tee #1 can be difficult to find. You have to walk down the path across the tracks to find it.

Oswego is now the best course in the western suburbs.

It has a wide variety with 2 sets of tees. The old 9 are more open while the new 9 have added heavy woods and difficulty. There is some minor elevation in the woods.

The short tees now have concrete. They are in the process of adding concrete long tees this year.

The tee signs are very cool. A picture was taken of each hole. They were framed on a post. The distance is also on the sign.
Cons: Long tees are currently natural.

This course is still on the short side even with the addition of long tees. There are really no holes where you can open up and rip.


Other Thoughts: The local club is very active. Post on the forum to find a playing partner.
http://foxvalleymetrodiscgolfclub.com/new/

Here are a couple of videos taken a few years ago. It's early spring so there are no leaves on the trees. You can get a feel of the course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Make a day out of it and go play Aurora.

My Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Eagle Ridge is worth the trip.

1    11/8/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: El Mexicano
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of the available property. Nice Good distance holes along with some challenging wooded holes. I played this in the fall, so it was easier to see the holes. I imagine the course plays much tougher in the Summer when the foliage grown out.There are plenty of risk reward shots. Cement tee pads are very nice. Once the long cement tee pads are added, this will be a good tourney course.
Cons: None come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Fox Valley has done a great job getting this course to where it is. I expect the cousrse to become even better as it ages.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the west

5+    9/16/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: simplepmart
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: THE best course that I've played in the western subs of Chicago. Plenty of challenge as you wind up, down, through, and around the beautiful scenery. Plenty of risk/reward as you have to make frequent decisions to either lay up for the par or go for the chains and get your birdie. Good signs and flow to the course. A must play if you are anywhere close to Montgomery/Aurora/Oswego/Naperville.
Cons: Couldn't give this course a 5 because it only has 1 hole out of the 18 that you can unleash a bomb on. I always leave this course wanting to have been able to air it out just a few more times. Mosquitoes are pretty thick in the summer during the late evening, so bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is 1 of my top 5 Chicagoland courses. You won't be disappointed!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.