Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 345ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Oswego has come a long ways.

5+    4/10/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 338  Reviewed: 174  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course started out as a super short below average 9 hole course. Over the last few years 9 new holes have been added and ther are now 2 sets of tees.

The park itself has some nice open areas with some heavy woods. In the woods there are some nice elevation changes and unique areas.

Tee #1 can be difficult to find. You have to walk down the path across the tracks to find it.

Oswego is now the best course in the western suburbs.

It has a wide variety with 2 sets of tees. The old 9 are more open while the new 9 have added heavy woods and difficulty. There is some minor elevation in the woods.

The short tees now have concrete. They are in the process of adding concrete long tees this year.

The tee signs are very cool. A picture was taken of each hole. They were framed on a post. The distance is also on the sign.
Cons: Long tees are currently natural.

This course is still on the short side even with the addition of long tees. There are really no holes where you can open up and rip.


Other Thoughts: The local club is very active. Post on the forum to find a playing partner.
http://foxvalleymetrodiscgolfclub.com/new/

Here are a couple of videos taken a few years ago. It's early spring so there are no leaves on the trees. You can get a feel of the course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Make a day out of it and go play Aurora.

My Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Eagle Ridge is worth the trip.

1    11/8/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: El Mexicano
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of the available property. Nice Good distance holes along with some challenging wooded holes. I played this in the fall, so it was easier to see the holes. I imagine the course plays much tougher in the Summer when the foliage grown out.There are plenty of risk reward shots. Cement tee pads are very nice. Once the long cement tee pads are added, this will be a good tourney course.
Cons: None come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Fox Valley has done a great job getting this course to where it is. I expect the cousrse to become even better as it ages.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the west

5+    9/16/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: simplepmart
Played: 111  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: THE best course that I've played in the western subs of Chicago. Plenty of challenge as you wind up, down, through, and around the beautiful scenery. Plenty of risk/reward as you have to make frequent decisions to either lay up for the par or go for the chains and get your birdie. Good signs and flow to the course. A must play if you are anywhere close to Montgomery/Aurora/Oswego/Naperville.
Cons: Couldn't give this course a 5 because it only has 1 hole out of the 18 that you can unleash a bomb on. I always leave this course wanting to have been able to air it out just a few more times. Mosquitoes are pretty thick in the summer during the late evening, so bring the spray.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is 1 of my top 5 Chicagoland courses. You won't be disappointed!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course

5+    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: Jusssstin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly everything about this course is a pro. it has short technical holes and longer holes wher you can just bomb them. I live right down the street and this is my home course.
Cons: if you have a strat throw you are probably looking for a little while. other than that this course really has nothing wrong other than a few bugs after it rains
Other Thoughts: bring everything you got to master this course. does not favor lefties or righties.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park with rolling hills, and a mix of open space with scattered trees and brush, and wooded areas. The elevation is used well to force uphill and downhill control, and add some difficulty to the wooded holes. The open holes are pretty flat, but have brushy areas to punish errant drives, and well placed trees to take away some easy lines. The wooded holes force accuracy, and will punish shots that stray off line. The greens in the woods are nice and challenging, and add some fun challenges to putts.

There is a good mix of lengths on the course, from some open bombs, to short technical shots. There are definitely some ace runs, but not a whole lot of real gimmes on the course. There are two sets of tees per hole, and though I didn't have time to play the longs they looked like they changed the course quite a bit and added some fun challenge to the easier holes. There is a nice putting area by the first tee, along with a signboard with a course map and local information.

Each short tee had a signpost with a hole picture showing the hole location and long tee location along with distances for both tees. They were easy to read, and easy to see from a distance, making course navigation pretty easy overall. The short tees are currently a mix of crushed stone tees that were in nice shape, and brand new concrete tees (locals told me that the rest of the short tees will be concrete shortly, and they are working on the longs). The long tees were natural, but were well marked with bright yellow stones, and were level and not rutted.

The locals were out working on the course, and protecting the newly poured concrete tees. All were very friendly and helpful. Seems like a great group of people take care of the course, and their hard work really shows.
Cons: The course was pretty buggy when I played, so make sure you bring spray. There was also some poison ivy off some of the fairways, not a huge deal just make sure you keep an eye out for it. Some of the natural tees weren't in the best shape, though the club seems to be working hard on the tees and this should be resolved soon. I would like to see some signage on the long tees, otherwise players have to walk to the short tee to see the hole information, and they aren't always right together.

A couple holes play near or over a walking path, there were some times we had to wait for pedestrians to clear the holes. Otherwise, the area is just for disc golf though so it wasn't a big deal. This course is nice, and clearly well taken care of, it just didn't have holes with a lot of wow factor, or any that really stuck out as memorable.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly in terms of signage and navigation, but there are some places where thick brush might frustrate newer players without accurate drives. More experienced players will enjoy the challenge on some holes, especially from the tougher long tees.

This is a fun course, and definitely worth playing if you're anywhere near. All the people on the course were friendly, and the course had a nice atmosphere overall. Pair this course with nearby Jericho Lake for a good day of discing!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 home town course

5+    8/2/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a lot to like about this course. There are two set of tees, with cement tee boxes on the shorts and limestone on the longs with a long term plan of those being concrete as well. Each tee pad has a broom from sweeping debris off. This course is maintained very well by the local club. They put a lot of work into it and it shows. There are garbage cans on almost every hole and very little litter. If you are coming to this course, please keep it that way! The course is in a decently populated area, but has a secluded feel to it. A nice putting green and bulletin board off the first tee. The practice pin also makes for a nice 19th hole if the course isn't busy.

Eagle Ridge requires a variety of shots to do well as it has a good mix of open and wooded holes as you weave in and out of the woods. It is somewhat near the river so there is as much elevation as the area can provide, though there isn't much. Par is very attainable from the short tees, but you will have to work hard to get it.
Cons: There are not many places for big drives, from the short tee at least. I'm not a big of the tee signs. They are pictures of the holes with an arrow pointing toward the pin and they're not very clear. A simple drawn map would work better in my opinion, especially with the blind holes, which there are a decent number of (blind holes are not a con). Some of the wooded holes have trees guarding the basket, which I am not a fan of. There is deep shule in the summer that can eat discs. Be carefully of poison ivy. Navigating the long tees is very tough unless you are there with a guide. Some of the long tees come at the pin from an entirely different direction than the shorts.

I don't mind it, but there are no bathrooms on site.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often as I grew up in the area and recently bought a house less than a mile away. Some of the fairways have no defined path to the target, but that is been changed somewhat with the removal of some dead trees. It is the best and most challenging courses in the area and a must for discers in the Fox Valley area.

If you are going here for the first time, there is a parking area along the road that has a walking path into the park. Just follow this path over the tracks to the first hole.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Course in the Area

2-4    8/4/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good practice and course baskets, nice signs with real pictures of hole you are playing, hole location, yardage, and par marked.

Dual tee pads, all should be cement now.

Good mix of throws: hyzer, anhyzer, straight.

Mix of heavily wooded and moderately wooded holes.

Layout is nice and basket marks direction of next tee pad.

Was not that crowded when I played.

Nice park just for disc golf.
Cons: Hard to find a poor throw in the wooded holes. Thick rough and trees border many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice and well thought out course. One of the more challenging courses around here and I will keep coming back when I can.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

1    7/26/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots.

Quite a few holes you cannot see the basket from the tee but there are wooden posts with pictures showing where the basket is. Not drawings mind you, actual pictures!

The holes are not so close to each other that you risk throwing a disc into someone's fairway. (You could I imagine if you tried)

There are shots where you throw downhill and also uphill.

The grass was mowed quite nicely for the fairways, a definite plus!

Some shots are moderately occupied by trees and some are wide open - great variety!

Most holes are fairly short and this would be a negative in my book as I like longer holes but.... the layout definitely makes up for this.

Bathrooms at entrance and trash cans scattered throughout course.

The scenery as you play is enough for the girlfriend who doesn't want to play to be amused with the hike.

Cons: Cons are very minor, GREAT COURSE

1) Mosquitos - bring repellent
2) Bathrooms - although one is at the entrance, that's it... use nature or hold it!
3) If you like longer shots you might not be 100% happy.


Other Thoughts: I was in Illinois visiting friends and came across this course via this site. None of them had played although it was about 7 miles from their homes. Although it doesn't top my favorite course ( http://www.dgcoursereview.com...e.php?id=1635) This course is definitely second!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 make your game better

5+    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: fox metro discer
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course with a mix of open and wooded holes. Uses the elevation available very well. With the addition of concrete tees from the short tee positions, this course is one of my favorites in the area. There are many different types of shots required from the tee on many holes. Mix in the long tee positions, and it plays as a totally different course. There is a good mix of both short and long holes that do not favor a RHBH or LHBH player overly. The wooded holes require precision whether it being a drive, upshot, or putt in some instances as there are trees protecting many of the baskets. On the open holes, there are some obstacles in your way taking away the hyzer at many tees requiring more than one type of drive in your bag. Accuracy is definately at a premium here.
Tee signs are very prominent making course navigation easy, however, the hole pictures only showed the location of the basket with an arrow, making some holes difficult to judge the location of the basket when you could not see it from the tee. As well as not having any signage by the long tees, of which some are in a different direction from the basket to the next tee than the shorts.

The longs make a completely different course, adding not only distance, but also different shots off the tee. the natural tees are very well marked and in good shape with large yellow rocks and easy to see, however, there is no distance markings on them. You have to go to the short tees to find that. With the addition of concrete tees, which the local club is raisning money for, will make them that much better.
Errant shots are punished by some very dense schule that can turn a bad drive into a double or triple bogey.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is a lot of fun to play from both the short and long tees. The only downside is the bugs and some poison ivy that you need to keep an eye out for in the woods. Make sure to bring some bug spray with you and an accurate drive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So Good

2-4    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: Adam Bigott
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: # of holes
Use of long uphill and downhill slopes
equal amount of holes breaking left and right
Interesting Risk/Reward for a lot of the holes
Nice Scenery
Challenging
Has Pro Tees that are insanely difficult
Well kept
Not too crowded
Cons: Not too many here.
Concrete Tees would be nice and possibly add another .5 to my rating.
Some degree of bugs.
Other Thoughts: This rolling 18 hole course is sure to challenge and entertain all who wish to play it. Easily the best/most difficult course I have yet to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.