Oswego, IL 
Eagle Ridge/Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 325ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 The best in Chicagoland!

5+    9/20/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such a long, pretty course and is so great to play. There is such a variety in holes, and the elevation changes, though modest, are very nice for the area. Shorter and longer holes are mixed up, and there is a good variety of wooded and open holes...really something for every player. The practice basket is really neat, especially with the little point game added to it. Very fun addition. Throws need to be pretty tight on some shots, though there is a little room for error. The brush can get a little thick, but you can pretty much always find a disc. Tees are well marked, and unlike the previous reviewer, I had no problem navigating from hole to hole.
Cons: There are very few places to improve this course. I've seen the signs for poison ivy but didn't have any issues with it. Two sets of concrete tees on each hole would be a definite place to improve, though not a huge priority. In most cases, the tees are clear. Careful with your shot on the third hole, you might have to scale a fence to get your disc back if you're not (I've been close).
Other Thoughts: This course is a great use of the land there, and it provides a really, really fun disc golf experience. There aren't many bad things to say about the course...just walking up to it, you have no idea what lays ahead, but it is a truly great course. There were a lot of people playing when we were there, but the course never felt crowded. The baskets are spread out very well and this course has a great design. This is a must play in the Chicago area, for sure!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but potentially itchy

5+    9/20/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent layout of holes.
-Plenty of variety- different degrees of woodedness, different kinds of elevation change, right-turning vs. left-turning, etc.
-Lots of elevation usage
-Fun and challenging
-Markings for pro tees.
-Each basket has a dash of yellow paint on one prong; that prong points in the direction of the next tee, or the path to it.
-Concrete tees, with brooms to brush off debris on almost every hole.
Cons: More mosquitos here than any other course I've ever been to- I really enjoyed this course, but would NOT go back in spring/summer without bug spray.
-The thick underbrush off many fairways does offer the risk of disc loss.
-Poison ivy in the brush along many of the more wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Elevation usage is fantastic- shots up hill, down big hill, over rises in landscape, across dips in landscape, etc.
If it's not well into fall/winter, bring bug repellent- trust me, you'll need it.
Other than that, be prepared to have fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

4/14/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoy this course for some reason. It reminds me of Otter Creek in Brandenburg, KY (my old home course). For the most part, Eagle Ridge is short and technical through the woods but it does have a couple long, open holes. It's well marked with good signs and arrows pointing toward the next tee. This course actually has a little elevation in it. Which is rare for this area.
Cons: The only knock I have on this course is that the tees are not concrete. The short tees are gravel and the long tees are on dirt. I think they are putting in concrete tees sometime soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.