Disc Golf Store
Charles City, IA 
Riverside DGC Share
Uploaded By: ibanez95   (Taken 11/2013)



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Goes well with lunch.

1    6/25/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
Pros: Well taken care of little park.
Good tees and baskets.
I found this course to be cute and polite.
Easy to find, we spotted it from the Dairy Queen.
Cons: If it were my daily player I am sure I would have a beef or two, but as someone passing through from Iowa City to St. Paul and getting some lunch, it was perfect.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course we played on our summer vacation. This park was a pleasant surprise. Met a friendly local and my wife enjoyed the flower gardens. You can do better than that Dairy Queen for lunch.

  Clear the air (and the ballfields)

5+    6/15/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Dirxcec
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner Friendly
Easy variety for practice
Easy on the eyes
Orange baskets with numbers help see pins
Soccer field is great for throwing practice
Grass is kept well.
Cons: Tee pads are a little short
Par is marked for rec players (I play all par 3's instead)
Activities on ballfields late in early summer are a hazard and obstruct holes 4-7
Holes 1&2 are too close to play two groups at once.
Parking on holes 3&5 is common
Holes 3 & 7 are hard to find first time playing through.
Lack of trash cans around course leads to litter.
The only trash cans are on a walking path by 1&2 and by the ball diamonds on 5-7 but, you have to go out of your way to get to them.
Other Thoughts: The original review talking about four holes is before they made the new course. The baskets are all nice and in perfect shape. I would recommend this quaint piece of Iowa to families and people looking for a new hobby or sport. For those looking for a challenge, try elsewhere.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh

1    3/1/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ***I have not played the new layout, I'll make it through one of these days to play the course and update my review***

Scenery. Quaint little, aptly named "riverside" park.

Amenities. Soccer fields, walking trails, and small parking area.

Access. A short jaunt off the freeway for a very quick round.

Beginner friendly. Since the water doesn't really come into play, the relatively simple lines and short holes make this an Ok place to learn and practice approaches and putts.

Safari. A rather large area of the park is not used and could provide an opportunity to create a decent safari round if so desired.

Elevation. The single small hill in the middle of the course provides some slight interest to this course.
Cons: Tees. There are none, make it up as you go along.

Baskets. Homemade, look rather interesting and function ok as a place to practice, providing a target to aim at but don't catch very well, the chain assembly seems too large for the basket, they were all leaning and bent one way or another.

Navigation. Each basket has a number on it, and there's only 4 of them so I guess it's not terribly difficult, but there's no signage or direction to speak of.

Distance. If you play from one basket to the next it's a very short course, a putter only round is sufficient, this could be remedied if you decide to go safari.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the stop unless you're looking for a very quick course or a place with targets to practice approaches and putts.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.