Layout Extinct

Martinsville, VA 
J. Frank Wilson Memorial Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
5 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Up-and-Down Game

5+    9/26/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: KenTyburski
Played: 84  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2010
Pros: UPDATE: This course has been expanded to 18 holes. My brother and I played today in a steady rain. Thanks to the local player that messaged me personally about the course changes; I wanted to play today, to spite the weather!

1. Elevation changes are nice, and challenging. #2 feels like hiking, not disc golf! #3 and #11 drop off severely, so don't overshoot.
2. Well-defined fairways with little rough; it would be nearly impossible to lose a disc.
3. Effective use of a small park area without invading a nature trail area but yet not crowding the holes.
4. I love the trees. They aren't young, skinny, annoying trees, but mostly older-growth larger trees. It's a pretty park.
Cons: 1. Not a whole lot of length, but very little technical work for mid-range or short shots either. The course does require a modicum of precision, but when several holes can be thrown with a putter, I'm not that impressed.
2. I still feel that the course is too straight. I counted at least 10 mostly straight holes (with others that could be considered straight for long throwers), 5 minimally dogleg left holes, and 3 minimally dogleg right holes that I threw forehand as an experiment, but that I could have thrown as a straight hole. I really believe that an alternate set of tees or pins could make this course a real challenge.
3. Tee boxes could still use a little work. The new tee boxes are nice.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole:
#7. Longest hole on course. I will make a 2 here someday. :) I also like the new #4 and #16.

This course is about 45 minutes from my house, and I don't mind making the drive. It's a solid effort to blend a course into part of a small existing park.

 

5+    11/12/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: chainsmoker1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park with walking trails, bathrooms, parking, etc. Course has a nice layout and many elevation changes.
Cons: Easy scoring compared to other courses.
Other Thoughts: Would love to see 9 more holes at this park and a little work the tee pads.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Hometown course

2-4    7/20/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Rockpunk76
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open fairways good for beginners and skilled players alike
Cons: Course layout isn't clearly marked
Other Thoughts: I am a beginner disc golfer and have played the course several times now. I love the layout of the course. It is challenging for a beginner, but not so tough that it's discouraging.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 lets hope for 9 more

2-4    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety for 9 holes, and uses the elevation changes to make things interesting and fun. Nice tee signs that are easy to spot. Course plays threw a nice old growth forest with room to grow with hopefully 9 more baskets.
Cons: Tee pads are a bit small
Other Thoughts: The park is very nice and has most amenities you would expect, bathrooms, tennis, b-ball, playground, trails, pavilions. The course is located on the hill behind the tennis courts. Course is short but going up and down the hills could wear on ya if your going for a couple rounds. Found the flow to be very nice and easy to follow as the white tee signs were easy to spot. A stripe of paint on a basket rung pointing to the next tee would go a long way. The old growth forest is awesome as there is little under growth just large trees to avoid.

Fav holes 7 and 9. Holes go down then back up for a slight down hill effect.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.