Layout Extinct

Coeur d'Alene, ID 
Panhandle Kiwanis DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: mactavius Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket circled; alternate position marked with line.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

2-4    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: 1hardHucker
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a good mix of short and long holes. The few holes that are in the woods offer a challenge because of the trees.
Cons: The course is a little compact. holes 2, 8 and 4 are really close together. The tees are not all consistent and some punks have destroyed the signs. So it was a little hard to find some tees.
Other Thoughts: There is not a basket for number 1. In fact, there is no warm-up basket or number 1 in general. The variation of elevation is something I think is fun to play. I would say this is a course worth playing if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Hill

5+    6/22/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Above average design of course with many elevation changes and technical holes. Engraved plaques at each hole with hole info (unfortunately punk kids have seem to have cracked several). Recent clearing has improved visual of other players on other teepads and baskets (before, throwing a thumber over the trees on #4 could be a surprise for players walking to the #8 basket). Course allows for various types of throws from most tees and #6 is nice long downhill drive thats pretty cool. All around a very fun course. Also has practice basket for warming up.
Cons: Only a couple things I can find with this course, The walk from basket #1 to tee pad #2 is through the parking lot (confusing for new comers) and there is (or can be) some confusion with basket #2 and #8 being in close proximity of one another. A few times I have had to wait for players to throw off #8 before leaving the tee pad at #2 and visa versa.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Don't pass it by if your in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun/different course

1    6/21/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well maintained course in a park with amenities (restrooms, water). good baskets and fairly good tees with friendly locals. Different from any of the courses in the area as they take the hill part of the name seriously. up and down a fair bit and makes for some very cool holes. 6 and 18 have been mentioned, good holes, and I also liked #14, a medium distance downhill shot that tails slightly right and is unforgiving if you throw to the left or long.
Cons: Front 9 is very tight. Holes don't quite cross but it is easy to shank a shot into someone. Back 9 is more linear layout but holes are shorter and there has been alot of recent clearing that has made them fairly easy. I was 4 under after 14 holes and I don't have a monster arm. Signs while plentiful and cool looking were less useful than necessary. when looking off pad at #2 you can see 3 reasonable baskets to shoot at and it is none of them, it is in the shade under a tree to the right of where it is indicated on map. Tee placement not helpful in many cases, off by 30 degrees an a couple of holes and 90 on one! 1st hole is along tennis courts and I shanked 1st throw into them. glad it wasn't crowded! last thing, ticks, had to pull one.
Other Thoughts: Don't want to sound too harsh, I did like the course and will play it again despite it being close to an hour drive from my house. Wanted to rate it higher, but not quite there. once know course prob fairly easy to follow but guide is recommended for 1st round if not an excellent pathfinder.Thanks to Locals that helped us out, I really appreciate it. :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I used To Hang Out In Cherry Hill Park!

1    5/28/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts out down behind the fire station with a 440'-460' running along beside the tennis courts. The course then heads up into the lower park for the rest of the front nine before the real climb begins on the back nine. There is a practice basket at the beginning. The pads are the rubber fly mats. Most of them are great although I felt a couple could use some engineering work. The tee signs are slate with all the pertinant information on them.including a sponser for each hole. Plus they make for great little platforms to write on while taking course notes. I was thinking that these signs were going to be indestrucible then I found a piece broke off # 2. Later on the course, I found the # 13 sign with a piece broke off and the sick little punk who did actually signed it mocking everyone. You'd have to bring a hammer to break these signs. I sincerely hope you Cherry Hill locals and shove his hammer where the sun don't shine!

# 18 is a great little finale hole. It's just a little 220' downhill touch shot with a hyser on it.

Everyone agrees that # 6 is the signature hole on this course. It's a par 4, 535' to 585', depending on the basket placement. The basket is tucked into a clump of pine trees far below. It's just a really fun "Top of the World" type of hole.
Cons: Just a couple of things I didn't like. One of my course pet peeves is throwing on tee pad sloping uphill preventing any kind of a run up. I have a wimpy enough arm as it is. The # 5 tee pad slopes uphill. It could be easily be leveled off. Also the # 6 tee pad could use some building up at the front end. With this being the heart and soul hole of this course, you don't want anything detracting from this marvelous hole. There are more uphill holes on this course than downhill throws. I felt like I was doing a lot of climbing. # 10 was a silly hole in my opinion, uphill, long and narrow. Playing alone, I determined the risk/reward not to be worth it and just skipped it.
Other Thoughts: Finally your probably not old enough to remember the old rock song " I Used To Hang Out In Cherry Hill Park" from early 60's. Too bad, good song! Good course here. Not tournament quality but just an enjoyable throw. Worth the trip just for the epic # 6 hole and a nice workout as a bonus.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/15/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cherry Hill starts down in a public park, then climbs up and down the hill which provides lots of potential for elevation change. Most importantly, this elevation gives us hole 6(?). It's a 600+ top of the world shot that plays straight down a wide sledding hill. I can honestly say that this one hole makes the course worth playing.
The course has nice signs and most of the front side of the course is either mowed or low grass. While many holes here are short, they have alternate placements for variety, as well as a good mix of right and left turning shots.
One other big plus- I have NEVER seen this course even close to being busy
Cons: A lot of the difficulty of this course comes not from distance but tight fairways. This in and of itself is not a bad thing, but the rough out here consists of dense stands of saplings that can be nearly impossible to shoot out of. There are many,many birdie opportunities here, but some of the placements are simply too easy. A 160' shot through the woods is fine, but the same shot in the open makes for a completely forgettable hole.
The teepads are nice material, but they are secured with monstrous bolts. Even if you don't catch your foot and tear your ACL, I always find myself hesitating when throwing off these pads.
Hole 1 plays right next to a tennis court and a parking lot. I personally don't ever like having to risk hitting a car or bombing over the fence onto innocent bystanders
Other Thoughts: Though it looks like I put a lot of cons here, it is still a solid course. The quality of the land and the equipment is great, and they made very good use of the space that they had. Short enough for less powerful players, but it can also be a handful if you can't stay on the fairway.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Hill

1    9/26/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I made a weekend trip to Eastern Washington/Northern Idaho this past weekend and the first course I played was Cherry Hill. One of the first things I liked right away was the practice basket and the tee signs, which were a post with a very detailed look at each hole engraved in stone, very pretty, very cool, very affective. The course starts out on flat ground, a four hundred and something par four with o.b. left and right in the tennis courts and parking lot. The front nine makes it way around and up a big hill, pretty open along the way. Hole six is one of the best downhill throws I have ever seen as you get to the top of this hill with a wide open grass field as a fairway and five hundred and fifty feet away is the basket sitting in a very wooded tree section, this hole was a par four with good reason, although if you have a big arm it should be a par three for you. The back nine start with hiking up a hill next to power lines for holes nine and ten and after that the course changes quite a bit. The longer open style of the front nine gives way to very short but very technical holes that are both birdie able and bogey able depending on the tee shot. Hole eighteen is another nice downhill throw about two hundred and fifty feet, a little hyzer shot it was hard to not over throw the basket.
Cons: The course is fairly new and not all of the tee signs are put in, the signs say who sponsored each hole so maybe not all of them have been sponsored yet. The tee pads could use some work, the rubber mats that they have work out fine but some of the natural tees and the concrete tees are rugged and short and holes located on hills have uneven pads. On hole number nine or ten the tee pads were so slanted up hill that you couldn't even achieve any kind of run up. Navigation was a little hard at the beginning, apparently hole number two is still being worked on so you currently have to play hole number eight twice but after that it gets easier but a few more signs pointing you in the right direction would have helped.
Other Thoughts: There is a little bit of climbing I guess but it's not even close to my home course so I found the hills pretty easy to deal with but others may disagree with me on that assessment.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Hill

5+    8/2/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A couple of really neat shots, overall a decent variety. The course is near a park, but the course is pretty well separated from it, meaning no interference from other park goers. Nice custom made signs throughout, and good baskets. All the people I've encountered were friendly, and told a little about the course. The layout could be confusing, luckily there are maps usually available near the first hole. Extra basket for a putting green. Also, the basket locations change every so often, giving a new experience.
Cons: Lots and lots of uphill walking. I guess they call it Cherry Hill for a reason. I don't mind it too much, but most others I have played with here always seem to complain. There are a few blind shots, and that coupled with the fact that some areas are overgrown, means finding your disc could be difficult.
Other Thoughts: If it's a hot day out, you'll get tired pretty quickly from all the slopes. But, I think it is a worthwhile course to check out. They have one great downhill shot I look forward to every time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.