Disc Golf Store
Horace, ND 
Independence Park Share
Uploaded By: mike_riewer Hole #1
3 / 136ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better Than Expected!

2-4    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Frolfware baskets with hole numbers marked
Fun course for such a small park
Hole 8
Cons: Finding your way to the next tee can be a bit difficult at first
Tee 3 missing the marker pole
Nothing too challenging, all are ace/birdie-able
Other Thoughts: It's a tiny little park hidden in a small town on the outskirts of the Fargo-Moorhead area, but it's surprisingly fun. The tee markers are just white wooden poles with numbers handwritten on them, and the tees are dirt with a 2x4 marking the foul line, but beyond that and the short distances (all you need is a putter here) it uses the existing landscape surprisingly well, especially on hole 8, with the basket INSIDE a very small thicket of trees (They kinda seem like all the same tree with the basket inside the arms). Good for putting practice, or just a quick and enjoyable 9 if in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tucked away

1    7/1/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can leave your drivers at home, a good mid-range and a putter should be all you need for this lovely little course. Every hole is birdy-able and most are reasonably ace-able. This great little course made excellent use of the very little space it had to work with, forcing a variety of short shots and putts.
Cons: Nothing too challenging for better players. almost too easy.
Other Thoughts: would be the perfect spot to take your kids and teach them the sport, even has a playground if you have little ones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/10/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: JunkyBrownie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is easy to find.
Large map of the course at hole 1.
Baskets are nice.
Restrooms in the park.
Not a popular course, crowds aren't a problem.
Course is maintained regularly
Cons: No distance on any shot.
The playground in the center may pose as a distraction.
Any more than 2 groups playing at once and it becomes crowded.
Kids can be present on the field.
Other Thoughts: Leave your driver in the bag for this one. Very fun little course. The pin placement for each hole is the real reason to play this course. Very fun, if you live in Fargo, or you're on your way to Fargo, I recommend checking it out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/7/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of chances for an ace, very short course
-Nice variety of shots for being such a small course
Cons: -Can be busy at times
-Poor signage, all they have is a post at some holes with a number and even those have been vandalized so you can't even read the number
-No tee pads so it can be hard to know where to throw from at some holes
Other Thoughts: Fun little course with a chance of getting an ace, I was able to witness someone getting an ace while I was there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fancy Ace Runs, Fancy, Fancy

1    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Ace Haven is a tiny little thing in a small little park. Every hole is putter length for most people. Now after saying this, note that it well designed. This course has trees, protected baskets, some tough basket surroundings, slight elevation, and fun short flight path options. The baskets and dirt tee pads are in good shape. There is a nice course information sign at hole 1. The park looks well maintained.
Cons: There is limited parking at this park (maybe 10 spaces.) The tee signs are posts without footage on them. Some of the holes are kind of close together. Length wise this is a tiny course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was good. This place was actually rinky-dink fun. It reminded me of a "putt-putt" miniature disc golf course. The holes were fun to throw at and try to hit the ace/metal. I don't normally like this short of a course, but the baskets were so well places, that is was a good time. Usually if I play something this little, I ready to leave by the time I got there. I was actually tempted to play this again and may before I leave Fargo on this trip. So, thumbs up for a course that could even fit in someone's decent sized back yard. For the record, I am filing this as a guilty pleasure. ;o)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/14/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some interesting hole locations, number 8's basket is in the middle of an octa-tree, number 4 sits in between a v in a tree.
Very beginner friendly, more advanced players need only a putter.
Water comes into play on holes 2, 5, 6.
The flow of the course is really good, you never have to throw across fairways, but because of the small size of the park, watch for errant throws.
Number 2 is a huge ace run opportunity, as long as you don't throw it too high and into the swamp. It's downhill, short, and there's a ton of brush on either side, so even if you miss to the side, you'll still be looking at a deuce.
Cons: The course is very very short. We're talking the longest hole is 202. Even if you don't have much of an arm, you could probably still play under par with a putter quite easily.
As mentioned before, the bathroom is pretty outdated.
Other Thoughts: The first round me and my buddy played, I hit the basket on 2 and he hit it on 3. So we hit two out of three baskets before we were even warmed up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Independence Park

1    5/15/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The lay out has a nice flow. It loop around. Super clean park. The course is simply, but it has it surpises.
Cons: The dirt tee box's were on the muddly side.
Other Thoughts: I really love Hole #8. Great location, location, and location. Restroom need to be updated.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

2-4    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There isnt a lot of space for the course but it is designed well and utilizes every inch. Baskets are new and posts marking holes are all new also. At the start of the course there is a course layout and rules chart.
Cons: Study the layout on the chart otherwise it can be confusing at first, but is very simple once you play once. Be sure to pay attention to others on the course as holes and tees come close to eachother.
Other Thoughts: The layout of the course provides a variety of shots, except for long distance shots. Very nice course to work on the midrange game. Very busy during peak hours because the other courses around fargo are still underwater. Fist ace came on hole #4 here!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.