Goodman, MS
Holmes Community College Share
Uploaded By: manglin Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Read no further!

1    5/29/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The baskets are in excellent condition
-The observatories and the long downhill shot with the lake a dozen yards behind the basket made Hole #3 one to remember.
Cons: -No tee pads
-No tee markers
-No maps of the course
-No trash cans
-No benches
-No restrooms
-No maintenance to the course, in a long time
-Grass growing through several baskets
-You could lose a disc in the fairway
-Hanging branches blocking 'tee' shots
Other Thoughts: The reviews for this course were great! So, I drove an hour to Goodman, MS to play a couple of rounds on a 3 star course...
I was EXTREMELY disappointed.
What happened to this course?
There are no tee markers or tee signs anymore. The grass and tree branches are so overgrown that it ruined several holes. Some of the holes were O.K., though, and I really liked Hole #3 (if I teed off from the right place).
I really hope someone does something with this course. I would hate to see this DGC go the way of the Holmes State Park Course.

Don't make a special trip to this forgotten "Must Play" DGC, and remember: the two year old reviews below are just distant memories...
Sad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Rattlin' Chains Everyday

5+    2/19/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: golfmaniac89
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is great design. Some wooded holes in combination with wide open holes create a challenge that requires distance AND accuracy on every shot. You can make a lot of birdies, but you can also make bogeys just as fast. Only one hole where water is a major factor, so this is great for beginners.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Since the economy is so bad right now, the school does not have the extra money to order the 9 baskets. Also, with having just natural tee pads, the tee boxes have been moved around a bit to prevent slipping on the longer throws.
Other Thoughts: Since I play here on a regular basis, I think this is an awesome course for anybody to come play. Bring plenty of water, since there's not exactly a place to get anything on campus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are perfect, and there are signs at every hole to keep you on track. The tee pads are also easy to find. The tee pads are dirt though. Personally I would still rather have dirt tee pads than short concrete ones. The course has a good flow, and the elevation changes make it challenging on what seems like very easy holes on paper.
Cons: If there was more than about 3 groups playing, it could get congested quickly. Many of the holes play way too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a cool setup, given they only have 9 baskets. Each basket has 2 tee pads that play to it (one set for the front 9, and one for the back 9). The day I played, no one else was on the course, so right now this won't cause much of an issue. If the course has a rise in popularity, this could be a problem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gonna be a Awesome Course!

2-4    5/4/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: Matthew Gardner
Played: 95  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Baskets and Good Tee signs. It is a fun course to play and its is right on campus for the students. This course will be a championship style course when it is done.
Cons: With the economy I think it is taking longer to get everything going to finish it but it should be done within the next year.
Other Thoughts: I walked all 18 holes with Doug(the guy who is installing it) and this course is gonna ROCK when it is done. Several of the holes that are there now will not be the same holes when the full 18 is in. Most of the 9 now is there just to have a course laid out to play. TRUST ME when I say that when the full 18 is done and ready to go this will be a must play. It is just too bad the state park system took the course from Holmes County State Park because that would have made a great tourney Goodman and Holmes but O well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Day off

2-4    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs. New baskets. Low traffic. Elevation changes are a good challenge.
Cons: The natural tees are okay, but a permanent tees would be better. There were no trash cans or benches.
Other Thoughts: There's a mix of short and long holes, and a mix of open and wooded holes. The mix is not too great though, there is really not too much variety. Most holes are open and medium length. The course is fun and has a lot of potential though. I'm not sure of any restroom facilities, but I'm sure you could duck into the gym or cafeteria. Also, a note about Goodman, there are no fast food restaurant with about 20 miles. You'll need to pack a lunch, or you might be able to eat on campus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.