Chaska, MN 
Chaska Middle School Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ehhh . . . not terrible but not all that exciting

1    3/10/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly course but still showing the beginners what challenging disc golf can be.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance (albeit in yards), and a map with the obstacles on it.

3) Decent use of the elevation on the property to make some fun interesting shots. There are some holes up, some down, and some across the slopes of this big hill.

4) There are some tougher tighter holes on this course which I can always appreciate a challenge.

5) A fun course to make an all day acerun and see how many you can get, or an opportunity to shoot a really low score too. I don't want to say the perfect -9 is not attainable but it would be tough!

6) Surprisingly on a school course . . . they actually took the time and spent the money to put a couple garbage cans out there along the way.

7) The design definitely included a nice variety and it is obvious that the best features of this property were used. The hill created some nie shots, the woods threw in some variety.
Cons: 1) Dirt tees which have a 6x6 marking the end of the teepad. All in all just poor teepads. I am truly shocked that these tees are so bad, because that would mean a lot of people play here. While it is still a decent fun little beginner course, I have a hard time believing that this many people would play here regularly. Perhaps disc golf is a mandatory Physical Education class?

2) The one hole (#5 I think) is simply a near impossible shot. It is so tight and so sharp of a turn that I cannot imagine many birdies on this hole . .. without an incredibly lucky bounce off a tree.

3) Distance variation is lacking . . . especially when one of the biggest outliers plays up a big hill making it fit right in line with all the other holes on the course (Except #8 which comes in over 300' while all the rest are in the upper 100's to lower 200's.

4) Heavy brush and shrubs to the right of number 1. I literally had to try to throw through an evergreen just a few feet from the basket. I would much prefer a clean putt at the basket when I am parked within a few feet.

5) There is a little bit of danger on a couple holes that run close to other holes like #1 and #2, #6 and #7, and #8 and #9 or however they are actually numbered. The tee signs seem to be different than the distances on DGCR.

6) The walkpath through the course can lead you in the wrong direction. I also would be fearful of someone getting hit on the path when people are throwing on a couple of the holes.

7) Multiple holes teesigns are missing . . . surely this points to abuse on the course. The condition of the tees also leads me to believe that a lot of little punks play here . . . but no one was there when I played.

8) It seems to be that there are a lot of young trees growing up here and I am unsure if thatis by design or just accident. Either way they seem to be impeding on the holes fairness and something to consider.

9) The transition between #6 and #7 is awkward and it also is confusing on #6 because you stand on the tee and the basket you do see is not the #6 basket . . . it is #3. #6 is just shorter and off to the right.
Other Thoughts: Surprisingly I am rating this course higher than the average . . . why . . . because no matter how bad the tees are, how dangerous it might be in a couple spots, and how ridiculous the throw on #5 might be, it still is a fun course to throw. I doubt I will be back, but if this is the worst of disc golf . . .it still isn't too bad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly Typical School Course!

1    7/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chaska is certainly similiar to most school courses in that it's short (only # 9 is longer than 211') and none too challenging. With that being said, it's a decent little throw. The pads are just worn dirt areas while the baskets are DGAs without the numbers. Both serve the purpose here well enough. The teesigns are colored w/pictures listing the hole lengths in yards. You math majors will have to do the math to convert yards back into feet.
Cons: A couple of signs are missing. I didn't much like # 8. Playing alone, it would be an easy place to lose a disc being just over 300 feet with long grass and tall weeds. I would have figured out a way to tee off from the top of the hill on # 9 instead of playing up the hill. The course is not going to challenge you. It's not a destination course. It's an after work quickie or if you're a course bagger like myself, rack up another played.
Other Thoughts: This is just another basic Pitch & Putt course. It would be great for bringing that newbie for their first time. Not a bad course to come and practice your mid-range shots or to get a quick round in after work.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course for Change of Pace

2-4    6/10/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: sporkage
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some shorter holes and some slightly longer holes.
- Decent mix of open, elevation and wooded shots
- Not too busy
Cons: - Some holes were not marked making it tough to determine where to throw from and which basket to aim at.
- Hole 6 requires walking down the fairway to the tee box, so look before heading that direction or throwing if you're already there.
- School activities can limit the ability to play hole 4.
- Tall grasses even on the fairway for some of the holes. Watch your discs carefully.
Other Thoughts: I had to do a dry run of the course to get my bearings, but once I did, it seemed like a decent enough course to have played. The baskets were decent, but the tee boxes were mostly dirt patches. Watch your discs as the can become hidden very quickly by the low shrubs and tall grass that seems to be everywhere on this course. I'd play it again, but it's not necessarily a favorite.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/14/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: njp002001
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Not very busy
2) Clean
3) Easy ace holes
Cons: 1) Very Short holes
2) Dirty tee boxes
3) Many annoying holes. Like a hole in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Good for a quick round but if going to go to many different courses in a day this one is defiantly skippable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: MannyGetYourFun
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - If you're new to the game or teaching someone who's new to the game, this is the place to do it in the SW suburban region.

- Many of the pins are based on/around a large hill, while the remainder lie in a wooded area. This allows the course to have some variety -- including some tricky blind shots.

- Even if you're an advanced player, you'll have some fun working on your mid-game.

- An easy to navigate course, overall. Not too much traffic.
Cons: - Let's not kid ourselves: Disc Golf + Public School Land = Tiny Course. If you want a competitive round with an experienced group of people, this is not the place to do it.

- The hole lengths range from 124 ft. to 300 ft.
Other Thoughts: - I took my girlfriend (who had never heard of the game before we started dating several months earlier) to this course for her first round. Though there were some rough moments, she ended up understanding the basics well enough to achieve a better game the next round. As a small yet varied entry-level course, it sets up beginners for success much easier than a standard course.

- Please respect the public school ground rules.

8/9/09 Update: For whatever reason, some a--holes decided to sprinkle half the course with garbage. The hole 5 basket was filled with beer/soda cans and other crap. Weak.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

5+    5/30/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is perfect for the wife and kids. Pretty short and can be played rather quickly. Its also a great course for working on your short game. Baskets and signs are pretty good but the tees are natural, but in decent condition.
Cons: Leave your drivers at home. NO chance at letting it rip. Some of the holes play pretty close together, so keep your head up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.