Oak Island, NC 
Bill Smith Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 193ft.   3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    3/8/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice clean park with a well-marked course. It's a mostly non-descript collection of short holes but 6 is a pretty cool hole that actually tops 200 feet and runs parallel to some wetlands. It also offers a throwing line that can reward solid play. 7 could be considered interesting as well as a rare combination of a carry and ace run. The tee is one side of a 160 foot lake and the basket is on the other. Between them is open water and an open run at the ace.

The amenities are pretty solid with nice tee signs and even bag racks. The navigation is easy and the course flows well so if a fast round is needed, that can definitely happen.
Cons: I'm not sure who this course is targeting. Considering the length of the holes and the lack of golf lines, it can't be experienced players. But it isn't a good beginner course either. There are too many early, narrow gaps. And really, encountering the wall-of-tree holes won't encourage someone in the sport. A few of these holes are just as plinko as plinko can be. Might as well have thrown 4 with my eyes closed.

Nor is the carry on seven a good idea. Anyone who can consistently carry 150 feet will find the hole uninteresting. Those who can't will probably be frustrated and spend more time getting their one disc out of the water than playing the other eight holes.

And while typically I don't care for the "second is labeled as a different hole" thing, it was good here as some tees faced directly at trees(8A). That allows the hole to be played more reasonably. For most of the holes, there will be no desire to play them twice anyways.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short, but interesting...

2-4    2/16/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Decent use of space. This short little ace-run style pitch and putt is nestled in a nice park that seems to offer quite a few amenities (mostly baseball for kids) that utilizes the space available for the course quite reasonably. None of the fairways cross (although some are pretty close together) and even though there's a walking path near some of the holes they're short enough to minimize any safety concerns. There is a nature trail with signs pointing to what wildlife to look for (raccoons and such) that could provide a welcome distraction for any little ones with you.

- Very clean. The course had no trash to speak of and seems to be kept up very well.

- Interesting layout & lines. The woodlands provide a wide variety of choices on how to play the holes and the little pond on #7 adds an element of anxiety to an otherwise fairly straightforward hole. Alternate tees provided to make it a full 18 are placed in locations that make it really seem like you're playing a different hole despite throwing at the same basket. Good course to practice your accuracy and putting.

- Easy navigation. Being a fairly compact course it's not difficult to figure out where to go next.

- Relatively new baskets that catch well.

- Parking is plentiful and the park also has restrooms available. There are also swing benches placed in fairly scenic spots all around the course (apparently to compensate for the lack of benches on the holes), so it has that going for it...which is nice.

- Decent signage with distances posted. Some posts also have hooks from which to hang your bag.

- Kid & newbie friendly. A decent course to introduce people to the game.

- In & out. You could easily play this course in 30 minutes if you were solo. Great for a quick lunchbreak round.
Cons:
- Tight layout. Though the lines are interesting, they're not always good. Many holes seem to have no rhyme or reason as to why the tee was placed there. On #8 you have a metric buttload of trees five feet in front of the fairway, making a big anhyzer off the left of the tee the only legitimate option.

- No maps on signage. This isn't that huge of a deal since the course is so short, but for the first timer not having an idea of where to throw (since the layout doesn't reveal any real obvious lines) it could prove confusing.

- Entrance. There's only one way into the course and you have to circumnavigate the entire park in order to get to the first hole. This could be very confusing for players coming for the first time.

- Gravel teepads. They're not in too bad of shape, but some are dug up enough to make holes that could twist an ankle if you're not careful.

- Out of the way. Pretty decent drive from the city.

- Not much of a challenge. A fairly new player could easily tame this course with a putter or a Roc.

- Though it's short enough to allow you to easily warn people on benches and the walking paths that you're throwing, you could easily peg someone with a disc if you're not paying attention. I didn't see any signs warning walkers and bench sitters to watch for flying discs, so players need to be extra vigilant while playing.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
All in all, BSP is a nice little course that offers an interesting change from the other parks in the Cape Fear region. It definitely has personality. I would describe this course as a shorter version of Arrowhead with more interesting scenery. It's a little gimmicky and very easy, but it could provide a nice little change from the other courses in and around Wilmington. Worth checking out if you find yourself in the area, but not worth driving a long way to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Snaky

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: xphatboy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *holes where well marked
*multiple tees
*beginner course
*ace runs
*liked throwing over the water
Cons: *SNAKES ON HOLES 6 & 7!
*lots of bugs
*holes are way too short
*really no elevation changes
Other Thoughts: We went while on vacation and probably won't go back. We hate snakes!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

As generic as its name

2-4    7/11/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Had 2 different tee pads to play from
- nice baskets
- had nice signs and guided you nicely through the course
- Most holes are very technical off the drives
Cons: - kinda short
- not much of a chance to let it rip
- the one throw across the lake is pretty risky and you might lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: - If you put bug spray on then the bugs are not too bad.
- Nice job for what land was available.
- If you are in the area and want to play a quick round this is a good place to go.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/3/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: jrhow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little course for what is there to work with.
Awesome regular crowd.
Nice area, in a well maintained park.
Awesome course for beginners wanting to get in on a small course and try their hand at some DG.
Cons: 4a needs a lane! No, really, 4a needs at least one lane that easily visible. It's not a very beginner friendly hole.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown course, so obviously I'm not going to be negative about it. For what Oak Island has to work with, they did a phenomenal job here. Awesome place for beginners, great place for everyone else to go throw some discs and have a relaxed time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I dig it.

5+    10/31/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: cchambers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Technical enough to be a challenge, short enough for kids to play. I usually take a putter and a mid-range.
Cons: Nothing to complain about... except that mando on my spike hyzer route over the baseball field. It's okay, I'll play by your rules. But player "B" is going out there (if no one is playing baseball!)
Other Thoughts: The Oak Island crowd is cool. I lost my favorite Leopard on the pond hole and someone called me two weeks later and returned it to some family in the area :)

You work with what you've got, and for what they have to work with, it's a fun little course.


---


I'm going to need someone to tell me what makes all my reviews "unhelpful" - so yea, get back to me on that.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Trees and more trees

1    9/24/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is good for working on tight lines with midrange and putters. Plenty of aceable holes. fun little course, very well kept up and clean, Plenty of left, right and straight lines. 2 teepads for a good 18 hole round.
Cons: Hole 2 and 8 are just putt-putt holes, no fairway at all, just shooting through the trees. I would not bring my best discs to this course because of the tree/lack of fairway factor.
Other Thoughts: Play b holes first to get a feel for the course, they are much easier and have better lines. The designer did a great job with the land that he was given to work with. Very clean and met alot of nice people. Would not go out of my way to play but if you at the beach for a week this is a fun stop for a quickie.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mini-Me

2-4    6/7/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: jeditden
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Almost every hole had an alternate tee, which works out great with only 9 holes. This way playing though a second time is different.
-Hole 7 over the lake is fun and scary at the same time. My wife wouldn't even attempt it, haha.
-Very well kept up for such a small course.
Cons: -LOTS of trees. Fairways aren't super defined.
-Lot's of 'skeeters were out while we played. Probably from the lake.
-Signs posted saying the sprinkler/drainage could go on at any time was a bit frightening, but thankfully never happened when we played.
Other Thoughts: A fun small course near the beach that's great for recreational/new players. You could almost play with just a putter here and be content. I wouldn't go out of yuor way to play here, but if you are in the area, go for it. Take the ferry from Southport over to Fort Fisher and hit up Kure Beach as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/27/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (1) Multiple Tees
(2) Signs show distance and par
(3) The rest of the park is beautiful
(4) Well cleaned and kept up with
Cons: (1) Finding the tees isn't the easiest your first time
(2) No distinct fairways. This is also a pro because you decide the better direction to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. It plays really fast and allows time for at least 2 rounds. Love throwing over the pond. Fairways are clean from undergrowth which is nice. Not too buggy either for the amount of water nearby. This is the BEST 9 hole course I have played.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant suprise

1    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really Clean and well maintained. Signage directing you from hole to hole was pretty good.

Good DGA Baskets.

For such a short course it has some tight difficult holes that will test your short game.

Also I felt like the holes were REALLY tight but based on the shortness they were fair.

Perfect course to take your family to go play at the beach. Short enough that they will have fun and in a really nice park
Cons: Might be too short for some people but I thought that it had it's challenges.

There was only one sign to each hole tees. I missed hole 6's short tee completely until the end of the round.

Other Thoughts: It had natural Pads which could be a con for some however you don't need much of a run up if any for these holes.

I was really surprised by this little course. I went there to start a day trip (Crossed the Ferry went on to Kure and Castle Hayne) and was expecting to just check a crappy course off the list and get a little warm up, but I left feeling great about the course. Is it a destination course like Castle Hayne? No of course not but if you are in the area or passing through it is defiantly worth taking a short time to play and test your short game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.