Oak Island, NC 
Bill Smith Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #4 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Directional Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short, but interesting...

2-4    2/16/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 29  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Decent use of space. This short little ace-run style pitch and putt is nestled in a nice park that seems to offer quite a few amenities (mostly baseball for kids) that utilizes the space available for the course quite reasonably. None of the fairways cross (although some are pretty close together) and even though there's a walking path near some of the holes they're short enough to minimize any safety concerns. There is a nature trail with signs pointing to what wildlife to look for (raccoons and such) that could provide a welcome distraction for any little ones with you.

- Very clean. The course had no trash to speak of and seems to be kept up very well.

- Interesting layout & lines. The woodlands provide a wide variety of choices on how to play the holes and the little pond on #7 adds an element of anxiety to an otherwise fairly straightforward hole. Alternate tees provided to make it a full 18 are placed in locations that make it really seem like you're playing a different hole despite throwing at the same basket. Good course to practice your accuracy and putting.

- Easy navigation. Being a fairly compact course it's not difficult to figure out where to go next.

- Relatively new baskets that catch well.

- Parking is plentiful and the park also has restrooms available. There are also swing benches placed in fairly scenic spots all around the course (apparently to compensate for the lack of benches on the holes), so it has that going for it...which is nice.

- Decent signage with distances posted. Some posts also have hooks from which to hang your bag.

- Kid & newbie friendly. A decent course to introduce people to the game.

- In & out. You could easily play this course in 30 minutes if you were solo. Great for a quick lunchbreak round.
Cons:
- Tight layout. Though the lines are interesting, they're not always good. Many holes seem to have no rhyme or reason as to why the tee was placed there. On #8 you have a metric buttload of trees five feet in front of the fairway, making a big anhyzer off the left of the tee the only legitimate option.

- No maps on signage. This isn't that huge of a deal since the course is so short, but for the first timer not having an idea of where to throw (since the layout doesn't reveal any real obvious lines) it could prove confusing.

- Entrance. There's only one way into the course and you have to circumnavigate the entire park in order to get to the first hole. This could be very confusing for players coming for the first time.

- Gravel teepads. They're not in too bad of shape, but some are dug up enough to make holes that could twist an ankle if you're not careful.

- Out of the way. Pretty decent drive from the city.

- Not much of a challenge. A fairly new player could easily tame this course with a putter or a Roc.

- Though it's short enough to allow you to easily warn people on benches and the walking paths that you're throwing, you could easily peg someone with a disc if you're not paying attention. I didn't see any signs warning walkers and bench sitters to watch for flying discs, so players need to be extra vigilant while playing.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
All in all, BSP is a nice little course that offers an interesting change from the other parks in the Cape Fear region. It definitely has personality. I would describe this course as a shorter version of Arrowhead with more interesting scenery. It's a little gimmicky and very easy, but it could provide a nice little change from the other courses in and around Wilmington. Worth checking out if you find yourself in the area, but not worth driving a long way to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Snaky

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: xphatboy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *holes where well marked
*multiple tees
*beginner course
*ace runs
*liked throwing over the water
Cons: *SNAKES ON HOLES 6 & 7!
*lots of bugs
*holes are way too short
*really no elevation changes
Other Thoughts: We went while on vacation and probably won't go back. We hate snakes!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

As generic as its name

2-4    7/11/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Had 2 different tee pads to play from
- nice baskets
- had nice signs and guided you nicely through the course
- Most holes are very technical off the drives
Cons: - kinda short
- not much of a chance to let it rip
- the one throw across the lake is pretty risky and you might lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: - If you put bug spray on then the bugs are not too bad.
- Nice job for what land was available.
- If you are in the area and want to play a quick round this is a good place to go.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trees and more trees

1    9/24/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is good for working on tight lines with midrange and putters. Plenty of aceable holes. fun little course, very well kept up and clean, Plenty of left, right and straight lines. 2 teepads for a good 18 hole round.
Cons: Hole 2 and 8 are just putt-putt holes, no fairway at all, just shooting through the trees. I would not bring my best discs to this course because of the tree/lack of fairway factor.
Other Thoughts: Play b holes first to get a feel for the course, they are much easier and have better lines. The designer did a great job with the land that he was given to work with. Very clean and met alot of nice people. Would not go out of my way to play but if you at the beach for a week this is a fun stop for a quickie.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ehhhh...

1    6/24/2009   8/16/2010
Review By: ENold
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Demands Accuraucy
-Short and Sweet
-Good variety as far as righty/lefty goes
Cons: -Some holes boast nearly impassable fairways
-Poor tees
-Doesn't demand distance to any extent
Other Thoughts: I came down to NC from Delaware to participate in the Great Eight Ironman in the Raleigh area. Afterwards, I stayed at my friends dads house for a week on Oak Island.
The course was great for just a quick round or two while on vacation but if you don't mind traveling a bit, head up to Castle Hayne in Wilmington. Oh yeah, that pond on seven that apparently has alligators in it, I waded through that thing to get my disc back. One of the grounds-keepers took time out from mowing the grass to watch... but apparently not inform me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

OKIDGA

5+    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: MWallbrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very tight on a lot of holes, having an accurate short game is crucial in some areas. Mainly the first 3, black on 4, and hole 8. There are several very exciting ace runs. Very easy to navigate,
Cons: as I said a good accurate mid range or putter shot is crucial, can swing both ways.
Other Thoughts: The bathroom is in b/t the ball fields (red roof). There is a map of the course by the parking lot next to hole 1 along with other park information and disc golf events.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great finish

2-4    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful setting. The park is immaculately maintained and work is obviously done to keep up the course. As I said, it's beautiful, clean and maintained. I also thoroughly enjoyed the last five holes. They are fun and challenging without being ridiculous. Several are legitimate Ace Runs. This would be a great place to go for your next Ace, especially on Hole #6, #7 and #8. They even have a special board placed near the tee at #8 to record Aces.
Cons: I enjoyed the last 5 holes, but would just as soon forget about the first four. Hole #1 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #2 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #3 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees, but if you want, you can throw over two ballfields and pray that your errant throw doesn't knock some softball player in the head. I'm baffled that the park would allow this to occur. They really should have a mando to keep throws away from innocent baseball players. If you don't hyzer over the fields, then the alternative is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #4 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. This park could be a lot more fun if they cut out some trees or move the tee boxes to make a reasonable "line" or fairway on those first four holes. Your best strategy is to hit a tree closer to the hole so you can lay up for a three. That's not strategy, that's desperation.
I am not in favor of putting a basket 200' into a grove of trees and placing the tee box directly in front of a stand of trees and calling it "challenging". The placement of the tees and baskets on the first four holes is just baffling. Another con is the directional signs. It took me two trips around the course to figure out which tee belonged to which basket. A course map would have been helpful. There were no Rest Room facilities near the course, but there were some in the park.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in Bill Smith Park in Southport/Oak Island, NC. It's very near the coast and provides a mostly pleasant diversion. There are baseball, softball and soccer fields. The 9-hole course winds through some woods at the fringe of the park and provides some beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Bring the spouse along for the stroll. Benches at every hole. Tee signs at every hole. One tee per hole, one basket per hole. Trash cans at most benches. A previous reviewer has given a hole-by-hole description, so I won't repeat it. Take note however, that most tee shots are a hyzer for a RHBH, right-to-left or center-to-left. Overall, I enjoyed the course and would return if they thinned out the grove to make some reasonable "lines" to throw to. As it is, I give the first four holes a .5 and the last five holes a 2.5. Add the beautiful setting and the atmosphere and my average for the course, 2.0. It's worth a trip, if just for the last five holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Precise-N-Putt

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very nice with softball, football, and soccer fields. Restrooms are available. Trash cans are throughout the course. Nice baskets and signs.
Cons: Shot selection is very limited. A few holes are too wooded. Hole distance is not varied (all holes are under 230'). Hole 3 plays close to the softball field and becomes somewhat unplayable if a game is in session. Mulch tees are always a con.
Other Thoughts: I believe the park did best with what it had, however, trimming a few fairways would make it better. You really have to have a precise game to do well, there are some very tight shots need to score well.

Here's my breakdown of each hole:
1-Super tight fairway with very low hanging branches. There's not even a line to the basket so I found the roller to be good to get atleast half way to the basket. With the hole being short, a 3 is not difficult to make as long as you get halfway on your first shot.

2-The opening fairway is actually wider than most others. Throw a stable disc with some fade at the end and you should have a decent look at deuce.

3-Look at this fairway and you're thinking WTF! There's only one way, and it's spike hyzer (RHBH) over the softball field. There's a small opening to the right of the teepad, Hit the gap and you've got a good look at deuce (if you can make it over the corner of both ball diamonds).

4-Try to go straight and hope to make it through the trees, but it's so tight. Throw a turnover shot on the left side and work it left to right.

5-Short and tight; use the left front corner of the teepad to see the line to the basket, throw something stable and hit the gap and you might hit an ace.

6-A wide open fairway to the basket. Sign says 90', but it's got to be 120'ish. Throw a stable putter with a little hyzer and drop it in front of the basket for an easy deuce.

7-Don't use the sign for the line. You need to throw a hyzer along the right woods and let the disc do the work to the basket.

8-Signature hole IMO. There's nothing to it really, just a pond and the shot at an ace. Take a run at the basket with something stable. A net is close to the pond for disc retrieval.

9-One of the longer holes on the course. I've found you need to throw a slight hyzer through the gap to the right of the split tree. Avoid the remaining trees to the basket and a deuce here is a treat.

Overall, the course design is not all that bad. A few trimmed fairways would help tremendously. Hole 8 is definitely a cool hole, however not difficult. It's nice to have this course in the area since there is not one around for another 30 or so miles.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2010   7/28/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good diversion from other beach stuff. Short holes, plays fast. Pretty easy to navigate. Other park facilities (and another park with a sweet playground) nearby for the other family members. Hole #7 is a nice little 165 ft shot across water (in which I saw an alligator). A few of the holes offer multiple options for getting to the pin.
Cons: 3 or 4 of the holes have little or no fairway -- just a bunch of random trees. The underbrush was grown up when I was there, and made it unsuitable for the rest of my family (kids) to walk along with me. Mosquitoes are prevalent, as you would expect, so just be prepared.

(Apr 2010 note: Underbrush was not a problem. It's either not grown up yet, or they are controlling it better.)
Other Thoughts: The first 3 holes are on one side of the park road (very near the park exit), and the other 6 are across the park road.

Apr 2010 Edit: A 2nd set of tees has been added, and a few of the holes have been changed. Also, tee signs and navigational signs have been added. These changes definitely improve the course.

However, there remain several shots that are simply too tight. That is, luck is too much of a factor. I played 2 rounds -- one from each tee. In those 18 tee shots, you stand on the tee and look at 5 or 6 of them and just say "what?".

But, having said that, the holes are short enough that it's not a huge downer. I mean, you're at the beach, right? You're with friends. You're just out to have some fun. You're not looking for a super-competitive round. Despite the shots that are too tight, it's fun to play, and it's short enough that noobs and/or family can play along.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.