Oak Island, NC 
Bill Smith Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #2 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 193ft.   3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    4/3/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: jrhow
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little course for what is there to work with.
Awesome regular crowd.
Nice area, in a well maintained park.
Awesome course for beginners wanting to get in on a small course and try their hand at some DG.
Cons: 4a needs a lane! No, really, 4a needs at least one lane that easily visible. It's not a very beginner friendly hole.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown course, so obviously I'm not going to be negative about it. For what Oak Island has to work with, they did a phenomenal job here. Awesome place for beginners, great place for everyone else to go throw some discs and have a relaxed time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I dig it.

5+    10/31/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: cchambers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Technical enough to be a challenge, short enough for kids to play. I usually take a putter and a mid-range.
Cons: Nothing to complain about... except that mando on my spike hyzer route over the baseball field. It's okay, I'll play by your rules. But player "B" is going out there (if no one is playing baseball!)
Other Thoughts: The Oak Island crowd is cool. I lost my favorite Leopard on the pond hole and someone called me two weeks later and returned it to some family in the area :)

You work with what you've got, and for what they have to work with, it's a fun little course.


---


I'm going to need someone to tell me what makes all my reviews "unhelpful" - so yea, get back to me on that.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/27/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (1) Multiple Tees
(2) Signs show distance and par
(3) The rest of the park is beautiful
(4) Well cleaned and kept up with
Cons: (1) Finding the tees isn't the easiest your first time
(2) No distinct fairways. This is also a pro because you decide the better direction to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. It plays really fast and allows time for at least 2 rounds. Love throwing over the pond. Fairways are clean from undergrowth which is nice. Not too buggy either for the amount of water nearby. This is the BEST 9 hole course I have played.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 best with what they have

5+    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: being a short,tight course, a course like this requires accuracy over distance. the guys do a good job keeping the place clean and also have plans on removing a few trees in order to help those out whose lack of accuracy was put on display.
bringing younger disc golfers here will help boost their confidece after playing a few rounds, but beware of the local 14 yr olds who won't mind takin your loot on a round or two.
Cons: 9 hole course sitting on roughly 6 acres of land. not alot could be done to make this course better due to lack of land.
no reason to bring drivers, longest hole 261 ft.
think alligator ate my discs on hole 7 a and b, also possible to feed them plastic from 6b.
teeboxes need help.
Other Thoughts: think the putt-putt comparison to ball golf and bill smith park will give you what you think a putt putt course on disc golf would be.
accurate throws opposed to power rips will get you alot further here.
the locals are serious about the growth of disc golf and even if you don't like their course you would love their cause. these guys are going to fight for more disc golf, and i got their back.
really fun course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: jhalvor5
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
Pros: Short distances and you can always see the pin from the tee. Plays fast and fairly well marked.
Cons: Although several holes are heavily wooded (my first shot on #3 went 30 feet behind me...) it is not unfairly overgrown. If you play the course more than once, it would be fairly easy to make par or better with some well placed shots.
Other Thoughts: On #5 you should lean out of the right side of the tee box for a straight shot at the pin and avoid the trees. #8 is fairly short, but that doesn't take the water out of play.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.