Oak Island, NC 
Bill Smith Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
OKIDGA

5+    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: MWallbrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very tight on a lot of holes, having an accurate short game is crucial in some areas. Mainly the first 3, black on 4, and hole 8. There are several very exciting ace runs. Very easy to navigate,
Cons: as I said a good accurate mid range or putter shot is crucial, can swing both ways.
Other Thoughts: The bathroom is in b/t the ball fields (red roof). There is a map of the course by the parking lot next to hole 1 along with other park information and disc golf events.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great finish

2-4    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful setting. The park is immaculately maintained and work is obviously done to keep up the course. As I said, it's beautiful, clean and maintained. I also thoroughly enjoyed the last five holes. They are fun and challenging without being ridiculous. Several are legitimate Ace Runs. This would be a great place to go for your next Ace, especially on Hole #6, #7 and #8. They even have a special board placed near the tee at #8 to record Aces.
Cons: I enjoyed the last 5 holes, but would just as soon forget about the first four. Hole #1 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #2 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #3 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees, but if you want, you can throw over two ballfields and pray that your errant throw doesn't knock some softball player in the head. I'm baffled that the park would allow this to occur. They really should have a mando to keep throws away from innocent baseball players. If you don't hyzer over the fields, then the alternative is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. Hole #4 is a "poke and hope" throw into a fairly thick grove of trees. This park could be a lot more fun if they cut out some trees or move the tee boxes to make a reasonable "line" or fairway on those first four holes. Your best strategy is to hit a tree closer to the hole so you can lay up for a three. That's not strategy, that's desperation.
I am not in favor of putting a basket 200' into a grove of trees and placing the tee box directly in front of a stand of trees and calling it "challenging". The placement of the tees and baskets on the first four holes is just baffling. Another con is the directional signs. It took me two trips around the course to figure out which tee belonged to which basket. A course map would have been helpful. There were no Rest Room facilities near the course, but there were some in the park.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in Bill Smith Park in Southport/Oak Island, NC. It's very near the coast and provides a mostly pleasant diversion. There are baseball, softball and soccer fields. The 9-hole course winds through some woods at the fringe of the park and provides some beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Bring the spouse along for the stroll. Benches at every hole. Tee signs at every hole. One tee per hole, one basket per hole. Trash cans at most benches. A previous reviewer has given a hole-by-hole description, so I won't repeat it. Take note however, that most tee shots are a hyzer for a RHBH, right-to-left or center-to-left. Overall, I enjoyed the course and would return if they thinned out the grove to make some reasonable "lines" to throw to. As it is, I give the first four holes a .5 and the last five holes a 2.5. Add the beautiful setting and the atmosphere and my average for the course, 2.0. It's worth a trip, if just for the last five holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Through the woods

1    8/5/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: masonrph2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Accuracy and the ability to work the disc both ways a must. Tight with some variety. Had the place to ourselves. Hole 8 very interesting-140' carry over water.
Cons: First three holes have some trees that have sprouted since course first layed out. This leads to limited options. Short.
Other Thoughts: A nice change of pace from mountain courses in Asheville. Underbrush kept tidy so there is no problem with poison ivy or lost discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Precise-N-Putt

5+    8/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very nice with softball, football, and soccer fields. Restrooms are available. Trash cans are throughout the course. Nice baskets and signs.
Cons: Shot selection is very limited. A few holes are too wooded. Hole distance is not varied (all holes are under 230'). Hole 3 plays close to the softball field and becomes somewhat unplayable if a game is in session. Mulch tees are always a con.
Other Thoughts: I believe the park did best with what it had, however, trimming a few fairways would make it better. You really have to have a precise game to do well, there are some very tight shots need to score well.

Here's my breakdown of each hole:
1-Super tight fairway with very low hanging branches. There's not even a line to the basket so I found the roller to be good to get atleast half way to the basket. With the hole being short, a 3 is not difficult to make as long as you get halfway on your first shot.

2-The opening fairway is actually wider than most others. Throw a stable disc with some fade at the end and you should have a decent look at deuce.

3-Look at this fairway and you're thinking WTF! There's only one way, and it's spike hyzer (RHBH) over the softball field. There's a small opening to the right of the teepad, Hit the gap and you've got a good look at deuce (if you can make it over the corner of both ball diamonds).

4-Try to go straight and hope to make it through the trees, but it's so tight. Throw a turnover shot on the left side and work it left to right.

5-Short and tight; use the left front corner of the teepad to see the line to the basket, throw something stable and hit the gap and you might hit an ace.

6-A wide open fairway to the basket. Sign says 90', but it's got to be 120'ish. Throw a stable putter with a little hyzer and drop it in front of the basket for an easy deuce.

7-Don't use the sign for the line. You need to throw a hyzer along the right woods and let the disc do the work to the basket.

8-Signature hole IMO. There's nothing to it really, just a pond and the shot at an ace. Take a run at the basket with something stable. A net is close to the pond for disc retrieval.

9-One of the longer holes on the course. I've found you need to throw a slight hyzer through the gap to the right of the split tree. Avoid the remaining trees to the basket and a deuce here is a treat.

Overall, the course design is not all that bad. A few trimmed fairways would help tremendously. Hole 8 is definitely a cool hole, however not difficult. It's nice to have this course in the area since there is not one around for another 30 or so miles.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: jhalvor5
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
Pros: Short distances and you can always see the pin from the tee. Plays fast and fairly well marked.
Cons: Although several holes are heavily wooded (my first shot on #3 went 30 feet behind me...) it is not unfairly overgrown. If you play the course more than once, it would be fairly easy to make par or better with some well placed shots.
Other Thoughts: On #5 you should lean out of the right side of the tee box for a straight shot at the pin and avoid the trees. #8 is fairly short, but that doesn't take the water out of play.

 

2-4    4/24/2010   7/28/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good diversion from other beach stuff. Short holes, plays fast. Pretty easy to navigate. Other park facilities (and another park with a sweet playground) nearby for the other family members. Hole #7 is a nice little 165 ft shot across water (in which I saw an alligator). A few of the holes offer multiple options for getting to the pin.
Cons: 3 or 4 of the holes have little or no fairway -- just a bunch of random trees. The underbrush was grown up when I was there, and made it unsuitable for the rest of my family (kids) to walk along with me. Mosquitoes are prevalent, as you would expect, so just be prepared.

(Apr 2010 note: Underbrush was not a problem. It's either not grown up yet, or they are controlling it better.)
Other Thoughts: The first 3 holes are on one side of the park road (very near the park exit), and the other 6 are across the park road.

Apr 2010 Edit: A 2nd set of tees has been added, and a few of the holes have been changed. Also, tee signs and navigational signs have been added. These changes definitely improve the course.

However, there remain several shots that are simply too tight. That is, luck is too much of a factor. I played 2 rounds -- one from each tee. In those 18 tee shots, you stand on the tee and look at 5 or 6 of them and just say "what?".

But, having said that, the holes are short enough that it's not a huge downer. I mean, you're at the beach, right? You're with friends. You're just out to have some fun. You're not looking for a super-competitive round. Despite the shots that are too tight, it's fun to play, and it's short enough that noobs and/or family can play along.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  William "Bill" Smith park DGC

5+    5/1/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: Ovinus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few unique holes that are worth playing
Cons: First 2 holes are so heavily wooded its unplayable. 8 is a small pond hole with a wall of trees guarding the other bank before the pin.
Other Thoughts: VERY new course that will probably be renovated over time(hopefully). Holes 3 4 5 6 7 and 9 are pretty much the only playable holes. Theres so much land in this park and its a very nice park but they really gave the shaft to the disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center