Leander, TX 
The Highlands Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nerve racking

1    5/14/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 46  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: - Great upkeep on the course.
- Good tee pads and unique tee signs.
- Very beautiful landscaping compared to the other nearby course.
- Great park amenities adjacent to the course
- Great parking.
Cons: - Private course, i had the constant feeling we were going to get ejected. in addition, there are signs all over the place claiming to prosecute trespassers.
- Lots of non-playing park patrons, our group had to hold off throwing several times.
- adjacent pool, which is fenced off, can come into play with an errant throw. we had one disc go in and had to have a kind person retrieve it for us.
- large pond comes into play on several shots.
- One tee tad was missing (#18) 17 tee pads and only 10 baskets.
- no practice area or course map.
- very limited on the trees, especially at the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: - Course layout was average. mostly straight with water in play on a few shots.

OK Neighborhood Course

1    2/11/2016   2/11/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 159  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty wide-open course placed into a small neighborhood park. Unlike the previous reviewer I wouldn't consider this a pitch-n-putt at all. 12 of the holes are over 250' long, with two 300'+ and two more 400'+. With the wind I was using plenty of drivers.

A large pond is in play on a few holes, and adds interest as well as the risk of losing a disc. Given the size and apparent depth of the pond I would say that you're not getting many discs back.

The large limestone blocks marking the tee pads are unique. The gravel pads were acceptable, though at least one is angled sharply uphill on an otherwise flat hole. Baskets catch fine, but are not marked with hole number(s).
Cons: Layout and navigation is confusing. There are single tees for a couple of baskets, and twin tees for the rest. This is a small area for an 18(?) hole course, and there are generally two or three baskets visible from each tee. I was guessing at which basket to drive based on the oreintation of the teepad and the hole length (if you printed them out or access this site on your phone). No hole diagrams, hole lengths, or par information are available at the course.

For the most part the course is a series of open throws over grass. There are a couple of holes with the pond in play, but realistically this is a wide open course, with the wind being your main challenge.

Hole 1 gets off to a rocky start by requiring a drive over a fenced pool area. Not a long throw, but having to drive over an enclosed public area is weird. Hole 9 requires a drive over/around a small playground and sometimes soccer field.
Other Thoughts: There are dozens of signs posted throughout the park stating that it is for use only by members of the Neighborhood Association, and that violators will be prosecuted. If only they'd spent a little of that money on tee signs...

I can see where this might be an ok course if you were a local resident and already knew the layout. But as a travelling DG'er I wouldn't stop by unless you simply want to check it off. Much better courses nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Pitch/Putt Course

5+    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **I'm reviewing this as a pitch/putt or practice course.**

-Very scenic set around a nice pond fountain. Nicely maintained park along a nice cluster of neighborhoods.
-Tees and baskets fairly well maintained.
-Usually pretty desserted.
-Very easy course great for beginners to practice the basics or for intermediate to amateur players to fine tune their short game.
-Although it is part of a community park, it's pretty well removed from the trail and the rest of the park.
-Close to where I live.
Cons: -Not a full course. (Not necessarily a con for me, but it will be for some.)
-Pedestrian traffic picks up on nicer weekends with families picnicking and around 4-530 with kids walking home from school.
-The pond is deep enough you won't recover lost discs unless it's drained. Luckily only comes into play only like three holes.
-The course was established before an additional kid area was added to the pool, so hole 1 tees off directly over a fenced pool area. Usually it's closed off and not being used, but when it is probably best to play left of the teepad a few feet.
-Signs posted say the park is private for residents of the neiggboorhood only. But as a blonde haired white guy I've never had anybody say anything me. Although occasionally people sitting at benches or at the pool will watch me, curious about the sport. Some have asked me questions about how it's played or telling they had no idea what the baskets were.
Other Thoughts: If you come expecting an actual course, you'll be pretty dissapointed. But if you don't have time to fit in a full round after work, or want some short putt/approach practice, then this course is perfect.

Not really a place to bring drinks out or anything.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice neighborhood course

1    1/14/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 46  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, quite park-like atmosphere. Teeboxes are gravel, but will maintained. The course is nicely scenic, with large boulders throughout and a nice pond with a fountain in the middle.
Cons: If you lose a disc in the pond, you're not getting it back unless you brought scuba gear.

Doubling up all but 2 of the baskets is a silly concept, and the course is pretty repetitive.

For the most part completely wide open, so it's not much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Nicer than some of the other nearby neighborhood courses such as Block House Creek, but probably not worth it unless you live right nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun

1    11/16/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: chamillionaire
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really fun course with a couple shots over water and some ace runs as well.
Cons: A little difficult to navigate, but large teebox rocks help tremendously. Watch out for the pool fence as it is OB, and hard to climb over for disc retrieval.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads for gravel. They are nice and long and level and framed by rocks set level with the ground.

Each tee has a large boulder with hole # engraved and then painted on it so the course is very easy to follow.

With all the technical courses in the Austin area, a more open course like this is refreshing. It makes a good compliment to Wilco.

Due to the multiple tee per basket design, it's hard for me not to view this course as a nine holer even though it's technically eighteen. That being said, it's one of the nicest nine hole courses you will find anywhere.

The huge boulders, the rock picnic tables, the stone henge inspired sculpture by the pond, and the large spraying fountain give this course an other worldly feel which makes it a pretty cool place to throw plastic.

The water holes are more for fun than a challenge unless you're a six year old. If anyone finds a yellow unmarked DX Gator in the pond, my son would love to have it back.
Cons: The multiple tees per basket design is pretty silly but I guess if this is your local couse it will help you not get bored with the same old nine holes.

Baskets are not marked with hole # so first timers will have to make a choice on which basket to throw at on a few holes.

There is no map available.

Distances are not posted.

Two holes seem to share not only a tee but also a basket unless one was missing. That's why marked baskets and/or a map would be nice.

The only technical requirement is wind and avoiding the road that encircles the park.

There is a large sign as you turn into the park that says PRIVATE. I'll let you know when I get arrested.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Pretty nice short course

5+    12/9/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: Longhorn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice signs and scenic Pond aids this course. Great for practice, relaxing time, and very quiet course.
Cons: Tee boxes are horrible. I throw in the grass beside them.
Other Thoughts: I like playing the course cause it can be very relaxing and fun. It is never busy which is always nice but expected due to the dullness of this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

5+    5/6/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not many trees here but at least has scattered limestone boulders ( also used for the tee boxes) around a man-made pond with a fountain.
Hole 5 has you shooting over the pond.
The pond and its run-off creek are also in play on holes 3, 4, & 8.
Hole 7 is over 400' from tee box 15.
Cons: Kinda silly layout with the multiple tees, except on holes 1, 5, & 10, which are just single tees.
Could've made it a bit longer and nicer 9 hole course (guess somebody had $$ to burn on the extra tees). Bit too open for my taste.
Other Thoughts: I usually play the course as a 10 hole from the furthest tee box on each hole.
Course is generally windy and there's not much shade except at the big limestone tables on hole 3.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.