Disc Golf Center
Marion, IN 
Matter Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #16 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 433ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice mix

1    1/15/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through a sprawling park area. There are a couple minor elevation changes, and these are used pretty well to add some uphill and downhill holes for variety. Few of the holes are wide open, there are at least a few trees in play to make you shape some lines on most holes. The handful of holes in the woods offer a really nice change up, with shorter and more technical holes that call for some accurate shots if you want to birdie. There are some risky greens that add some challenges to the short game.

I liked the mix of lengths here. Most of the wooded holes were pretty short, but the park style and open holes offered a nice variety of ace runs, reachable but challenging distances, and longer bombs where you can open up a little. The park is in nice shape, and offers bathrooms, other activities, and a disc golf clubhouse (closed when I played). All holes have nice concrete tees that are pretty new and in good shape. The signs are basic, but do a good job showing the hole distance and layout. The map available here is helpful and accurate.
Cons: There are some navigation issues and some unmarked long walks between holes, you should print a map or pull it up on your phone. I didn't find any available at the course when I went, maybe there are sometimes. There are also some safety issues here, with roads and walking paths in play on several holes.

The design gets a little repetitive. On most holes, there is a righty hyzer line, so it often feels like only the length is different from the previous hole. It's a good design given the land available, it's too bad there wasn't room for more of the nice wooded holes to add some different lines.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park, and the course is not a bad place to stop and get a round in. It gets repetitive at times, but there are some nice holes out here. Beginners will find some longer holes, but otherwise it's a really beginner friendly course. More experienced players will find a few tougher holes, and some nice line shaping challenges in the woods, but the course overall isn't all that challenging.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenic course in large multi-use park. About a third of the course is short and wooded while the rest plays more in the open with a nice amount of mature trees. There's a great mix of distance on the course. I would say there are two pro par 4's on this course that are over 400 ft long with lots of mature trees in the way. One of these is hole 11 which I would say is the signature hole. The course is mostly flat with elevation coming into play on a few holes. The shot selection here is ok but it does seem to favor righty's.

The course has nice metal signs and good teepads. All the holes except the six in the woods have concrete tees. When I played here on 6-19-10, those tee pads should have already been installed, but unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate earlier in the week. So it sounds like the course will be complete very soon.
Cons: As with most courses, the wooded holes can get muddy after a rain. The rest of the course wasn't bad at all.

This is a large park that seems to get lots of use, so please be patient and watch out for other people in the park. I was there on a Saturday and had to wait a few times but it wasn't too bad.

I would recommend printing the map and taking it with you. There are a few places, particularly in the back 9, where it will come in handy. The numbering of the current map uploaded on 9-8-09 is off by 1. The hole labeled number 2 is actually hole 1 according to the signs on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is only about a year old but it's coming along very nicely. It's a great place for beginners to start out and more advanced players should enjoy the course also.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

5+    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: discpicable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative use of the space at Matter Park. 5 holes in the woods and most of the rest through mature growth in the park. Plenty of birdie opportunities but also some chances to just go for the long bomb.
Cons: The biggest con is that this park gets a lot of use from the public. There's been many occasions where I've had to skip holes due to this. Usually it's hole 17 which is often used for baseball or soccer practice. Also, there are ZERO trash cans. That's due to the park not wanting trash on the ground. Try and wrap your head around that.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. But it's not finished yet. 6 holes still have neither pads nor signs. But don't let that stop you from playing it now. It's definitely worth your time. When it finally is finished, I'll be giving this a higher rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun New Course

1    3/14/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 35.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a wide variety of shots with mostly wooded holes on the front nine and mostly open on the back nine. Wooded holes are not overly technical but a couple have tricky greens. Hole #11 is a very beautiful longer hole that plays as a hard 3. Very fun.
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes are a bit short and allow "cheater shots" that don't use the actual fairway. Park was somewhat flooded after some heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners and intermediate skilled players as well. Not overly challenging for more advanced players but still fun to play. Definately worth the trip. My rating assumes that the rest of the tee pads and tee signs will be installed soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.