Marion, IN 
Matter Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #1 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 302ft.   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee (A Position)



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Intermediate Course

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - Extremely grippy Spiderweb 3 baskets. There are 2 possible pin placements per hole. When I played 16 of the holes were in the short position. Baskets are painted yellow.

Variety - No two holes here are the same. Each course here is a unique hole for the course. Anything from long open holes to short technical holes.

Tees - Concrete Tee pads (with the exception of hole 17)

Elevation - Holes 2, 10, 11, 12, and 13 have slight elevation changes. 18 has downward elevation if you throw your disc to the left of the fairway. Nothing extreme.

Starts off challenging (2-6 are wooded) then ends with distance holes.

A few water hazards - Shallow creeks cross the fairway on holes 10, 13, 14, 15, and 16. Hole 11 has the Mississinewa River to the right of it. A bad throw on a windy day could ruin your day!

Easy to navigate - Arrows point you towards the next hole.

Very thought out course set in a very large park. Course spans from one side of the park to the other and does not interfere with any activity at the park.

Great course for the area. There is a more simple course in town if needed. Course wouldn't be much of a challenge for an advanced player.
Cons: Lots of Trash!! Trash cans need emptied near the tee pads. Overflowing cans caused much trash around the holes.

Lots of graffiti. All of the bathrooms at this course were closed due to vandalism (the course is safe so don't worry).

One Tee per hole - This course could use an additional tee pad per hole (alternate, longer, or shorter). It would be very beneficial to a disc golfer of any age.

Walk from hole 16 - 17. Make sure to go to the right of the playground. Otherwise you are in for a long walk and may get turned around.
Other Thoughts: I took the long way home from my lakehouse just so that I could play a course in Marion and I was not disappointed. Overall I was very pleased with the course and will definitely go back to play it.

There are a few aceable holes but for the most part 2s and 3s are acceptable for the holes here. I would like to play this course in the long pin placements.

Alternate tees, holes in the long position, less trash, and less graffiti would boost this course to a 4.5. I felt it was better than a 3.5 but not necessarily worthy of a 4. I would recommend this course if in the area if you are a beginner or an intermediate player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    2/18/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: chrisbek
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Variety on the holes. Some in the open, some in the woods. Long and short holes. Pars are challenging but doable for those playing signs. Cement tee pads are nice. Course is very well maintained.
Cons: Late in the season they take out some of the middle holes (7, 8, 9, maybe 1 or 2 more) and 17 in order to put up Christmas decorations. Can get a little crowded
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Closest course to my college so I go here a lot. One of my personal favorites

 It Matters as a Matter of Fact

5+    6/14/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Variety! This course offers plenty of it. It has holes in the open, holes with mature growth, and holes in the woods with open fairways and holes in the woods with technical fairways. The course has some elevation changes with uphill tee shots and some slightly downhilll shots. Baskets on side hills also add to the challenge. It has some long holes and some short holes, a little bit for everyone. It has a fair amount of left and right turning holes.
*Concrete tee pads and Allan Pier spider baskets. Tee signs with hole layout and distance.
*Alternate pin locations provide for two course setups
*Trashcans scattered throughout the park
*Restrooms, tennis courts, softball diamond, and a HUGE playground also located at the park.
Cons: *Wooded holes can be very muddy after a heavy rain
*Many holes are closed during the winter months for the park's Christmas lighting display
*Navigation can be a bit tricky for the first timer. There are a few long walks between holes where the tee is out of sight from the previous basket, so without a map, you might have to guess where the next tee is.
*Safety could be a concern. You will have to cross a road a few times to navigate around the course. Also there is a busy walking path that runs through the park. It is not really to close to the fairways but with an errant throw, it could come into play.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite things about this course is the variety. There really is a little something for everyone. Probably the only thing that is missing is dramatic elevation changes and long tecnhical holes. With the recent added alternate pin positions (which I've only played once), it offers a little bit of diversity.

My favorite holes are hole 11 and 16. Both are long (over 400') in their original pin position (unsure of alternate set-ups) and play through mature growth which requires you to shape a nice drive. I've come close to deucing 11, and have driven to within 15' on 16 for the birdie. They are challenging holes, but enjoyable.

I've delayed reviewing this course after it was installed to wait until it was finished (several wrote reviews before it was done giving it a low rating) and am just now getting around to my review. I truely believe this course is a 3.5 disc rating, would be a 4 if it weren't for the long walks and crossing the roads a few times between holes.

This is a really nice park and should keeep the rest of the family entertained if you bring them along. Be sure to check out the massive playground for the kiddo's. I'd definitely recommend stopping by this course if your looking to add to your course count.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Thank You

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: t_cyrier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the flying aces of matter park and allan peir with the peru disc golf club are hosting a doubles tournament on monday september 6th.
bring your own partner
10am players meeting
i would check in about 9-930am
two rounds of 18 {may be extra holes!}
$40 per team entry fee
$5 dollar mulligan per person {optional}
have any questions? contact me at: t_cyrier@yahoo.com
Other Thoughts: my name is todd and i am a rep for the flying aces disc golf club at matter park. we finished the concrete tee pads in the woods and all the signs are up. we are still working on getting direction signs made up for it, but there are maps and scorecards at the disc golf shack by the 18th basket available to anyone who needs one. also,.. we have a blind draw doubles on sundays at 1:00 pm and a singles handicap on thursdays at 6:00pm. its only $7.00 per person to play. its only $3.00 your first thursday round to establish the handicap. that also excludes you from the pay out for that day, but you will still be shooting for the ace fund and ctp{Closest To Pin}. how many places get payed out will very on how many people play. its a good time and good way to learn the game and the rules. have any questions you can email me at t_cyrier@yahoo.com. so come out and sapport your local park and join our club!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/11/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Chaincrowder
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT variety of shots! Some long, some short, open, wooded. Little elevation change, but all in all pretty good use of the park i think. For the other mom and dad disc golfers, HUGE jungle gym for the kiddies!! Love the Al Pier baskets!! Lots of birdies for pros and beginners.
Cons: Actually the same as one of the +'s would be the big playground. Park could get busy. Could definitely use tee pads back in the woods!
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course! Cant wait to get back down there to play it again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Good

5+    9/25/2011   2/14/2010
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Good use of the whole park for the course
- Baskets are new
- They now have Alt. basket loctions for all 18 holes
- A practice basket
- Many different holes. A mix of long and short holes, up and down hill shots,
and wooded and open shots.
- There is a small creek on hole 10 but nothing to were about only a foot deep. That basket sits on a hill.
- A cement tee pad at every hole now
- Tee sign at every hole with distance, par and O.B. marked on them.
- There are some orange arrows with black # on a few trees by some of the baskets to show you to the next hole. - Bathrooms
Cons:
- Long distance in between holes 12 to 13, and also holes 16 to 17
- Wooded holes are muddy when wet
- Alot of people walking around the course a times.
Other Thoughts: You start out with 5 holes in the woods and then come out to more open holes. The park is kept very nice and clean and it's always free to play. In the the summer they have 2 snack shops. which is nice for relaxing in between games. In the Fall they take down 4 baskets for christmas lights display. The course is still new. I expect more improvements this summer.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun.

2-4    5/19/2012   9/7/2009
Review By: HuntingtonHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land available. Some holes wooded and some open. Nice mix of open distance shots along with short object riddled shots. There was a snack bar between 16 and 18 where you could get a drink and food before playing another round. Practice basket. Grass has always been maintained when I have played.
Cons: Seemed to be alot of people wandering through the fairways, but that is to be expected in a really well used park. Some of the wooded holes have thick undergrowth/poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: First time playing this course in two years. It has came a long way. There was a tournament getting ready to start the day I played, and the club had discs for sale and everyone seemed really friendly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/2/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of woods,hills.Holes in the woods getting worked on. Baskets are made by Allen pier,believe. Time not wasted if only course playing,get a few rounds in.
Cons: Played with local on 8/2. Not all tee signs or concrete pads installed.long walk between, I believe 16 to 17 and 17 to 18.
Other Thoughts: After talking to Allen,a park employee that put this course in,by the end of Aug. They should have all the tee pads and tee signs in.hole 1 and 2 may have use issues if a tennis tourney is happening

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.