Marion, IN 
Matter Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee (B Position)

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Decent Course, Needs Work

5+    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: Imajedichken
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: - Good baskets and tees
- Decent mix of distance and technical shots
- Bathrooms (when open)
- Signs mostly helpful
Cons: - Poorly maintained (mowing, trimming brush, etc)
- Alternate pin placements (more below)
- Long walk between 17 and 18
- Finding beginning of course not easy for first time players
Other Thoughts: This has been my home course since it was first constructed. I usually played a couple times a week in the summers until I moved to Indy this year. That being said, this course has definitely improved since it was built. There are good baskets and tees on every hole. Some holes are very good and some are just okay. The woods holes need a good amount of work to be on par with other courses in the area. There are places where there is no fairway. The original pin placements are pretty good but the alternates seem to have been a poorly thought out and poorly constructed afterthought. Here's are my thoughts hole by hole:

Hole 1: Original pin is decent, a little too easy for intermediate/advanced players with a good RHBH drive. Alternate is back in the woods and has a few poorly cleared paths to the basket making it more difficult than needed.

Hole 2: New hole since 17 had to be taken out due to new construction by the park. Original pin is a short dogleg left but the clearing of the woods to make the hole was poorly done. Alternate is a little more challenging but not great.

Hole 3: Previously this was hole 2 but everything was moved back one due to the new hole 2. Good forehand hole. Tree in the fairway makes you choose a path. Alternate is nothing special, just moved maybe 40-50' further back.

Hole 4: Brush is almost never trimmed which makes for a very narrow fairway in summer. Hole is on an incline and makes approaches and drives difficult as to not overshoot the basket and going down the hill.

Hole 5: Nice short hole on the original pin, good fairway with a few trees. Alternate is dogleg right, good for forehand drives. Hole could use some general upkeep maintenance.

Hole 6: Original pin is a short tomahawk or overhand thumber over tall brush or hard curve left. Alternate is a terrible excuse for a disc golf hole because of poor hole construction. Wall of brush and trees between 2 fairway sections with no obvious line(s) to throw through. Alternate would be good if some semblance of fairway was cut through the wall of trees/brush. Hole is also often more wet after rain due to being a low section.

Hole 7: Good hole with short dogleg right on original pin. Alternate is a little longer and dogleg left. Very unforgiving if you stray from the fairway due to thick brush.

Hole 8: First hole out of woods. Original pin is straight ahead and fairly simple. Alternate curves to the right and is a little longer offering more challenge. Tree near the tee needs trimmed as it's starting to grow into throwing path.

Hole 9: Was a decent hole before the 2 large trees were cut down. Now a simple straight hole with nothing but fairway. Without the trees, the alternate does nothing different than the original pin.

Hole 10: Original is a dogleg right with a half circle of trees around the basket. Low tree branches close to tee, good hole. Alternate is a simple straight shot, much longer than the original. Only challenge is distance.

Hole 11: New hole since the old hole 12 was removed for the war memorial. Fairly short hole, slight dogleg left. Not very challenging for RHBH.

Hole 12: Straight ahead hole on a hill with a few trees near the basket and to the sides of fairway. Creek in the middle of the hole but it's usually very shallow. Good hole.

Hole 13:Past the war memorial. Straight hole with some trees in the way. Decent hole. Alternate is further and in between some trees, good alternative.

Hole 14: Short hole with lots of trees making you choose a path to shoot to. Good technical hole but easy to birdie with a decent tee shot. Alternate is across the creek, more challenging especially when picking a line to throw.

Hole 15: Short and straight hole with narrow fairway due to trees. More challenging than it seems. Alternate is further back and dogleg left. Good challenge on the alternate.

Hole 16: Decent fairly short hole. Not terribly hard on original pin. Creek near the tee running parallel to the alternate pin. Alternate is dogleg right in some trees. More challenging and probably better than the original.

Hole 17: Longest hole on the course (formerly this hole was number 16). Lots of scattered trees in the fairway but a great challenge. Alternate is across a small creek and even longer. Very challenging.

Hole 18: Wide fairway with a line of trees on the left. Tee isn't really facing the pin. Straight hole, fairly easy for RHBH. Alternate is a good bit longer and just into the woods. Decent alternative.

In general this is a pretty good course but it needs maintenance and some of the alternates need to be redone. As of the writing of this review (7/4/15) the DGCourseReview hole list hasn't been updated to reflect Holes 12 and 17 been removed and new holes 2 and 11 being added and numbering changed for others.

 Solid Intermediate Course

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - Extremely grippy Spiderweb 3 baskets. There are 2 possible pin placements per hole. When I played 16 of the holes were in the short position. Baskets are painted yellow.

Variety - No two holes here are the same. Each course here is a unique hole for the course. Anything from long open holes to short technical holes.

Tees - Concrete Tee pads (with the exception of hole 17)

Elevation - Holes 2, 10, 11, 12, and 13 have slight elevation changes. 18 has downward elevation if you throw your disc to the left of the fairway. Nothing extreme.

Starts off challenging (2-6 are wooded) then ends with distance holes.

A few water hazards - Shallow creeks cross the fairway on holes 10, 13, 14, 15, and 16. Hole 11 has the Mississinewa River to the right of it. A bad throw on a windy day could ruin your day!

Easy to navigate - Arrows point you towards the next hole.

Very thought out course set in a very large park. Course spans from one side of the park to the other and does not interfere with any activity at the park.

Great course for the area. There is a more simple course in town if needed. Course wouldn't be much of a challenge for an advanced player.
Cons: Lots of Trash!! Trash cans need emptied near the tee pads. Overflowing cans caused much trash around the holes.

Lots of graffiti. All of the bathrooms at this course were closed due to vandalism (the course is safe so don't worry).

One Tee per hole - This course could use an additional tee pad per hole (alternate, longer, or shorter). It would be very beneficial to a disc golfer of any age.

Walk from hole 16 - 17. Make sure to go to the right of the playground. Otherwise you are in for a long walk and may get turned around.
Other Thoughts: I took the long way home from my lakehouse just so that I could play a course in Marion and I was not disappointed. Overall I was very pleased with the course and will definitely go back to play it.

There are a few aceable holes but for the most part 2s and 3s are acceptable for the holes here. I would like to play this course in the long pin placements.

Alternate tees, holes in the long position, less trash, and less graffiti would boost this course to a 4.5. I felt it was better than a 3.5 but not necessarily worthy of a 4. I would recommend this course if in the area if you are a beginner or an intermediate player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Matter Park in Marion on the Mississinewa (MMM)

1    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located on the banks of the Mississinewa River, Matter Park's 18-hole course sprawls throughout a small wooded area as well as a more open area, still with its fair share of mature trees. The scenic river edges the course in a couple of spots, but doesn't really ever come into play, except in the most extreme circumstances.
- #1 starts with the woods to the left of the fairway. The pin, nestled into the woods, is only reachable via a open shot that punches into the woods to finish. From there, the course plays through the woods for several holes. The fairways in the woods are well-defined, with extremely fair punishment off of the fairway. Dual pin positions stretch the holes deeper into trees, in order to protect the pins, or change the look of the hole by moving the basket to the right or left. The different positions don't radically alter the play of the course, but are still a nice feature and help alleviate repetition to a certain degree. #7 returns to the open park style section of the course, with the woods playing hard to the right of the fairway. The rest of the course plays through various parts of Matter Park, wending in and out of benches, pathways, roads, pavilions, playgrounds, fences, etc. The last three holes open it up a bit for bigger arms to gain an advantage after some of the shorter wooded holes at the beginning.
- Decent concrete tees, good signage, a map at the beginning to aid navigation, trash cans, benches, etc.
- Fair use of the little elevation in play. #3's up n over shot in the woods is probably the best on tap here. #13's slightly downhill avoid-the-stream shot also provides small relief to the prevailing flatness.
Cons: - With the exception of the wooded holes, this course basically tangles itself up into the rest of the part activities. With any sort of semi-busy park conditions, at least a few holes could be unplayable. The bench over-looking a scenic creek in the middle of #13's fairway looks especially dicey. On busy park days, expect to play only the wooded holes and a few other holes on the periphery of the park.
- Close to a lot of roads and walkways. #7's basket is basically "backstopped" by the woods on the right and the entrance road directly behind. #17's basket placement also plays extremely closely to two roads.
- It seems as though the course is closed, or partially closed fairly often. The pictures posted have a sign listing a couple of holes closed on certain dates, and when I played the course, the baskets to #'s 7, 8, 9, and 17 were all pulled for the annual Christmas City USA lights festival thingy. Gigantic x-mas decorations rendered those holes unplayable.
Other Thoughts: - Matter Park provides a nice enough oasis from the economically-blasted downtown of Marion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    2/18/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: chrisbek
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Variety on the holes. Some in the open, some in the woods. Long and short holes. Pars are challenging but doable for those playing signs. Cement tee pads are nice. Course is very well maintained.
Cons: Late in the season they take out some of the middle holes (7, 8, 9, maybe 1 or 2 more) and 17 in order to put up Christmas decorations. Can get a little crowded
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Closest course to my college so I go here a lot. One of my personal favorites

 It Matters as a Matter of Fact

5+    6/14/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 132  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Variety! This course offers plenty of it. It has holes in the open, holes with mature growth, and holes in the woods with open fairways and holes in the woods with technical fairways. The course has some elevation changes with uphill tee shots and some slightly downhilll shots. Baskets on side hills also add to the challenge. It has some long holes and some short holes, a little bit for everyone. It has a fair amount of left and right turning holes.
*Concrete tee pads and Allan Pier spider baskets. Tee signs with hole layout and distance.
*Alternate pin locations provide for two course setups
*Trashcans scattered throughout the park
*Restrooms, tennis courts, softball diamond, and a HUGE playground also located at the park.
Cons: *Wooded holes can be very muddy after a heavy rain
*Many holes are closed during the winter months for the park's Christmas lighting display
*Navigation can be a bit tricky for the first timer. There are a few long walks between holes where the tee is out of sight from the previous basket, so without a map, you might have to guess where the next tee is.
*Safety could be a concern. You will have to cross a road a few times to navigate around the course. Also there is a busy walking path that runs through the park. It is not really to close to the fairways but with an errant throw, it could come into play.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite things about this course is the variety. There really is a little something for everyone. Probably the only thing that is missing is dramatic elevation changes and long tecnhical holes. With the recent added alternate pin positions (which I've only played once), it offers a little bit of diversity.

My favorite holes are hole 11 and 16. Both are long (over 400') in their original pin position (unsure of alternate set-ups) and play through mature growth which requires you to shape a nice drive. I've come close to deucing 11, and have driven to within 15' on 16 for the birdie. They are challenging holes, but enjoyable.

I've delayed reviewing this course after it was installed to wait until it was finished (several wrote reviews before it was done giving it a low rating) and am just now getting around to my review. I truely believe this course is a 3.5 disc rating, would be a 4 if it weren't for the long walks and crossing the roads a few times between holes.

This is a really nice park and should keeep the rest of the family entertained if you bring them along. Be sure to check out the massive playground for the kiddo's. I'd definitely recommend stopping by this course if your looking to add to your course count.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/12/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: tmart4jesus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love the variation of the holes.
Great Baskets!
Tee pads are great
Soon to be a second pin placement
Weekly scratch tournaments
Cons: Can get muddy
not many people show up for weekly scratch tournaments
Other Thoughts: Love this course and they seem to make improvements on a regular basis.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    1/15/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through a sprawling park area. There are a couple minor elevation changes, and these are used pretty well to add some uphill and downhill holes for variety. Few of the holes are wide open, there are at least a few trees in play to make you shape some lines on most holes. The handful of holes in the woods offer a really nice change up, with shorter and more technical holes that call for some accurate shots if you want to birdie. There are some risky greens that add some challenges to the short game.

I liked the mix of lengths here. Most of the wooded holes were pretty short, but the park style and open holes offered a nice variety of ace runs, reachable but challenging distances, and longer bombs where you can open up a little. The park is in nice shape, and offers bathrooms, other activities, and a disc golf clubhouse (closed when I played). All holes have nice concrete tees that are pretty new and in good shape. The signs are basic, but do a good job showing the hole distance and layout. The map available here is helpful and accurate.
Cons: There are some navigation issues and some unmarked long walks between holes, you should print a map or pull it up on your phone. I didn't find any available at the course when I went, maybe there are sometimes. There are also some safety issues here, with roads and walking paths in play on several holes.

The design gets a little repetitive. On most holes, there is a righty hyzer line, so it often feels like only the length is different from the previous hole. It's a good design given the land available, it's too bad there wasn't room for more of the nice wooded holes to add some different lines.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park, and the course is not a bad place to stop and get a round in. It gets repetitive at times, but there are some nice holes out here. Beginners will find some longer holes, but otherwise it's a really beginner friendly course. More experienced players will find a few tougher holes, and some nice line shaping challenges in the woods, but the course overall isn't all that challenging.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Thank You

5+    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: t_cyrier
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the flying aces of matter park and allan peir with the peru disc golf club are hosting a doubles tournament on monday september 6th.
bring your own partner
10am players meeting
i would check in about 9-930am
two rounds of 18 {may be extra holes!}
$40 per team entry fee
$5 dollar mulligan per person {optional}
have any questions? contact me at:
Other Thoughts: my name is todd and i am a rep for the flying aces disc golf club at matter park. we finished the concrete tee pads in the woods and all the signs are up. we are still working on getting direction signs made up for it, but there are maps and scorecards at the disc golf shack by the 18th basket available to anyone who needs one. also,.. we have a blind draw doubles on sundays at 1:00 pm and a singles handicap on thursdays at 6:00pm. its only $7.00 per person to play. its only $3.00 your first thursday round to establish the handicap. that also excludes you from the pay out for that day, but you will still be shooting for the ace fund and ctp{Closest To Pin}. how many places get payed out will very on how many people play. its a good time and good way to learn the game and the rules. have any questions you can email me at so come out and sapport your local park and join our club!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenic course in large multi-use park. About a third of the course is short and wooded while the rest plays more in the open with a nice amount of mature trees. There's a great mix of distance on the course. I would say there are two pro par 4's on this course that are over 400 ft long with lots of mature trees in the way. One of these is hole 11 which I would say is the signature hole. The course is mostly flat with elevation coming into play on a few holes. The shot selection here is ok but it does seem to favor righty's.

The course has nice metal signs and good teepads. All the holes except the six in the woods have concrete tees. When I played here on 6-19-10, those tee pads should have already been installed, but unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate earlier in the week. So it sounds like the course will be complete very soon.
Cons: As with most courses, the wooded holes can get muddy after a rain. The rest of the course wasn't bad at all.

This is a large park that seems to get lots of use, so please be patient and watch out for other people in the park. I was there on a Saturday and had to wait a few times but it wasn't too bad.

I would recommend printing the map and taking it with you. There are a few places, particularly in the back 9, where it will come in handy. The numbering of the current map uploaded on 9-8-09 is off by 1. The hole labeled number 2 is actually hole 1 according to the signs on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is only about a year old but it's coming along very nicely. It's a great place for beginners to start out and more advanced players should enjoy the course also.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite finished

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a VERY nice/ large public park
- Good use of terrain on many holes
- Facilities (Bathroom / fountains / trashcans)
- Most of the course has concrete tpads
- Hole that have signs are well done
Cons: -Course isn't quite finished yet
- The holes in the woods from hole 2 aren't marked, natural tpads, very unforgiving, no signs
- Several spots on the back nine are difficult to find the next hole
Hole 12 on can be difficult to find.
- Some places can be crowded with park goers
Other Thoughts: Heard good things about this park prior to coming up, but was a little dissappointed after seeing it. Hole 1 was almost impossible to find without asking people, and that kind of set the tone for the rest of the round. Hole 2 through 6(I believe) have litterally been cut out of the woods and is just not quite finished yet. Little plastic markers are used to mark the tee off, can be hard to find. One was actually crushed up, and on asking where to play from we were told it starts at the "crushed up white plastic". I don't want to come off as harsh though, because it's evident that some people put a TON of time into those hole, and mad props for that. Will be cool to see when they get it finished, as there ARE some interesting holes back there. The undergrowth is really thick and can be frustrating if you happen to grip lock or whatever.
Aside from those holes the park is generally wide open with plenty of interesting shots. There is little risk/ reward though, most are pretty straightforward.
My biggest complaint about the course is on the back nine several of the holes can be extremely difficult to find. We were literally looking at the grass and arguing if it had been trampled or not, I felt like I was on Lost tracking somebody.
For people going to the park for the first time, when you run into the massive playground you have to go all the way around it for the last hole, I think its hole 16/17...
I look forward to checkin this park out again some time in the future, its definitely got some potential!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.