Nekoosa, WI 
Alexander Middle School DGC Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome for a school course

2-4    7/15/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Has some length for a middle school course. First 2 holes and last 2 on mowed school lawn, with middle 5 across the street in a wooded/prairie area. Offers 2 different types of holes. Nice tunnel shot on #6. Nothing amazing but it just ends up playing as a fun round or two. Never seems busy.
Cons: Not too close to anything besides WI Rapids. The bugs can get nasty around #6 as there is a swampy area nearby. Can be confusing the first time thru, just walk south down the road to find hole 3. Disccatchers are my least favorite basket but thats me. Not playable during school hours i'd assume.
Other Thoughts: One of the more fun school courses I've played. Good to work on different shots. Play if nearby, Fun course.

 Thank you Alexander!

1    8/27/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety in distance on these holes helps to force you to throw different shots and at different powers. I always see this as an underused design feature. Too often people get stuck with a certain distance range in their mind and I don't like monotony.

2) #'d Discatchers help with navigation and also are easier to see than other baskets.

3) Teesigns have Hole # Distance, Par, and a general hole layout. All things I like to see as a travelling disc golfer.

4) Some variation in foliage density which is nice. There were a few wide open shots, a few with large mature trees to work around, some with some un-maintained scrub/natural areas. All in all a good amount of variety on this course.

5) Shot shaping is required although you generally can pick your favorite shot to throw on each hole. Rarely are you forced one direction or to a specific shot.

Cons: 1) A few blinds shots . . . not normally too frustrating . . . but when the basket is tucked into an unmowed area it gets irritating because it takes longer to find your discs.

2) Baskets are showing some age with a little rust even on the chains.

3) Course is mostly flat so there is little interest in the elevation change.

4) Long walk on a couple of holes where you cross the street (from 2-3 and from 7-8). Not a big deal, but worth mentioning that the course is disjointed.

5) Grass or natural tees always a negative but I can understand not wanting to put in tee-pads on a school course.

6) No other amenities other than tee signs.
Other Thoughts: All in all not a bad school course. It has nice variety, it challenges you to throw some shots, it is fairly attractive scenery and is just fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Blah

1    6/6/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around the grounds of a middle school, and through an adjacent lot. The design stays off of the athletic fields, so it would usually be playable even if there were sporting events going on. The four holes at the middle school are pretty open, with some minor elevation changes coming into play. The rest of the holes across the street tend to have brush and woods on one side, and open space on the other, with enough rough that if you throw into the woods you'll likely lose a stroke.

There are a couple longer holes here, and a couple fun ace runs, with most of the holes falling in between the extremes. There are a couple holes that call for right turning shots, and one that calls for a left turning shot, the rest are either straight or open enough that you can throw any kind of shot you like. There is excellent signage at the tees and marking the two long walks so there is no issue following the course. The tees are natural, but most are level and in good enough shape to throw from. The baskets are newer and catch well.
Cons: This course seems to have the problem many school courses have. Several of the holes are too long to really be a good design for a school course, but there isn't enough challenge to be all that interesting to players who can throw those distances. I love to see school courses where kids can be exposed to the sport, but ones like this have to be frustrating to younger kids trying the sport for the first time and taking that many shots on a single hole.

The course is pretty open for the most part, so it doesn't teach newer players to use many different lines to get to the holes. The part of the course that has some woods stays on the edge of the trees, so there's always at least one side of the hole that's wide open. That part of the course is pretty scruffy, with lots of tall weeds to hide discs, and no real fairways mowed through them. The long walks between the two sections of the course are necessary, but break up the flow of the round.
Other Thoughts: As I said above, I love the idea of having a course to expose school kids to the sport, but this one just wasn't executed all that well. It's an ok place to take a beginner if they won't be frustrated by the longer holes or searching in the weeds for their disc. More experienced players just won't find much to challenge them or bring them back here. Unless you really want to check a course off your list, this one isn't worth going out of your way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Alexander Middle School

5+    5/22/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: danny.shay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never Busy - Different Hole Experiances - exciting tree placement - Good For beginners and experianced players alike - homey- good naiborhood - both par 3 and 4s
Cons: Grass and dirt tees - no tobacoo or alcohol - very long par 4s - no par 5s - long walk to third tee - heavy in bugs in summer - can conflic with other school activities - hard to play on windy days
Other Thoughts: with all the cons i put its actually one of my favorite courses - worth playing

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.