Rohnert Park, CA 
Crane Creek Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #11
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 skip this course

1    8/12/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes do help add some variety in holes.
Wind picks up to help add varying difficulty among shots.
Cons: Ugly scenery in the course itself except for a couple views of neighboring cities in the far off distance.
Holes are almost all wide open, no shaping required.
Poison oak makes one hole almost impossible to ace and difficult to birdie (requires a right turn [anny] with poison oak lining the right side of the fairway down to the basket).
Weeds cover the "park" fairways.
No obstacles on the back 7 holes.
Tee signs don't say the par for the hole (not so much of a deal) but also don't show the hole layout or the next tee placement.
Tee boxes are dirt and not even close to level. A couple aren't even visible.
6 bucks to park, give me a break..
Other Thoughts: I would recommend skipping this course without hesitation for anyone looking for a fun DG outing. Travel to either novato, Napa, golden gate park or even moraga in orinda. This course has almost nothing in the way of scenery and little challenge shaping shots. Along with the 6 dollar fee to park (and yea, people do come and check permits) and the poison oak, this course should be avoided!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course of Beginners

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Big G
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No need for a variety of shots (though this could be a con as well)
Small chance of getting a big roller
Good for beginners
Cons: $6 parking fee
A "Plain Jane" course
Tee boxes need maintenance
Other Thoughts: You only need your basic straight and flat drive for this course. There are dog legs on only two holes. I have nothing against a course that is good for beginners though. I do have qualms when the scenery is uninteresting though. Any way we can get something other than grass planted out there? As the tee boxes are dirt, most of them dip in the middle and have rocks protruding which make a few of them unsafe. If not for the tee boxes needing maintenance, I would have given a higher rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hot

1    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy to find, the directions here are right on. If your looking for a reference point Sonoma College is close.
Course plays around a hill. Lots of tall weeds and stickers this time of year. HOT HOT HOT. Bring plenty of water. The course itself is pretty basic with the exception of a couple holes. Some holes play on and along the walking path so be sure you are in the clear before tossin your plastic! I did not use the on site restrooms while there so I can not confirm if the are flush or hole in the ground, however based on the lack of running water I would assume the latter. There are a few good holes and the course plays a bit flat then some up hill and downhill. Overall not bad if your in the area looking for something to do.
Cons: $6 to park? Total rip off.
Other Thoughts: Watch for hikers/bikers/horses. And watch where you step do to the horses.

I will play it again next time I am in the area and hope to play it in the cooler months when the weeds may not be to bad.

Watch for poison oak on hole 7 I think it was. (its the first one you come to where the tee pad is on the trail)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Minimal Variance

1    7/24/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very easy-to-follow course, even w/o a map - can see the current basket from current tee, except for #7 (right turn past bushes), and can usually find the next tee by following a worn path away from the basket. A few benches. Nice, long views of neighbouring countryside, including a vineyard.
Cons:
$6 to enter. At times plays along walking trails. Single tee (gravel)/basket. Little variation.
Other Thoughts:
This course plays in a counter-clockwise fashion around a very gently sloping hill. Most shots have minimal elevation change - about four up, two down - and these changes aren't overly dramatic. Except for a moderate right-turn on #7, and a similar left-turn on #8, all holes play pretty much straight on. Baskets and flightpaths, for the most part, are wide open. Holes range in distance from just over 200' to just under 400', with 2/3rds of them being in the 230-300' range, and only a couple over 350'. What this leaves you with is a course very suitable for beginners/intermediates to develop upon, and a birdie fest venue for more advanced players.

A couple of tips: After finishing #7, make a hard left to find tee #8. The constant steady breeze makes discs fly a bit more understable, and makes putting a bit more difficult.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Blah

1    7/19/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The one and only pro that I can think of for this course is it is great for the beginner disc golfer. It is very open and very short and easy to play for that level of player. Scenery is beautiful. Course is in the middle of wine country and vineyards can be seen all around while playing. Great picture opportunities. Tee pads are ground slate/dirt.
Cons: Any level of player above beginner will probably not enjoy this course as it is not challenging enough. Way to open and way to short. $6 dollars to park and play is kind of tough if it was the only course for you to play. Absolutely NO SHADE and NO WATER. Best to play this course in the cooler months as the sun is brutal especially bouncing off of all the dead straw grass.
Other Thoughts: If your driving through wine country and have an itch to play you can scratch it here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.