Rohnert Park, CA 
Crane Creek Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #14
3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Crane Creek

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
Pros: - short / manageable basket locations
- wide open, no obstacles
- easy to locate the next tee pad
- practice basket available
Cons: - small parking area, will cost you $7 to park
- grass is tall and dry
- ticks are everywhere
- bad signage; no distinguish what hole you were throwing from or which basket you were throwing to. Had to run to a few baskets to make sure we were throwing at the right one
- bad tee boxes; need updated or repaired
- blind shots, must have spotter to make sure you are not throwing into other park users
- overcrowded (at least when we were there)
- course map seemed outdated
Other Thoughts: A few other things that I could not place in the pro or con boxes. There were several other groups out on the course when we were there. These other players were a bit discurteous of us while we were playing. There were a few groups that insisted on us letting them pass through and even a few groups that skipped holes to go around us. We had a few rogue discs fly into us with a head up or a "fore". There are a few other courses in the area that I would recommend playing before coming back to this one. I was impressed by the Languanitas Brewery, which we went to after our round of play. They have discs there for purchases with their logo.

 Decent course

5+    4/13/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: Tabascos
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners getting into the sport- Wide open on most holes, short and long pin locations with very little obstructions/obstacles.
Cons: Tee pads are crushed stone, instead of concrete, which seem to work okay if they're freshly hard packed, but most of the time they have ruts and are not smooth/flat from frequent use. The course lacks shade structures, trash bins, benches, and trees/obstacles on the course.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent course, but has potential to be a better course. Great to see the improvement efforts by the United Flyers of Sonoma who pour in a lot of time and energy to make the course bettter everyday. Still a long way to go until it's at the caliber of other surrounding courses. Until then, making the drive to other courses is worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Crane Creek

1    1/26/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful area. Almost every hole birdie-able. Many ace runs. Holes 5-7 play through a moderately wooded area with a small creek running through and are the only somewhat technical holes on the course. Good elevation change on a couple holes. A few basic signs remaining at a few holes. Some holes have multiple pin positions. A couple holes over 325'. Hole 15: long hole (500'+) with the basket on the edge of a hill. Restrooms and trash/recycling cans near parking lot. Nice views and scenery throughout the course.
Cons: $7 pay to park. Natural tees with some gravel. Some tees had standing water on them when I played. Almost all holes are wide open shorter holes. Most of the signs are missing. No trash cans or benches on course, except for one bench at hole 16 (best place for it actually, if you're only going to have 1). Most holes play flat despite the terrain. The layout is very weak for the available land. Only 3 or 4 holes require any sort of technical shot. Overall not very challenging. Very sloppy and muddy when I played.
Other Thoughts: This course could be great with a new layout and maybe some added trees or bushes at least. The available land is great terrain for disc golf, but the course layout is sad. When I arrived and looked around I was expecting much more. Holes 5-7 were cool, but even those could have been done much better. The $7 fee to park is a little steep, especially considering that this course is not very good. The rangers come by frequently to check cars. I saw one guy getting a ticket for not paying. Not sure how much; I didn't stick around to ask. Very muddy right now so bring extra towels and maybe even extra socks and a plastic bag to put your shoes in. I will not be back until they change the layout.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

1    11/22/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets
Pretty area
Clean course and park.
Some elevation change makes distances tough to gauge.
Would be easy to get a quick round in here if it wasn't busy.
There were a couple of neat holes that provided a challenge.
The hills provided some roll away potential adding challenge.
The course is one of the only in the area.
Cons: Tees were in bad shape.
$7 parking fee seemed a little much.
wide open course offered little in the way of challenge.
Signage in bad shape or completely gone.
Holes are really stacked up on each other in this small park.
Other Thoughts: It is a course, and one of the only courses in the area so that is a bonus. The $7 fee didn't seem to deter anyone from playing and it was busy when we were there. I would play it again, but I would not go out of my way to play this course. It is wide open with very few obstacles and little challenges.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yawn...

1    5/13/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 9.1 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Easy quick round
- Good for beginers as most holes are straight ahead and wide open
- Easy to find your way from one hole to the next
- Some elevation change around the course
- Nice views of vinyards and surounding hills
- Potential there for a much beter course
- Alternate teepad I found for hole 5 makes it a huge downhill with a hyzer finish, and beautiful views of the surounding areas
- Wind helps add difficulty
Cons: - Not very exciting, most holes are just straight ahead and wide open, good for beginers, but not for any one who has been playing for a long time.
- No need for signs to have a map as all baskets but 2 are visable from the tee
- No shade on most of the course
- 6$ pay to play is alot for a course with as little to offer as this one
- Pit bathrooms
- No water
- Dirt and gravel tee boxes
- Areas off of the fairways are not mowed well, and can cause you to loose a disc
- Holes feel very repetitive
- Walking paths cross fairways and are potential spots where people could get hit with discs
Other Thoughts: Crane creek is a decent little course in the hills above Rohnert Park, in wine country. There are good views of the winerys and hills surounding the course. The course seems to have been designed with beginers in mind and if that is the case they have done thier job well. Most of the holes are wide open and straight ahead, with a little elevation change and wind helping to add difficulty to this otherwise easy course. The park is used by other users than just disc golfers, so thier walking paths become potentialy dangerous places in which people or thier animals could get hit with a disc.

While playing through I hapened to walk up the wrong trail looking for the teepad for hole 5. What I found was an alternate teepad that makes this hole the signature hole for the course, a big downhill that doglegs off to the left, with great views of the hills around the course. The basket was not visable from up on this tee, but I was able to watch the guys that were in front of me put out and get a general idea of where it was. This tee is also not marked by anything but a square of cleared out grass. If you want to play this alternate tee walk up the path that goes up the hill, instead of walking down to 5's regular teepad, after you finish hole 4.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Okay Beginner Course With Potentail For Much More!

1    8/19/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 657  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crane Creek is a county park nestled in the Sonoma Mountains with some panoramic vistas of the surrounding vineyards. It was quite lovely on a late August evening. The terrain is rolling hills with scattered trees which would make for an really excellent disc golf course except for the present layout is fairly unimaginative. I'm sorry but it's just pretty straight forward. Take hole # 3 for example; Currently, you finish # 2 and walk over to the # 3 tee pad and throw 200 ft. to a basic beginner type straight forward boring hole. BUT...this could be one of the signature holes on this course..if you would just walk about 25 steps up the hill and place the # 3 teepad here...then # 3 would be a great little 250' downhill ACE run! Same thing with # 5. As it stands now, you're teeing off the road which is never good. But when you get to the # 5 basket and look back, you'll see various places on the hillside where the # 5 teepad could have been built to have created a masterpiece. With a minimum of work, the teepads could be worked into shape. Right now, they're rough. This would be a great place to bring in some concrete building blocks for the pads. I could see this place being hot and dry, bring water!
Cons: The $6 parking seems steep for what you're getting. The pads need work. The design is boring and could be worked on. The distance on the signs seemed to consistently about 100 feet short. If the locals believe these signs, then they probably think they're supermen, throwing their putters 300 feet. The winds are tricky adding to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: There is so much potential here. The lovely rolling hills with the views. The wildlife. With a minimal amount of work or design, this could easily be a 3 or 3.5 course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.