Rohnert Park, CA 
Crane Creek Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #6
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A good place to get right

5+    1/28/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: Dangerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open fairways, short grass, hard to lose a disc.
Holes 5,6,7 fun and have anhyzer (RHBH) basket placement
Never had a bad time.
Wide skill level of golfers here. (I think that is a good thing) including some SSU golf members.
Most if not all holes parable. (Almost can shoot par on this course, before the summer for sure)!!

Cons: Lacks a little variation. 11-18 don't vary that much in distance or terrain. (If you are locked in, you can throw the same shot and disc over the last several holes.)
Toilet is a covered outhouse.
Lots of walkers (always courteous though) on course.

Other Thoughts: A good place to work on your game. Wide open fairways, straight approaches to baskets. I wish there was a bit more variation with distance. Most seem to be around 280-320ft.
Nice group of golfers play here.
Go to Penngrove (10 min) and get a sausage and beer afterwards to cap off your day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Crane Creek Improved!

5+    5/7/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: lanningmorgen
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The local club has been POURING effort into this course. New teepads and pin placements. If you haven't played this course in 2013, you will be surprised with the many improvements and change in difficulty level. No longer is this course a birdie extravaganza. Good players may be happy to get a bogey on a few holes.
Cons: Same, same.
Other Thoughts: Come check out the new changes!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    11/22/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: Anhyzer Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great course for beginners to learn on
-Good short game practice for more advanced players
-On every hole with the exception of hole 7, the basket is visible from the teepad (great for beginners but not much challenge for more advanced players)
-Good mix of open field play and some slightly technical tree lined areas for an enjoyable disc golf experience.
-Very easy to navigate and walk the course.
Cons: -Gravel tee pads are ok in the dry months but in winter they tend to puddle up and make throwing long drives a bit more difficult.
-It would be nice if there were some steeper elevation changes downhill for some longer drive opportunities.
-I would like to see at least a few longer holes (some par 5's would be nice, to mix things up)
-Poison oak is an issue on holes 5-9 if your disc goes off course into the trees.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing disc golf for a couple months and I mainly play at Crane Creek since it is so close to where I live. It's a great place to bring family and friends and introduce them to this great game. The only other course I have played is Stafford Lake which is absolutely amazing and much more technical. I know I haven't been playing this game that long but I really can't understand all the negative reviews of this course. Overall Crane Creek is a great place to learn the game and to really brush up on your short game. Set in rolling hills adjacent to vineyards it's a great course to enjoy with minimal hiking for a nice leisurely outing and the views to the west are amazing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    5/3/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: onemilemore
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation to make shorter holes more challenging, particularly on holes 8 and 9.
- Gravel tee pads give a defined starting point to each hole.
- A variety of drivers needed, as some holes are straight pokes (1-3), benders (4-6), uphill shots (8, 9, 11, 17) or massive, open downhill bombs (10, 18).
- Well-maintained park with signage to tell golfers where spotters are needed and to respect private property.
- Recently weed-whacked by local volunteers, so most baskets are surrounded by cut-out "greens."
- Gorgeous views of Rohnert Park and Santa Rosa.
- A bit of hiking involved, which doubles your workout.
- Wind provides a needed challenge on some of the more open holes.
Cons: - Very tall grass on most of the back 9 (aside from narrow fairways and nice greens). Spot your drive carefully, and throw brightly-colored plastic.
- Brought home a friend (aka tick). Long pants recommended.
- Some tee pads need maintenance for better footing.
- Pay to Play: $6. (I have a good solution for locals in the "Other Thoughts" section.)
- While the wind can make some holes fun, it makes others absolutely brutal.
- No maps available, so find a local to give you the lay of the land.
- Bathrooms only at the entrance, so use it early. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: Full Disclosure: I'm a beginner, so maybe that is why my assessment of Crane Creek does not match other reviews. That being said, I thought this was a fantastic course! The scenery is breathtaking, and the course offers some nice challenges. Having played it 4 times in 4 days. I didn't get tired of it. High replay factor = good review from me.

As for the Pay to Play issue, if you are a local, you can buy a parks pass for $70 annually at http://www.sonoma-county.org/...mbership.htm.My dad lives near the course and has gone enough in 2 months to pay it off for the year, so it is definitely worth it. And, if you are just visiting, what's $6 to keep the park in good shape and please the disc golf gods?

Finally, if you are staying in the area, head up to Play it Again Sports at 2375 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa for a MASSIVE (if a bit overpriced) selection of Innova, Discraft, and Discmania discs. The Sports Authority just north on Santa Rosa Ave. had a pretty impressive selection of Innova discs, as well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.