Rohnert Park, CA 
Crane Creek Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #8
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fantastic Face Lift

5+    9/18/2016   9/18/2016
Review By: Skirby000
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great New T-Pads
-Great new markers at the pads
-Multiple pin locations
-A combination of wide open elevation changes with a few holes along a wooded path next to the creek.
-Bathrooms
-Fantastic views of the foothills and mountains in the surrounding area.
-Great course to bring new friends and grow the game
Cons: -No water
-Pay to Park for non pass holders
Other Thoughts: I hadn't play'd this course in a few years because the last two times I played I rolled my ankle on the rough T-Pads and stopped coming because the second time was pretty serious.
I heard a rumor that the course got some funding for new pads and I was pleasantly surprised. The New pads are rubber and very well done. and the new markers at each pad are beautiful. There are also now multiple pin placements that take advantage of the surrounding landscape very nicely. I went at 8am this Sunday and I had the course to my self. I finally saw another group of golfers while I was finishing on 18.
They also relocated tee's 5 and 7 to the side of the path instead of right on it. 5 even has its own walking path down to it and is the nicest tee on the course. I posted a picture of it.
You still need to bring water and there is no street parking so if you do not have a county park pass you need to pay to park.
There are also a lot of adolescent trees and shrubs that have been planted around the course that as they grow will completely change the look of the course and present new challenges.
Previously I would have told an out of towner they weren't missing much if they passed on Crane Creek but now I would recommend it as a must hit for Sonoma County.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Basic Course

5+    1/10/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: irecycle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Clearly marked and well maintained
Great course for folks entering the sport
Plenty of wide open holes for working on shots
Some technical shots
Cons: Tall grass in spring, early summer
No water in park. Bring your own.
Can be hot in summer with little shade, especially on back 9.
OB shots on west side of back 9 are not retrievable.
Tee boxes need updating. I understand that is on the radar of the UFO's.
Other Thoughts: Support the Regional Parks and buy an annual Parks Pass! (Good at Taylor Mtn Course as well!)

 A good place to get right

5+    1/28/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: Dangerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open fairways, short grass, hard to lose a disc.
Holes 5,6,7 fun and have anhyzer (RHBH) basket placement
Never had a bad time.
Wide skill level of golfers here. (I think that is a good thing) including some SSU golf members.
Most if not all holes parable. (Almost can shoot par on this course, before the summer for sure)!!

Cons: Lacks a little variation. 11-18 don't vary that much in distance or terrain. (If you are locked in, you can throw the same shot and disc over the last several holes.)
Toilet is a covered outhouse.
Lots of walkers (always courteous though) on course.

Other Thoughts: A good place to work on your game. Wide open fairways, straight approaches to baskets. I wish there was a bit more variation with distance. Most seem to be around 280-320ft.
Nice group of golfers play here.
Go to Penngrove (10 min) and get a sausage and beer afterwards to cap off your day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crane Creek Improved!

5+    5/7/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: lanningmorgen
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The local club has been POURING effort into this course. New teepads and pin placements. If you haven't played this course in 2013, you will be surprised with the many improvements and change in difficulty level. No longer is this course a birdie extravaganza. Good players may be happy to get a bogey on a few holes.
Cons: Same, same.
Other Thoughts: Come check out the new changes!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    11/22/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: Anhyzer Bush
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great course for beginners to learn on
-Good short game practice for more advanced players
-On every hole with the exception of hole 7, the basket is visible from the teepad (great for beginners but not much challenge for more advanced players)
-Good mix of open field play and some slightly technical tree lined areas for an enjoyable disc golf experience.
-Very easy to navigate and walk the course.
Cons: -Gravel tee pads are ok in the dry months but in winter they tend to puddle up and make throwing long drives a bit more difficult.
-It would be nice if there were some steeper elevation changes downhill for some longer drive opportunities.
-I would like to see at least a few longer holes (some par 5's would be nice, to mix things up)
-Poison oak is an issue on holes 5-9 if your disc goes off course into the trees.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing disc golf for a couple months and I mainly play at Crane Creek since it is so close to where I live. It's a great place to bring family and friends and introduce them to this great game. The only other course I have played is Stafford Lake which is absolutely amazing and much more technical. I know I haven't been playing this game that long but I really can't understand all the negative reviews of this course. Overall Crane Creek is a great place to learn the game and to really brush up on your short game. Set in rolling hills adjacent to vineyards it's a great course to enjoy with minimal hiking for a nice leisurely outing and the views to the west are amazing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    5/3/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: onemilemore
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation to make shorter holes more challenging, particularly on holes 8 and 9.
- Gravel tee pads give a defined starting point to each hole.
- A variety of drivers needed, as some holes are straight pokes (1-3), benders (4-6), uphill shots (8, 9, 11, 17) or massive, open downhill bombs (10, 18).
- Well-maintained park with signage to tell golfers where spotters are needed and to respect private property.
- Recently weed-whacked by local volunteers, so most baskets are surrounded by cut-out "greens."
- Gorgeous views of Rohnert Park and Santa Rosa.
- A bit of hiking involved, which doubles your workout.
- Wind provides a needed challenge on some of the more open holes.
Cons: - Very tall grass on most of the back 9 (aside from narrow fairways and nice greens). Spot your drive carefully, and throw brightly-colored plastic.
- Brought home a friend (aka tick). Long pants recommended.
- Some tee pads need maintenance for better footing.
- Pay to Play: $6. (I have a good solution for locals in the "Other Thoughts" section.)
- While the wind can make some holes fun, it makes others absolutely brutal.
- No maps available, so find a local to give you the lay of the land.
- Bathrooms only at the entrance, so use it early. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: Full Disclosure: I'm a beginner, so maybe that is why my assessment of Crane Creek does not match other reviews. That being said, I thought this was a fantastic course! The scenery is breathtaking, and the course offers some nice challenges. Having played it 4 times in 4 days. I didn't get tired of it. High replay factor = good review from me.

As for the Pay to Play issue, if you are a local, you can buy a parks pass for $70 annually at http://www.sonoma-county.org/...mbership.htm.My dad lives near the course and has gone enough in 2 months to pay it off for the year, so it is definitely worth it. And, if you are just visiting, what's $6 to keep the park in good shape and please the disc golf gods?

Finally, if you are staying in the area, head up to Play it Again Sports at 2375 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa for a MASSIVE (if a bit overpriced) selection of Innova, Discraft, and Discmania discs. The Sports Authority just north on Santa Rosa Ave. had a pretty impressive selection of Innova discs, as well.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.