Rohnert Park, CA 
Crane Creek Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #17
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 skip this course

1    8/12/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes do help add some variety in holes.
Wind picks up to help add varying difficulty among shots.
Cons: Ugly scenery in the course itself except for a couple views of neighboring cities in the far off distance.
Holes are almost all wide open, no shaping required.
Poison oak makes one hole almost impossible to ace and difficult to birdie (requires a right turn [anny] with poison oak lining the right side of the fairway down to the basket).
Weeds cover the "park" fairways.
No obstacles on the back 7 holes.
Tee signs don't say the par for the hole (not so much of a deal) but also don't show the hole layout or the next tee placement.
Tee boxes are dirt and not even close to level. A couple aren't even visible.
6 bucks to park, give me a break..
Other Thoughts: I would recommend skipping this course without hesitation for anyone looking for a fun DG outing. Travel to either novato, Napa, golden gate park or even moraga in orinda. This course has almost nothing in the way of scenery and little challenge shaping shots. Along with the 6 dollar fee to park (and yea, people do come and check permits) and the poison oak, this course should be avoided!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    5/3/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: onemilemore
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation to make shorter holes more challenging, particularly on holes 8 and 9.
- Gravel tee pads give a defined starting point to each hole.
- A variety of drivers needed, as some holes are straight pokes (1-3), benders (4-6), uphill shots (8, 9, 11, 17) or massive, open downhill bombs (10, 18).
- Well-maintained park with signage to tell golfers where spotters are needed and to respect private property.
- Recently weed-whacked by local volunteers, so most baskets are surrounded by cut-out "greens."
- Gorgeous views of Rohnert Park and Santa Rosa.
- A bit of hiking involved, which doubles your workout.
- Wind provides a needed challenge on some of the more open holes.
Cons: - Very tall grass on most of the back 9 (aside from narrow fairways and nice greens). Spot your drive carefully, and throw brightly-colored plastic.
- Brought home a friend (aka tick). Long pants recommended.
- Some tee pads need maintenance for better footing.
- Pay to Play: $6. (I have a good solution for locals in the "Other Thoughts" section.)
- While the wind can make some holes fun, it makes others absolutely brutal.
- No maps available, so find a local to give you the lay of the land.
- Bathrooms only at the entrance, so use it early. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: Full Disclosure: I'm a beginner, so maybe that is why my assessment of Crane Creek does not match other reviews. That being said, I thought this was a fantastic course! The scenery is breathtaking, and the course offers some nice challenges. Having played it 4 times in 4 days. I didn't get tired of it. High replay factor = good review from me.

As for the Pay to Play issue, if you are a local, you can buy a parks pass for $70 annually at http://www.sonoma-county.org/...mbership.htm.My dad lives near the course and has gone enough in 2 months to pay it off for the year, so it is definitely worth it. And, if you are just visiting, what's $6 to keep the park in good shape and please the disc golf gods?

Finally, if you are staying in the area, head up to Play it Again Sports at 2375 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa for a MASSIVE (if a bit overpriced) selection of Innova, Discraft, and Discmania discs. The Sports Authority just north on Santa Rosa Ave. had a pretty impressive selection of Innova discs, as well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Yawn...

1    5/13/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Easy quick round
- Good for beginers as most holes are straight ahead and wide open
- Easy to find your way from one hole to the next
- Some elevation change around the course
- Nice views of vinyards and surounding hills
- Potential there for a much beter course
- Alternate teepad I found for hole 5 makes it a huge downhill with a hyzer finish, and beautiful views of the surounding areas
- Wind helps add difficulty
Cons: - Not very exciting, most holes are just straight ahead and wide open, good for beginers, but not for any one who has been playing for a long time.
- No need for signs to have a map as all baskets but 2 are visable from the tee
- No shade on most of the course
- 6$ pay to play is alot for a course with as little to offer as this one
- Pit bathrooms
- No water
- Dirt and gravel tee boxes
- Areas off of the fairways are not mowed well, and can cause you to loose a disc
- Holes feel very repetitive
- Walking paths cross fairways and are potential spots where people could get hit with discs
Other Thoughts: Crane creek is a decent little course in the hills above Rohnert Park, in wine country. There are good views of the winerys and hills surounding the course. The course seems to have been designed with beginers in mind and if that is the case they have done thier job well. Most of the holes are wide open and straight ahead, with a little elevation change and wind helping to add difficulty to this otherwise easy course. The park is used by other users than just disc golfers, so thier walking paths become potentialy dangerous places in which people or thier animals could get hit with a disc.

While playing through I hapened to walk up the wrong trail looking for the teepad for hole 5. What I found was an alternate teepad that makes this hole the signature hole for the course, a big downhill that doglegs off to the left, with great views of the hills around the course. The basket was not visable from up on this tee, but I was able to watch the guys that were in front of me put out and get a general idea of where it was. This tee is also not marked by anything but a square of cleared out grass. If you want to play this alternate tee walk up the path that goes up the hill, instead of walking down to 5's regular teepad, after you finish hole 4.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Okay Beginner Course With Potentail For Much More!

1    8/19/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crane Creek is a county park nestled in the Sonoma Mountains with some panoramic vistas of the surrounding vineyards. It was quite lovely on a late August evening. The terrain is rolling hills with scattered trees which would make for an really excellent disc golf course except for the present layout is fairly unimaginative. I'm sorry but it's just pretty straight forward. Take hole # 3 for example; Currently, you finish # 2 and walk over to the # 3 tee pad and throw 200 ft. to a basic beginner type straight forward boring hole. BUT...this could be one of the signature holes on this course..if you would just walk about 25 steps up the hill and place the # 3 teepad here...then # 3 would be a great little 250' downhill ACE run! Same thing with # 5. As it stands now, you're teeing off the road which is never good. But when you get to the # 5 basket and look back, you'll see various places on the hillside where the # 5 teepad could have been built to have created a masterpiece. With a minimum of work, the teepads could be worked into shape. Right now, they're rough. This would be a great place to bring in some concrete building blocks for the pads. I could see this place being hot and dry, bring water!
Cons: The $6 parking seems steep for what you're getting. The pads need work. The design is boring and could be worked on. The distance on the signs seemed to consistently about 100 feet short. If the locals believe these signs, then they probably think they're supermen, throwing their putters 300 feet. The winds are tricky adding to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: There is so much potential here. The lovely rolling hills with the views. The wildlife. With a minimal amount of work or design, this could easily be a 3 or 3.5 course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course of Beginners

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Big G
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No need for a variety of shots (though this could be a con as well)
Small chance of getting a big roller
Good for beginners
Cons: $6 parking fee
A "Plain Jane" course
Tee boxes need maintenance
Other Thoughts: You only need your basic straight and flat drive for this course. There are dog legs on only two holes. I have nothing against a course that is good for beginners though. I do have qualms when the scenery is uninteresting though. Any way we can get something other than grass planted out there? As the tee boxes are dirt, most of them dip in the middle and have rocks protruding which make a few of them unsafe. If not for the tee boxes needing maintenance, I would have given a higher rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hot

1    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy to find, the directions here are right on. If your looking for a reference point Sonoma College is close.
Course plays around a hill. Lots of tall weeds and stickers this time of year. HOT HOT HOT. Bring plenty of water. The course itself is pretty basic with the exception of a couple holes. Some holes play on and along the walking path so be sure you are in the clear before tossin your plastic! I did not use the on site restrooms while there so I can not confirm if the are flush or hole in the ground, however based on the lack of running water I would assume the latter. There are a few good holes and the course plays a bit flat then some up hill and downhill. Overall not bad if your in the area looking for something to do.
Cons: $6 to park? Total rip off.
Other Thoughts: Watch for hikers/bikers/horses. And watch where you step do to the horses.

I will play it again next time I am in the area and hope to play it in the cooler months when the weeds may not be to bad.

Watch for poison oak on hole 7 I think it was. (its the first one you come to where the tee pad is on the trail)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More Creeky Please

1    2/19/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nearly impossible to lose a disk
Pretty easy to navigate although there are a couple hole-transitions where you might go the wrong way (I think between 5 and 6 is one).
Good place to work on shots
Nice views on the backside of the course
Cons:
$6 is flat ridiculous to park here. There aren't enough amenities to justify such a cost. Limit the number park rangers and lower the parking fees. Two is too many for such a small park.
Can get crowded both in the parking lot and on the course
Muddy just about everywhere including tee boxes
People, trails, O/B fences with fun barbed wire are in play on a couple holes.
While there were hole in the ground restrooms, we didn't see any water fountains or wash basins.
Other Thoughts:
Tips
The address of 5000 Pressley led me past the course about a mile on my GPS. Be on the lookout.

Random Thoughts:
There's really not much to say about this course, because for most of the holes you're really throwing back and forth across a wide open, gently rolling hillside. There are a few holes (6, 7, and 8 I believe) that are quite interesting as they run through the creek area and the shots are more technical in shape and also demand you pay attention to the landing area. It is too bad there aren't more holes like these. There is also one hole (10) that serves as this course's "Top of the World" shot with a nice view and fun throw. Beyond that I can't think of anything else remarkable about the course.

Bottom Line: This is a straight beginner course that I can't say I would recommend driving out of your way for, particularly considering the parking fee. While I really liked the creek holes, the rest of the holes are basically the same. I'd advise scooting on down the road to Stafford Lake.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

5+    2/9/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: DCdiskgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well this is my home course, love the lay out, easy course to map out from tee to pin. Great for all levels of experience. holes 5, 7,and 10 are my favorite holes on this course. Open area, tees are straight on.
Cons:
There are a few tees that are really muddy and sloshy in the winter rainy season. So bring your waterproof shoes/boots. Other than that it's a great course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Mid-Level Course

5+    8/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: califdiscgolfer
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Course wraps around the one of the highest points in the park, creating sweeping views of the valley below and backdrop of Sonoma Mtn. and vineyards.
*Different elevation changes make it a great course for the intermediate player.
*Seasonal creek adds element to hole 5 and possible hole 3, during the Winter months.
*Breezes from the advancing marine layer (fog) creates additional challenges on many of the open holes.
*Easy to follow layout with Hole 9 being a short hike back to parking lot, while Hole 18 ends at parking lot.
*Round times can play fairly short, so a round can play fairly fast.
*OB fence line comes into play on holes 8, 12, 14 & 15.
Cons: *90% of holes are open.
*Possible equestrian and hiker issues.
*Very dry in summer so very high fire danger.
*Ticks can be a problem, be sure to check when finished with round, especially in Spring when grass is green and tall.
Other Thoughts: This course took 9 years to get put back in. It was first installed around 1982, but was pulled because of environmental concerns when the park's general plan was not followed. The new course now follows the original plan and thus the reason why other areas of park aren't used.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Minimal Variance

1    7/24/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very easy-to-follow course, even w/o a map - can see the current basket from current tee, except for #7 (right turn past bushes), and can usually find the next tee by following a worn path away from the basket. A few benches. Nice, long views of neighbouring countryside, including a vineyard.
Cons:
$6 to enter. At times plays along walking trails. Single tee (gravel)/basket. Little variation.
Other Thoughts:
This course plays in a counter-clockwise fashion around a very gently sloping hill. Most shots have minimal elevation change - about four up, two down - and these changes aren't overly dramatic. Except for a moderate right-turn on #7, and a similar left-turn on #8, all holes play pretty much straight on. Baskets and flightpaths, for the most part, are wide open. Holes range in distance from just over 200' to just under 400', with 2/3rds of them being in the 230-300' range, and only a couple over 350'. What this leaves you with is a course very suitable for beginners/intermediates to develop upon, and a birdie fest venue for more advanced players.

A couple of tips: After finishing #7, make a hard left to find tee #8. The constant steady breeze makes discs fly a bit more understable, and makes putting a bit more difficult.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.