Carrboro, NC 
Anderson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: southgrooves Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
I think the hole is over here.... maybe

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Fox-17
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very technical course.
- Narrow fairways.
- Lots of elevation change.
- Varied length of holes.
- Pins in good Shape
Cons: ** NOT BEGINNER FRIENDLY**
**Poison Ivy and Poison Oak run rampant (even on fairways) makes it difficult to find a place to put your bag.**
- No such thing as a clear shot on some holes
- Some Pins are not remotely visible from tee, #4 is a perfect example of this. Another issues was found on #9. From the Tee, the Pin appears to be straight ahead, however the Pin in view is actually for #11, the Pin for #9 also isn't visible from Tee, it is far to the left out of view.
- Requires Map or previous walk-thru to know where you are going, otherwise it's trial and error.
- Tees poorly marked and hard to see due to color (AstroTurf), also can be slick. (related to previous con)
Other Thoughts: Poison Ivy and Poison Oak abound on this course. I will probably not return to this course until next winter, or perhaps late fall when the this is no longer an issue.

Also, with such little area to call a fairway the course is quite frustrating for the beginner - intermediate player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun technical course.

1    2/9/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets, decent tee pads. Really makes you use your technical game. No huge open bombers, but the course is just long enough where you can pull out a driver ever now and then.
Cons: Astro turf pads can be a bit slick. A bit of monotony with the repetitive woods shots. Not bad use of the land though.
Other Thoughts: Many people have reviewed this course saying the fairways are too narrow and are unfair. We disagreed with that. There are definitely some tight shots, but nothing egregious. A fun technical round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Pinball

1    8/12/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good course to work on your technical game
-Very little traffic
Cons: -Some lanes are hard to see
-Most baskets are impossible to see from the tee
-No opportunities to test your arm
-Little variation
Other Thoughts: Disc Golf Pinball- if you like a challenge, this may be the course for you. When I saw the first hole, I was intrigued, and when I saw the second, even more so. Unfortunately this quickly wore off. Anderson Park is a wooded course, and that's about all. There's no place here to bust out your max distance driver-miss a fairway, and you'll pay dearly. The course is full of very tight windows and narrow fairways that will test even very good players. Unfortunately, it has more than its share of holes where you throw and pray that wherever your disc hits, it will either bounce back into the fairway or not into the brush.

Personally, I'm not a fan of wooded courses like this, but objectively, I still see a number of problems that keeps this course from getting a higher recommendation. First and foremost are holes with no obvious fairway. Hole 7 is an excellent example of this flaw. Holes like this infuriate me, but even worse are holes where there is a clear lane, but they haven't yet designed discs that fly in the manner the fairway suggests. Holes 10 and 15 fall into this category. Problem holes like this make a course seem unfair. And then you have holes like 13, which seem fairly straightforward, if not somewhat difficult, but poor course maintenance ruins the hole.

Another disappointing thing for me was the tee signs. Frankly, I had a hard time believing the distances on the signs were correct, but their real downfall was that the hole number and distance were the only things on the sign. On many holes I had to walk over halfway to the basket before I could make an attempt at throwing a disc because I couldn't see the basket from the tee. As I said, miss the fairway and you pay- the woods around the fairways are dense. After we lost a disc on 14, the solo player behind us started throwing on us because he didn't know we were there. Not having proper signage is a definite problem, then, especially when you consider you can see the basket for hole 11 straight ahead off the 8th tee, and you definitely can't see the basket for 8 from there.

The last thing that brings this course down is the little decisions that just leave you dumbfounded and have you scratching your head. If you didn't know where the tee for 13 was when you left 12, you'd never find it. And the impossible curve of 15 is even more confusing when you realize you are throwing 15 feet to the right of the tee for 16, and that a net has been erected behind 16's tee to keep discs from hitting anyone on that tee. Those two holes are both losers to me. The Astroturf tees seem neat, but I'm told they are terribly slippery when your feet are wet, and I constantly felt like every time I went to throw off of one I was standing on the edge of the tee, where the turf did not feel level.

If this type of course is your thing and you don't mind high scores, spider webs, and mosquitoes, than more power to you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprising Challenge

2-4    5/29/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was surprisingly challenging. The fairways are very tight and the course has some angles that aren't seen too often.

On face value, the course seems much like so many wooded courses in the area. But this one might just test you more. It's tighter than Valley Springs. The holes are generally longer than those at Bethesda or Southern. It is worth at least one round.

Additionally, it boasts the best teepads that I've seen. I'm not usually one who cares too much about tee pads. Don't mind dirt if there is a quality sign but I love the turf here.
Cons: Unfortunately, much of the challenge stems from two factors. First, many of the angles are cut sharper than a disc is supposed to go. Many of the holes cut to the left or right so early that there is no chance go right to the basket from soem short holes.

The bigger issue is the plinko nature of many of the fairways. The fairway may not be actually tight. It will just have trees scattered across the middle of it. There are many holes that really don't offer realistic paths to the pin.

And while the first twelve flows pretty well, it is impossible to find thirteen without a map. I can't even recommend a next tee arrow, you would need about a half dozen to direct people there. Just bring the map or memorize that transition before you go.
Other Thoughts: Taking a bunch of key trees down could make for some nice flight paths. The fairways are fine. Just take down the individual trees blocking the middle of them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

All in All, I Like It

2-4    4/26/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44 Years
Pros: Astroturf covered concrete tee pads may be the coolest I've ever played. A challenging wooded course without being heart breaking. Paths between holes are very evident making navigation relatively easy, especially with the occasional directional sign to the next tee, except between 12 & 13..
Cons: Very tight, with some briars, brambles, underbrush and tree trash, making losing plastic likely, though I refused to give up on my errant shots and did manage to find them all. There does need to be signage directing to 13 from 12.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good satellite course to the planned Springwood Players' Course @ Burlington Springwood Park for the Am Worlds in a few years. A Russell Schwartz course, huh? Bet it all but killed him that he couldn't put a basket in any disc disappearing water.

 The Andersons

2-4    7/7/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a short tight and technical type course that's all in the woods. Requires you to be very accurate through tight gaps on hyzers and annys.

There's a bit of elevation change on some holes.

The underbrush off the fairway is fairly thin here which is a plus because it's so tight and you'll find yourself in it.

There are multiple tees here but only the longs have pads. The shorts are a good way to practice upshots in the 120-200 range.

Overall it's a good place to work on your short game and shaping shorter shots.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape. There are signs showing the hole # and distance. There's a map at the beginning.

Atmosphere - It's an fairly nice park, not the most pristine or best looking wooded course you'll ever see but it stays fairly clean. There's never anyone here so if you want a quiet round all to yourself this is the place.
Cons: Layout - For what it is it's just to tight. To many single trees were left stuck in fairways that makes getting to the basket more luck than skill sometimes.

Highly repetitive, most holes are just a short hyzer or anny and in a few places you can't even see the basket even though it's short.

It's just not a fun course to play. It's boring and a bit frustrating at times when it shouldn't be. I think the designer just tried to hard to make it difficult when he should of thought about playability first.

Equipment - Only the longs have a pad and those pads suck. They're turf and in more than a few places they're not level. Some of the worst pads I've seen.

I wish the signs gave you a pic of the hole layout, especially since some shots are kinda blind.

Atmosphere - There's better looking courses in the area and because this one rarely gets played there's bugs and spiderwebs everywhere. I'm pretty sure I got chiggers out here.
Other Thoughts: I don't like this course and there's much better choices in the area. It's not terrible and there are steps that could be taken to make it much better but it's been open a while and I don't see anything happening in that vain.

It's just incredibly repetitive and needs to have more trees chopped down. If you're coming in from out of town go play UNC, Leigh Farm or Valley Springs before you come here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

lots of trees to miss

5+    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of different types of holes and it's interesting for me every time I go there.
The course is usually not very crowded.
The first tee is on your right as soon as you pull into the parking lot.
There's a dog park, and baseball and basketball and volleyball and picnic and fishing. Bring the whole family and have a fun day.
Although there is a pond and the first few holes are near it, there is very little chance of having a disc land in the water. It's never happened to me there.

Cons: I'm going to hit lots of trees every time I go there. If you throw the cheap plastic, you should plan on buying some new discs after a few rounds there.
Hole 10 is not easy to get a clean shot on. The trees are packed all over the fairway and it would take a magician to throw from the tee and make it land anywhere near the basket without hitting any trees.
Finding the tee for hole 13 is not an easy thing to do if you're not familiar with the course. The basket for 12 is in a small field between a baseball field and a parking lot. Walk across the parking lot and 13 is to the left of the other baseball field there. The tee is along the 3rd baseline.
Some areas get muddy. Holes 2 and 7 and 17 and 18. Also the walk from 18 to the parking lot. All around the dog park it's muddy if there's been rain recently.
The description for this course says there are multiple tees or pins. I've played there many times and haven't seen them.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a straight downhill shot, about 200 ft. If you get in the trees or brush to either side you've got a tough approach.
Hole 2 is short, but with very narrow lanes between trees. The middle of the short fairway can be a muddy bog.
Hole 3 is a legitimate ace run. Choose your path and miss the trees.
4 is uphill and turns left.
5 has a very straight, very narrow fairway. Slightly uphill. If you can make a real straight throw through there, you got it.
Hole 6 is a lot like 4, but a sharper turn.
7 is the longest on the course, and the only par 4. 368 feet the sign says. through a slight valley and over a creek. Bunch of tree trunks in the middle of the fairway. Decide if you want to go left and turn right, or vice versa.
8 is short, and it needs to be turning left almost as soon as it leaves your hand.
9 is another one of those very straight, very narrow paths.
10 is tough. Try to find your way through all those trees.
11 is tough. a left turn, with a diagonal tree right in the way.
12 is tough. If you make par on these 3, you are doing better than me. 12 has about 150 feet straight, then turn right about 60 degrees, then go uphill about another 150 feet, then the basket is wide-open after that.
Go across the parking lot to 13, to the left of the baseball field. The first 80% of the distance is open field, then the basket is in the woods. There's a wide path slanting in to it from the right, or a small window-size hole in the foliage if you think you can hit it straight on.
14 is one of my favorites. a dogleg right. Heavy trees to each side of the fairway.
15 and 16 are hard left turns, slightly downhill.
17 has a slight right turn, with the basket in the open field.
18 is about 200 ft straight, then a short left dogleg.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My review

2-4    12/15/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very tight course and needs some good accuracy to make par. The course runs on a path around the park and covers some interesting shots. The baskets, signs and most tees are very nice.
Cons: Signs with directions to the next tee are there, but getting weathered. Could stand some new ones. Some of the tee boxes could be replaced and the alternate tees could be marked better. There are trees that are marked for removal, but still there. Once some of these trees are removed, the course will be a nice challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is an okay course pending the tree removal. So many trees makes good throws hard and less than good throws may be punished hard.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anderson is a mostly wooded course which will test your technical game. There are many tee options per hole but most holes are fairly short from any tee.

Other pros:
- clean and underbrush free
- kiosk & good signage
- easy navigation
- not crowded during a weekend afternoon
- elevation used
- challenging
Cons: The tee pads are turf and/or natural, they are fine but not great. There really isn't much variety but the area has many nearby courses where you can get that variety.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 7 was a very fun hole and the longest (368 ft.), great use of elevation and a creek.

I really enjoyed this course as short option during a long day of disc golf. It's definitely worth playing while your in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fan with Thinking

2-4    1/4/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: BigBig5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At hole 1 there is a nice board with a map of the course. Black set of tee pads maintained. Fairways are nicely maintained Nice bridges/walkways over the creeks. Walkways between each hole are nice and clear. The sign numbers are clear to see and will never fade.

Cons: Some fairways might be a little tight near the tees because of 2 trees being so close together. You can lose a disc out in the brush. 2nd set of tee pads are dirt, but you don't need to use them on most of all the holes. There is one par 4 thats fairways it too wide in the mid. The arrows poiinting to the next hole have writing on them thats faded making it hard to read. It can be hard to get to hole 13 because the sing from the end of hole 12 says to go across the parking lot then noting else, so you can get lost.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play and you have to think for your shots. Needs a practice basket for putting because they have room for 1. Would play more then once. Read the map or take a pic if its your 1st time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.