Carrboro, NC 
Anderson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #11 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Surprising Challenge

2-4    5/29/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was surprisingly challenging. The fairways are very tight and the course has some angles that aren't seen too often.

On face value, the course seems much like so many wooded courses in the area. But this one might just test you more. It's tighter than Valley Springs. The holes are generally longer than those at Bethesda or Southern. It is worth at least one round.

Additionally, it boasts the best teepads that I've seen. I'm not usually one who cares too much about tee pads. Don't mind dirt if there is a quality sign but I love the turf here.
Cons: Unfortunately, much of the challenge stems from two factors. First, many of the angles are cut sharper than a disc is supposed to go. Many of the holes cut to the left or right so early that there is no chance go right to the basket from soem short holes.

The bigger issue is the plinko nature of many of the fairways. The fairway may not be actually tight. It will just have trees scattered across the middle of it. There are many holes that really don't offer realistic paths to the pin.

And while the first twelve flows pretty well, it is impossible to find thirteen without a map. I can't even recommend a next tee arrow, you would need about a half dozen to direct people there. Just bring the map or memorize that transition before you go.
Other Thoughts: Taking a bunch of key trees down could make for some nice flight paths. The fairways are fine. Just take down the individual trees blocking the middle of them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Andersons

2-4    7/7/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a short tight and technical type course that's all in the woods. Requires you to be very accurate through tight gaps on hyzers and annys.

There's a bit of elevation change on some holes.

The underbrush off the fairway is fairly thin here which is a plus because it's so tight and you'll find yourself in it.

There are multiple tees here but only the longs have pads. The shorts are a good way to practice upshots in the 120-200 range.

Overall it's a good place to work on your short game and shaping shorter shots.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape. There are signs showing the hole # and distance. There's a map at the beginning.

Atmosphere - It's an fairly nice park, not the most pristine or best looking wooded course you'll ever see but it stays fairly clean. There's never anyone here so if you want a quiet round all to yourself this is the place.
Cons: Layout - For what it is it's just to tight. To many single trees were left stuck in fairways that makes getting to the basket more luck than skill sometimes.

Highly repetitive, most holes are just a short hyzer or anny and in a few places you can't even see the basket even though it's short.

It's just not a fun course to play. It's boring and a bit frustrating at times when it shouldn't be. I think the designer just tried to hard to make it difficult when he should of thought about playability first.

Equipment - Only the longs have a pad and those pads suck. They're turf and in more than a few places they're not level. Some of the worst pads I've seen.

I wish the signs gave you a pic of the hole layout, especially since some shots are kinda blind.

Atmosphere - There's better looking courses in the area and because this one rarely gets played there's bugs and spiderwebs everywhere. I'm pretty sure I got chiggers out here.
Other Thoughts: I don't like this course and there's much better choices in the area. It's not terrible and there are steps that could be taken to make it much better but it's been open a while and I don't see anything happening in that vain.

It's just incredibly repetitive and needs to have more trees chopped down. If you're coming in from out of town go play UNC, Leigh Farm or Valley Springs before you come here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 VERY TIGHT

1    10/11/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has nice discatcher baskets and is rarely crowded. It is a good place to go if you are into tight wooded courses and you can throw EXTREMELY accurately. I don't know if the turf tees are a pro or a con. There are many other nice park amenities, even a dog park.
Cons: In my opinion, this course is way too tight. I have spoken with some other players in the area and most of them agree with me. Also, there isn't much variation to the course. Almost every hole is just throwing down an insanely tight fairway that bends either left or right at the end. When I was there, not all of the tees were finished, so I had to throw from an empty wooden box with uneven earth in the middle. There were no trash cans or benches.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to play a game in the woods, head over to leigh farm, valley springs, or cornwallis. They are all very close, and have not-too-tight fairways, unlike this course. Even though this isn't my favorite course in the chapel hill-durham area, I am still glad to have it. If nothing else, it encourages you to be more accurate with your throws.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underwhelming Disc Golf Experience

1    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
6 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets, very good use of signs and directions on signs telling you where to head.
Cons: No concrete Tee Boxes, no realistic hole in one opportunities, few birdies. Way too many trees, no ground clearing, lots of stumps and ivy. Tee box placement not well planned on most holes, some have trees impeding back swing. TICKS GALORE!
Other Thoughts: Disappointing Russell Schwartz design. In one years time could be good course with lots of hard work and numerous trees removed on each hole. Unlike the 2nd review of this course, I experienced little to no elevation change, and I did not keep track, but would guess 13/18 holes are dog leg lefts. Also make sure to park immediately when entering the park, the DGC is to the right and has a print out of hole locations.

It is another DGC in the Chapel Hill/Carrboro area, but almost not needed. If you want challenging heavily wooded holes, I would suggest traveling 5 minutes down the road to Southern Community Park.

6 of 35 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.