Carrboro, NC 
Anderson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #8 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/14/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anderson is a mostly wooded course which will test your technical game. There are many tee options per hole but most holes are fairly short from any tee.

Other pros:
- clean and underbrush free
- kiosk & good signage
- easy navigation
- not crowded during a weekend afternoon
- elevation used
- challenging
Cons: The tee pads are turf and/or natural, they are fine but not great. There really isn't much variety but the area has many nearby courses where you can get that variety.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 7 was a very fun hole and the longest (368 ft.), great use of elevation and a creek.

I really enjoyed this course as short option during a long day of disc golf. It's definitely worth playing while your in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fan with Thinking

2-4    1/4/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: BigBig5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: At hole 1 there is a nice board with a map of the course. Black set of tee pads maintained. Fairways are nicely maintained Nice bridges/walkways over the creeks. Walkways between each hole are nice and clear. The sign numbers are clear to see and will never fade.

Cons: Some fairways might be a little tight near the tees because of 2 trees being so close together. You can lose a disc out in the brush. 2nd set of tee pads are dirt, but you don't need to use them on most of all the holes. There is one par 4 thats fairways it too wide in the mid. The arrows poiinting to the next hole have writing on them thats faded making it hard to read. It can be hard to get to hole 13 because the sing from the end of hole 12 says to go across the parking lot then noting else, so you can get lost.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play and you have to think for your shots. Needs a practice basket for putting because they have room for 1. Would play more then once. Read the map or take a pic if its your 1st time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Anderson Park DGC NC

1    7/12/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Tater
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is an interesting course, and not crowded at all (didn't see any other players when I went). Some fun holes that challenge your accuracy. Not very long (I feel like I wasn't trying to crush it on any of the holes), but the tight fairways and pen placement make up for it and kept me from shooting a sub-par round
Cons: As previously mentioned, the amount of trees might be a little excessive. You had to have the perfect shot to stay in the fairway, and if you didn't, it was sometimes hard to find your disc because it could bounce off of 5 trees before it finally settled down. This could easily be fixed with some trimming and or flat out removal of a couple of trees on most of the holes

Tee Boxes- couple of them need some work. I wasn't ready for the shortness of the first pad, and I fell off after my throw. Also, the astro-turf was new to me, and it started to rain during our round which got them a little slick.
Other Thoughts: some maintenance is necessary- my friend leaned against a tree, which then in turn fell over and about crushed him. It was little things like that which need attention. A couple of course days out there could get the course in top condition- just need to get the people out there, and this course could become quite the little course to challenge your accuracy and disc placement

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little course

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and clear walkways between holes. Hard to get lost unless you miss 13 across the road. Go towards the 3rd baseline of the field over there and you can't miss it. Tee pads are packed dirt or gravel in a wood frame with an indoor/outdoor carpet or artificial turf-like grass stretched over them. They are OK. Fairways are tight on most holes, but there are lines to hit if you are accurate. Not really any unfair or impossible fairways. Nice new baskets. Dog park and playground in same park complex. Nothing wrong with this course at all.
Cons: No concrete tee pads. Turf pads are OK, but sometimes my foot got stuck on the carpet. Not sure how long they will hold up. No long holes or wide open holes to really let loose. Seems like the holes were for the most part a little repetitive. Left dog-leg one hole followed by a right dog-leg the next. Too many holes with the same shape and feel.
Other Thoughts: I like this course for what it is. Short place to work on your woods game. Nothing spectacular, but nothing wrong either. If you're in the area it is definitely worth playing. Plus you can hit UNC and Leigh Farms without driving around too much. Bring 2 discs and work on your short game.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs simple, but accurate. Very easy to navigate, except 12 to 13 (go past the softball field to the left of the bleachers). Close proximity to other Chapel Hill and Durham courses. Short, but makes up for it with super tight windows. Decent variety of shot types required (made me wish I had better hammer/thumbers). Not crowded. No interference from the park, despite being close on a number of holes. There are rocks marking the path to the hole on 13 now (one on either side of the clearing in the woods). Discatcher baskets.
Cons: The windows can be pretty darn small, which doesn't bother me too much but can easily damage some egos. Had a couple of people wander onto the course, but they were cool when I explained I was about to throw near them. No really memorable holes, but the blind ace run on 13 over the field into the woods is pretty fun. No chance to really unleash a huge drive, which I actually like because I have a weak arm but understand is a con to many players. Seems to favor a right hand backhander a little too much, but some of the holes are shaped such that an anhyzer forehand is actually a better shot. No benches or trash cans, but the course is well integrated into the park so there is plenty of chance to take a break to throw things away or sit down in the park if you need to. Dirt teepads, but they were testing some astroturf looking stuff on hole one that seemed promising.
Other Thoughts: I heard bad things about this course, but I actually enjoyed it and we ended up playing twice. The duck flies at midnight. Be prepared to hit some trees, because this course it TIGHT. There is a dog park, sports fields, basketball and tennis courts, picnic tables, and maybe even some BBQ pits (I don't remember for sure) so it's a good place to spend a day. Also a small lake, but unfortunately it never comes into play, unless you throw REALLY bad.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and scenic challenge

5+    4/6/2011   5/25/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2011
31 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an update since I've played it a few times now. The course has really matured in terms of having realistic shaped fairways. It's still well tight on a few holes, but they're doable now. Length is quite good considering the park but it's mostly on the shorter side. (Don't confuse this for a typical park pitch and putt).

If you like short and challenging, good use of park land and elevation, this course delivers. I love the topography in this area and many holes feature it splendidly with nice big rocks jutting here and there out of the soil.

The course is very nicely maintained (lots of underbrush cleared away now, reducing the threat of disc losing greatly) and pretty clean, the caretakers really seem to be doing their thankless jobs. The flow and navigation is a breeze, ample signage, etc.
Cons: Most of the gripes I had about this course (ungodly tight fairways that reward luck over skill) are no more thankfully. The hole variety is still a little lacking, particularly on certain types of holes. For example, there's a bunch of L-shaped holes that bend to the left at an angle that's very daunting for squeezing a standard RHBH hyzer through where a steep FH anhyzer seems to be the best route. Now, I don't mind a challenging, unorthodox line every now and then, but Anderson throws these at you in bunches, a couple coming back to back.

The tees are a little wonky on 16 of the holes, which are wooden frames with cheap putting green material stretched across them. They don't seem like they'll last very long and I remember seeing a tear here and there. The honeycomb tee on #10 and the astroturf tee on #1 are pretty sweet though.

Other Thoughts: Hole 7, 368', gorgeous hole. That hole is the reason I play disc golf. 368' with a creek in the middle means you tee off from high up and finish high up. A good drive on that hole means you don't have to throw or putt from the valley.

I've scaled back my rating a bit after I've played many more courses and gotten better perspective but that doesn't reflect the fact that I think this course is getting better and better. If you combined the best parts of SoCo and Anderson you'd basically have UNC if that tells you anything. It's a challenging but fun little bugger of a course.

31 of 38 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.