Disc Golf Store
Carrboro, NC 
Anderson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #11 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun technical course.

1    2/9/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets, decent tee pads. Really makes you use your technical game. No huge open bombers, but the course is just long enough where you can pull out a driver ever now and then.
Cons: Astro turf pads can be a bit slick. A bit of monotony with the repetitive woods shots. Not bad use of the land though.
Other Thoughts: Many people have reviewed this course saying the fairways are too narrow and are unfair. We disagreed with that. There are definitely some tight shots, but nothing egregious. A fun technical round.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

lots of trees to miss

5+    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of different types of holes and it's interesting for me every time I go there.
The course is usually not very crowded.
The first tee is on your right as soon as you pull into the parking lot.
There's a dog park, and baseball and basketball and volleyball and picnic and fishing. Bring the whole family and have a fun day.
Although there is a pond and the first few holes are near it, there is very little chance of having a disc land in the water. It's never happened to me there.

Cons: I'm going to hit lots of trees every time I go there. If you throw the cheap plastic, you should plan on buying some new discs after a few rounds there.
Hole 10 is not easy to get a clean shot on. The trees are packed all over the fairway and it would take a magician to throw from the tee and make it land anywhere near the basket without hitting any trees.
Finding the tee for hole 13 is not an easy thing to do if you're not familiar with the course. The basket for 12 is in a small field between a baseball field and a parking lot. Walk across the parking lot and 13 is to the left of the other baseball field there. The tee is along the 3rd baseline.
Some areas get muddy. Holes 2 and 7 and 17 and 18. Also the walk from 18 to the parking lot. All around the dog park it's muddy if there's been rain recently.
The description for this course says there are multiple tees or pins. I've played there many times and haven't seen them.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a straight downhill shot, about 200 ft. If you get in the trees or brush to either side you've got a tough approach.
Hole 2 is short, but with very narrow lanes between trees. The middle of the short fairway can be a muddy bog.
Hole 3 is a legitimate ace run. Choose your path and miss the trees.
4 is uphill and turns left.
5 has a very straight, very narrow fairway. Slightly uphill. If you can make a real straight throw through there, you got it.
Hole 6 is a lot like 4, but a sharper turn.
7 is the longest on the course, and the only par 4. 368 feet the sign says. through a slight valley and over a creek. Bunch of tree trunks in the middle of the fairway. Decide if you want to go left and turn right, or vice versa.
8 is short, and it needs to be turning left almost as soon as it leaves your hand.
9 is another one of those very straight, very narrow paths.
10 is tough. Try to find your way through all those trees.
11 is tough. a left turn, with a diagonal tree right in the way.
12 is tough. If you make par on these 3, you are doing better than me. 12 has about 150 feet straight, then turn right about 60 degrees, then go uphill about another 150 feet, then the basket is wide-open after that.
Go across the parking lot to 13, to the left of the baseball field. The first 80% of the distance is open field, then the basket is in the woods. There's a wide path slanting in to it from the right, or a small window-size hole in the foliage if you think you can hit it straight on.
14 is one of my favorites. a dogleg right. Heavy trees to each side of the fairway.
15 and 16 are hard left turns, slightly downhill.
17 has a slight right turn, with the basket in the open field.
18 is about 200 ft straight, then a short left dogleg.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two cool little short courses in a beautiful park. Plenty of other activities for the rest of the fam' or to kill some time. Dog Park, ball fields, b-ball court, fishing pond, playgrounds, tennis, walking trails. Restrooms and water available near ball fields.

Lots of tight, technical shots. Most of the holes have a tight line but almost all are birdieable. I throw mostly mids off the tee here, the short tees are great for short game/upshot practicing. Long tees are new and add the element of two-shot Par 3s and another Par 4.

Relatively easy to navigate, course winds around a fishing pond that never really comes into play. Next tee signs for all holes. Hole #1 is immediately to your right upon pulling into the park. The front nine works its way counter-clockwise around the pond. The back nine winds through the woods around the ball fields, crossing the parking lot after #12 to the other side. Hole #18 ends behind the dog park, head left from the basket and follow the path down the right side of the fence to the parking lot.

One of the coolest things about this course to me is the way it winds around the parking lot. If you don't feel like starting on #1 you can park down further at any number of places and play a full 18 starting on a different hole (#10, #11, #13, # 15, #16). This definitely adds to the replay-ability and fun factor of the course.
Cons: Tee pads - Very slippery outdoor carpet on some holes, dirt boxes for the new tee locations. Carpeted boxes are in rough shape. #8 and #12 dirt boxes need work.

Tee signs - Only hole # and distance. New tee pads not included yet. No diagrams but most of the baskets can be seen from the box. The transition from #12 to #13 is the only thing not marked well enough to find, #13 tees off across the parking lot near the third base line of the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: My home course, I live about a mile away. Still a work in progress, Carrboro Parks and Rec do a great job of keeping the park and course clean.

Best hole - #7, 370' S-curve through the woods, over a dry creek in a small valley, or shoot straight up the gut and go for the skip to a basket slightly above you at the tee.

Most fun hole - #13, 217' wide-open hyzer to a basket ~30' in the woods through a 10' wide gap. Ace runs all day...if you hit the gap.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fair but tough...

1    3/21/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with excellent DIScatcher baskets in great, new shape. Mix of lefty/righty holes. Many holes short but yet tough with lots of trees. Tees are like this fake grass but yet smooth and even, always a plus. Tons of amenities on park site, like dog park, basketball courts, etc. Pretty much mostly clear of pedestrian traffic. Nice layout with the space available. Tight in most spots with a couple of open ace runs. Some longer holes and one pro par 4.
Cons: There were a lot of short holes, some of which just absolutely pinball-esque ( 2 comes to mind). Knocking down a tree or two would be all that's needed. Missing the fairway will lead you with nothing more than a chip-out back to fairway, easily allowing one short hole to ruin your card. No water as OB holes.
Other Thoughts: With a little skill and a little help, several holes are indeed birdieable. As already mentioned, several other park amenities are on site. Close to other disc golf courses, restaurants, and need I mention UNC? Good enough for me.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Slight Reprieve from the Heat

1    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 143  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is entirely shaded, so when it's 90+ degrees out, like it was today, it's not too terribly unbearable to play a round. (although the humidity will still get you). It's a short course, that looks a little easier than it actually is, every hole is heavily wooded, even #13 which is in an open field! The course starts almost immediately upon entering the park, directly across from the dog park. Park opposite the dog park and hopefully your car will be shaded the whole time you're playing. The park itself is very user friendly, softball fields, dog park, pavilions, fishing pond, restrooms & playground.

As for the course itself, it starts off with a short slight downhill left to right fade with trees lining the right side, easily aceable, end up in the woods and you'll get a 4. This is the case with most of the holes, although the ace runs are not quite obvious, they are there, but you end up in the woods, you're gonna get 4 or more. the first 6 holes are a nice mix of left and right turns that play around the fishing pond and get you over to in between the pond and the softball fields. Hole 7 is the longest on the course (368ft) and has one of the smaller windows to throw through and it plays uphill, so it's probably a little closer to 400, through the woods the whole way. 8 & 9 are nothing to memorable, but #10 was almost stupid it was so tight, it's like throwing down a walking path. #12 was a nice, hard right turn with the basket at the top of the hill 15ft into a field (the first opportunity to not be in the woods). #13 is a fun open field right to left shot over a field of yellow flowers with a 5ft wide window to throw into 200ft away (the window is there, but it literally disappears when you are on the tee pad, you have to walk up 20 ft to see the hole) the basket is 20 ft into the woods. 14-18 are all back in the woods with the basket for 18 being the only time back in a "field" setting, but you're throwing through the woods 200+ ft to get out to the basket.

The signs are simple, but are maybe the most helpful signs I've seen. Every hole has a Tee Sign and at the basket there's a Next Tee sign also. And the underbrush here is very disc friendly, very little ivy/leafy crap for your disc to get tangle in or your legs to pick up poison itchy stuff from, it's mostly pine straw throughout.

The park is very easy to find
Cons: No tee pads/natural tee pads. One pad, I think 10, has a tree within follow through disctance and I smacked my hand on it, probably just user error. There's lots of stump/twigs that trip you up pretty good, including 2 separate hidden barb-wire fences, 1 got me, 1 got my buddy. TICKS. no benches, trash cans, or water fountains that I could find. Lastly, I wish the water would have come in to play. You're around it for the first 4 holes or so, but never once throw over it, probably because it's a "fishing pond" and is used regularly.

My biggest gripe about this place is finishing. When you're done with #18 you can see your car on the other side of the dog park, but you have to walk way around the dog park and a clump of trees to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: This course is brand spanking new, and I'm sure that in a few months the problems of tee pads and ground clutter tripping me up will probably be gone. Also the addition of benches/trash cans/water will also make this course that much better.

My buddy and I have already talked about making a saturday of Chapel Hill courses and playing this one, Southern Community, then UNC as they are all within 5 minutes of each other. Once the minor flaws are worked out this course will be a 4 for sure.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.