Carrboro, NC 
Anderson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #8 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    10/13/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: southgrooves
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two cool little short courses in a beautiful park. Plenty of other activities for the rest of the fam' or to kill some time. Dog Park, ball fields, b-ball court, fishing pond, playgrounds, tennis, walking trails. Restrooms and water available near ball fields.

Lots of tight, technical shots. Most of the holes have a tight line but almost all are birdieable. I throw mostly mids off the tee here, the short tees are great for short game/upshot practicing. Long tees are new and add the element of two-shot Par 3s and another Par 4.

Relatively easy to navigate, course winds around a fishing pond that never really comes into play. Next tee signs for all holes. Hole #1 is immediately to your right upon pulling into the park. The front nine works its way counter-clockwise around the pond. The back nine winds through the woods around the ball fields, crossing the parking lot after #12 to the other side. Hole #18 ends behind the dog park, head left from the basket and follow the path down the right side of the fence to the parking lot.

One of the coolest things about this course to me is the way it winds around the parking lot. If you don't feel like starting on #1 you can park down further at any number of places and play a full 18 starting on a different hole (#10, #11, #13, # 15, #16). This definitely adds to the replay-ability and fun factor of the course.
Cons: Tee pads - Very slippery outdoor carpet on some holes, dirt boxes for the new tee locations. Carpeted boxes are in rough shape. #8 and #12 dirt boxes need work.

Tee signs - Only hole # and distance. New tee pads not included yet. No diagrams but most of the baskets can be seen from the box. The transition from #12 to #13 is the only thing not marked well enough to find, #13 tees off across the parking lot near the third base line of the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: My home course, I live about a mile away. Still a work in progress, Carrboro Parks and Rec do a great job of keeping the park and course clean.

Best hole - #7, 370' S-curve through the woods, over a dry creek in a small valley, or shoot straight up the gut and go for the skip to a basket slightly above you at the tee.

Most fun hole - #13, 217' wide-open hyzer to a basket ~30' in the woods through a 10' wide gap. Ace runs all day...if you hit the gap.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not fun at all

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: ajbower2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Good mix of long and short wooded holes
-Quick to play (usually finish in about an hour)
-Forces you to make a wide variety of technical forehand and backhand shots
Cons: -Not really a great place to bring beginners due to the narrow fairways and punishing woods
-There aren't really a lot of holes where you have a variety of shots you can choose to throw. The majority of the holes were clearly made with a specific shot in mind.
-Hole 7 tee pad and sign are currently thrown in the woods and the current tee pad is loose gravel
Other Thoughts: I'll start by saying the first time I played this course I absolutely hated it. I now live 5 minutes from the course and play it every day and absolutely love it. This is an excellent course to really work on your control game. Some of the fairways can be a bit intimidating at first, but eventually really end up helping you work on your technical game.

To really get the full bang for your buck out of this course you really need to commit to trying to use both forehand and backhand shots. I was exclusively a back hand player when I started playing this course, but the course forced me to develop competent forehand game. While there aren't too many rhfh favored holes (3 or 4) the shots where it is needed are shots where trying to turn over a backhand just isn't really possible (such as holes 10 and 14).

Hole 7 is the only par 4 on the course (rest are 3's) but it is one of my favorite holes anywhere. Long wooded ~370 ft hole where there are two winding and intersecting paths, one of which is perfect for a rhbh s curve and the other for a rhfh s curve.

This course went from enemy to my baby, if you don't like it the first time, I strongly encourage you to play it a few more times through. It'll grow on you.



0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Anderson Park DGC NC

1    7/12/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Tater
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is an interesting course, and not crowded at all (didn't see any other players when I went). Some fun holes that challenge your accuracy. Not very long (I feel like I wasn't trying to crush it on any of the holes), but the tight fairways and pen placement make up for it and kept me from shooting a sub-par round
Cons: As previously mentioned, the amount of trees might be a little excessive. You had to have the perfect shot to stay in the fairway, and if you didn't, it was sometimes hard to find your disc because it could bounce off of 5 trees before it finally settled down. This could easily be fixed with some trimming and or flat out removal of a couple of trees on most of the holes

Tee Boxes- couple of them need some work. I wasn't ready for the shortness of the first pad, and I fell off after my throw. Also, the astro-turf was new to me, and it started to rain during our round which got them a little slick.
Other Thoughts: some maintenance is necessary- my friend leaned against a tree, which then in turn fell over and about crushed him. It was little things like that which need attention. A couple of course days out there could get the course in top condition- just need to get the people out there, and this course could become quite the little course to challenge your accuracy and disc placement

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good effort tough course

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good new baskets, well marked
Cons: too many trees! very narrow almost no defined fairways, need more luck than skill to get a tee shot that doesn't hit a tree
Other Thoughts: if they take out a few trees on each hole so there is lane to throw in would make this course much better. I spent more time looking for my discs that bounced off trees into the woods than playing. it made for a frustrating round

I tried the course again and it is tight. all it needs is a few trees to trimmed up or cut down so there is a reasonable lane to throw through. too many pinball holes. if that gets cleaned up this course will be a nice change of pace course. maybe I am too hard on this course because I have Wellspring in Burlington close by and judge everything against that.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fair but tough...

1    3/21/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with excellent DIScatcher baskets in great, new shape. Mix of lefty/righty holes. Many holes short but yet tough with lots of trees. Tees are like this fake grass but yet smooth and even, always a plus. Tons of amenities on park site, like dog park, basketball courts, etc. Pretty much mostly clear of pedestrian traffic. Nice layout with the space available. Tight in most spots with a couple of open ace runs. Some longer holes and one pro par 4.
Cons: There were a lot of short holes, some of which just absolutely pinball-esque ( 2 comes to mind). Knocking down a tree or two would be all that's needed. Missing the fairway will lead you with nothing more than a chip-out back to fairway, easily allowing one short hole to ruin your card. No water as OB holes.
Other Thoughts: With a little skill and a little help, several holes are indeed birdieable. As already mentioned, several other park amenities are on site. Close to other disc golf courses, restaurants, and need I mention UNC? Good enough for me.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 if u think ur good go 2 carboro

5+    3/25/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: great wooded course. 1st hole is rite beside the entrance to the park.opened last april (09) has been cleaned up very well since then. grass matt pads over pack down gravel, good tees. one par 4. no water hazards. im a desent advanced player and hav finshed 5 down on my best day , i shot a 6 down on front 9 with an eagle duce on the 398 par 4. it will put ur game in check real quick. no over bearinly hard just no room to let up menetly. one open hole. holes are between 250 and 330ft. one par 4 is 420ft. favors rocs and sidearms, w a little luck and tomahawks u might save par 3 times in a round.but it tests ur game so much u revient urself each time you play there. my 2nd favorite course besides the highcountry in west jefferson. play grounds, dog park, 3 or 4 fields, bbal courts, walking trail around pond, plenty of good people its carboro.
Cons: none unless ur an am. for advanced and above u will love this course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: cant wait untill the hav a tourny here, maybe the could addit to the chapel hill tourney wink wink..............

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 VERY TIGHT

1    10/11/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has nice discatcher baskets and is rarely crowded. It is a good place to go if you are into tight wooded courses and you can throw EXTREMELY accurately. I don't know if the turf tees are a pro or a con. There are many other nice park amenities, even a dog park.
Cons: In my opinion, this course is way too tight. I have spoken with some other players in the area and most of them agree with me. Also, there isn't much variation to the course. Almost every hole is just throwing down an insanely tight fairway that bends either left or right at the end. When I was there, not all of the tees were finished, so I had to throw from an empty wooden box with uneven earth in the middle. There were no trash cans or benches.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to play a game in the woods, head over to leigh farm, valley springs, or cornwallis. They are all very close, and have not-too-tight fairways, unlike this course. Even though this isn't my favorite course in the chapel hill-durham area, I am still glad to have it. If nothing else, it encourages you to be more accurate with your throws.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little course

1    12/22/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs and clear walkways between holes. Hard to get lost unless you miss 13 across the road. Go towards the 3rd baseline of the field over there and you can't miss it. Tee pads are packed dirt or gravel in a wood frame with an indoor/outdoor carpet or artificial turf-like grass stretched over them. They are OK. Fairways are tight on most holes, but there are lines to hit if you are accurate. Not really any unfair or impossible fairways. Nice new baskets. Dog park and playground in same park complex. Nothing wrong with this course at all.
Cons: No concrete tee pads. Turf pads are OK, but sometimes my foot got stuck on the carpet. Not sure how long they will hold up. No long holes or wide open holes to really let loose. Seems like the holes were for the most part a little repetitive. Left dog-leg one hole followed by a right dog-leg the next. Too many holes with the same shape and feel.
Other Thoughts: I like this course for what it is. Short place to work on your woods game. Nothing spectacular, but nothing wrong either. If you're in the area it is definitely worth playing. Plus you can hit UNC and Leigh Farms without driving around too much. Bring 2 discs and work on your short game.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

2-4    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: jamsandwich
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shaded layout, Tight Wooded Shots can be a challenge, not crowded like UNC course. Tiny frogs can be found all over the course during the summer. We saw 50+. Park has tons of other stuff to do and is never very crowded. This course is great if you want to "get away" so to speak
Cons: Most of the holes on this course are tight wooded fairways that curve left, and the repetitive layout of the course kinda makes for a dull round. Lots of places to lose a disc if you aren't careful, and walking around in the rough areas sucks if you arent wearing pants and shoes. tons of loose rocks, spiders, bugs, typical woods creatures, but with a 10 ft wide fairway on almost every hole, you will be encountering them alot.

No tee pads can be a major bummer when you slip on the loose rocks or pine needles on the tee, but there is a prototype "pervious tee pad" on hole one that shows some promise. Some of the holes are right on top of each other, but its ok since its never too crowded.
Other Thoughts: Its nice to have a change of pace, but if i'm looking for something more than UNC, I'll probably just go to cedar hills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs simple, but accurate. Very easy to navigate, except 12 to 13 (go past the softball field to the left of the bleachers). Close proximity to other Chapel Hill and Durham courses. Short, but makes up for it with super tight windows. Decent variety of shot types required (made me wish I had better hammer/thumbers). Not crowded. No interference from the park, despite being close on a number of holes. There are rocks marking the path to the hole on 13 now (one on either side of the clearing in the woods). Discatcher baskets.
Cons: The windows can be pretty darn small, which doesn't bother me too much but can easily damage some egos. Had a couple of people wander onto the course, but they were cool when I explained I was about to throw near them. No really memorable holes, but the blind ace run on 13 over the field into the woods is pretty fun. No chance to really unleash a huge drive, which I actually like because I have a weak arm but understand is a con to many players. Seems to favor a right hand backhander a little too much, but some of the holes are shaped such that an anhyzer forehand is actually a better shot. No benches or trash cans, but the course is well integrated into the park so there is plenty of chance to take a break to throw things away or sit down in the park if you need to. Dirt teepads, but they were testing some astroturf looking stuff on hole one that seemed promising.
Other Thoughts: I heard bad things about this course, but I actually enjoyed it and we ended up playing twice. The duck flies at midnight. Be prepared to hit some trees, because this course it TIGHT. There is a dog park, sports fields, basketball and tennis courts, picnic tables, and maybe even some BBQ pits (I don't remember for sure) so it's a good place to spend a day. Also a small lake, but unfortunately it never comes into play, unless you throw REALLY bad.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.