Disc Golf Store
Richmond, VA 
Brookland Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit   (Taken 5/2009)
Tee 2, Basket 2, and Tee 3 and Basket 3 in the distance



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Its a 5 hole now

1    10/6/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: Parboy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great to take your kids. No chance of losing disks that sums it up
Cons: Construction has this course tore up. hsrd to find the tees for the ones that do exist. No pads of any kind
Other Thoughts: I took my 9 yr old daughter here wit simply let her play and even she thought it was ok and wanted to go to Dunncroft. Hole 1 is gone, 2,3,4 5,6 are fine. 7,8,9 are unplayable.# 9 basket is inside the construction and standing but 7-8 are gone. If they dont bring this back I hope the county puts the baskets to good use somewhere else.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Middle School Course

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on school property which promotes the sport. Good practice for your short game.
Cons: Lack of proper tees and some tee signs. Very open so there's really no variety. Closed during school hours. Nine holes.
Other Thoughts: When you play this course its important to remember that its for a middle school and its great for people who are new to the sport. It isn't a good course for competitive players with big arms, but could be a good course for practicing your short game. Some of the tee signs are missing (4 and 8), but we just shot near the previous basket. Besides the first three holes (with a few trees), there really wasn't much as far as obstacles, leaving all the other holes wide open. We played this course on a whim because we wanted something new and, though it may be good for some, I probably won't be going back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic Beginners' Course

1    8/19/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine baskets, open and good for beginners, particularly young beginners.
Cons: Very short, open, not all tees obvious.
Other Thoughts: Once upon a time there was a scruffy little 18-hole course in the woods near a small park in Henrico's far west end. Then the county decided to use the land for a new middle school, the course was eventually reduced to nine holes, and the other nine baskets ended up over here at one of the county's older middle schools. These nine baskets have been scattered about among the track, baseball field, and other P.E. areas of Brookland Middle School for use by the students (I assume) and the general public when school is not in session.

This course is, except for one hole, very short, and, again except for one hole, entirely in the open. So it's best function may be as a course to teach new players, especially kids, how to play disc golf. Unfortunately, the lack of an open bathroom on the grounds somewhat negates the appeal of the course to parents looking to teach their kids the game. Otherwise, the appeal of the course lies in working on your mid-range game and perhaps using the fields (if not the baskets) for some practice. Except for #5, a wide-open 400' hole ending under a big oak tree, the course is very short (200' or less for most holes) and pretty much so entirely open.

There are signs on at least seven of the nine holes, though they are placed on fences, walls, and nearby trees, with no indication of the actual tee area and only minimal indication of which way is the proper basket. The baskets are numbered. I personally never found the tee for #4 or #8, though I did find both #7 and alt 7 (??), so at least eight tees are marked out there. I hope that lots of eager 11- and 12-year olds will have a good introduction to the game thanks to this course, and if you have someone you want to both teach the game and start them off real easy, well this might be a good spot. Anyone else, though, may find this course not worth the effort of getting there, or finding your way around once you're there.

Favorite Hole - #5 - only 400' hole on the course ends on a small hill beneath a big, beautiful tree.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Try it once

1    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Wildcattamer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: very short shots except 5th hole.
Cons: Not sure where the 4th hole sign. Tee boxes would be nice. couldn't fine 7th hole basket. 8th hole sign I couldn't find either.
Other Thoughts: Short course may or may not come back. Dunncroft and New Hanover are more of a test as 9 holes courses goes in Richmond.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Disappointed

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: WorldFamousDiscGolfr
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has 9 baskets.

Can't totally hate any course with a basket.

That is 9 more baskets than I have :)
Cons: I hate slamming a course, esp when it seems new and incomplete

1.Where are the Tees? Some have nice donated signs marking the tees, but the location of some are a mystery.
2. The first 3 holes you literally can put from the tee and get an ace
3. Can't play during school ours
Other Thoughts: No sir. I didn't like it.
If you happen to live across the street from Brookland Middle school and just want to practice or goof around then play this course.
Otherwise go to the 9 hole courses at Dunncroft or New Hannover that arent to far away. Go to Bryant Park just down the road.
Don' t waste your time with this one until the creator/s of this course put more into it.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center