Layout Extinct

Round Lake, IL 
Fairfield Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #9 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Home course

5+    6/2/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Leland
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front half has wide open holes to work on your driving (BH/FH). Back holes have woods and some good layouts/challenging. This is really a solid course for anyone at any level. Beginners should really check this out with the openness of the front 9. You can practice many throws without having to worry about trees and or losing your disk (until you play back 9). It is really a very entertaining course, and I am proud to call it my home course and play often.
Cons: I assume like most courses, the course retains some water and has a lot of mud in spots, depending on when it last rained, of course. Hole 12 retains a LOT of water in the middle of fairway, and is challenging to wade through it to find your disk if you threw it in that area. Back 9 can get a bit muddy (but hey, this is outdoor fun). No concrete tee's. Concrete tees would be sweet! Another great addition would be descriptive whole information/length/picture, etc., at each tee, as currently, the only thing you will find is a trash can here and there with the hole # on it.
Other Thoughts: If you are on the course, please pick up any trash you see and dispose of it in the trash cans at the beginning of each hole (well, most have one). Let's keep it clean and enjoyable for everyone. If anyone is playing a league out there or is trying to start one of interested in one, please let me know. I would love to be a part of a league and or club.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Only needs luxuries

5+    9/22/2010   4/14/2011
Review By: troyd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its a difficult course! Well sized open holes in the front allow the wind to really play a factor in your game. Not to mention simply testing your accuracy when have to throw a good distance.
In the back the baskets are placed to challenge you. Maybe, also to make you cry... Tight, sometimes blind shots with elevation changes. 7 and 15 are two of the best holes Ive played, anywhere.
The land was used to its fullest potential. Which does a great job minimizing the walking from basket to tee. Extra hole by the parking lot is a great warm-up and a much appericated place to practice. Well groomed fairways help to see which hole is for which tee.
Cons: No tees. This place needs to get a couple bags of cement and put in some tees.
Hole markers with hole pars for amateurs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Course map under Links/Files tab.
Im sitting here trying to think of some real cons but there just aren't any. If you are looking for a challenge and not the same old same old this is the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

5+    10/10/2009   7/15/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course makes good use of all available land to provide a wide range of shots. A good mix of wide open holes, heavily forested holes, and a lot in between. The first 4 holes are in the wide open, and are short enough to rack up some birdies. Then next 3 or 4 are in the forest, then back out again, then back in, then back out. I really like this design, as it is not just 9 holes in the field, and then 9 holes in the forest.
- Holes in the open provide a lot of different challenges. There are three bomber holes with large obstacles, and the last hole is unreachable for anybody out there. Bring the longest disc you have for that one. The other two longer ones involve avoiding water and deep rough, laying up can be a wise decision. A few others in the open have some minor elevation changes, including a gentle upshot and a shot down a hill. Good variety of different tosses for most of these, even without many obstacles.
- Most of the forest holes are pretty short, so elevation changes, obstacles, and tight fairways make for the challenge. There are some decent up and down shots, usually coupled with a slight curve either left or right. Most of the time, the challenge is to avoid hitting any trees that litter the fairway. Personally, I felt there was a good amount of tree-littering; any more would have been overkill and any less would be too easy.
- A couple of holes go into and out of the forest as well, which make great use of the trees to demand a certain line.
- Practice basket is present, port-a-potty, and plenty of parking.
Cons: - The first four holes of the course can be found anywhere else. Pretty flat, wide open, and on the shorter side. The only real point of the holes is to tackle the ever-present wind, otherwise it feels like practice. It is good for a warm up, but that's 20% of the course right there.
- The short holes are pretty short throughout the course. While there are a good amount of obstacles in the forest, and some elevation throughout, it seems like a lucky shot can produce a birdie just as easily as a well placed one.
- No tee pads and no signs never really bothered me, but I know it is a major turn off for other players. The tee areas are completely destroyed and rutted in the open, not so bad in the forest. I feel like it is a minor problem, but that's just me. As far as the signage, I can see how people would be frustrated as well. If I hadn't been shown around my first time, I am sure I would have missed at least one hole, if not more.
Other Thoughts: - In spite of all its shortcomings, I still really enjoy playing this course. Lots of different types of shots needed - almost any combination of uphill, downhill, left, right, straight, open, and wooded can be found here. There are a bunch of shorter, technical holes, but also some epic ones that dare you to throw over some nasty, swampy rough.
- I think this course is one of the most subjective courses to review... if you have a big arm, it might seem like 3 good holes and that's it. If you need perfect tee pads and signs, you will hate it. But, for a casual player like myself, it really has everything I need to feel satisfied.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home away from home

5+    5/25/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: niknak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course, and has been for the past few years, I love the variety of the holes and the general layout of the course. You have a stretch of long fairways and tight forest challenges back to back. The baskets are quality and there have been many recent improvements on the course. (Cedar chips at all the backets and consistent manicuring)
Cons: Mesquitos are horrible June-September.
The parks department hardly maintains the course. This course can be a nightmare when it comes to having to wait in line. Some people do not respect the course, there is always garbage laying around.
Other Thoughts: Lately i've seen a lot of younger kids at the course who do not seem to respect the game, the course or other people in general. The parking lot is turning into a "Scene" where these kids go to drink beer (and leave the emptys strewn about) I often go to this course with small groups and I often get stuck behind large groups who rarely let you play through. This course has great potential and for some reason gets worse each year rather than better. I would recommend checking this course out.. it does have the longest hole in IL, 800 feet!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 RL

5+    6/9/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good flow.

It goes from way open to think n' wooded pretty quickly, which will change your mode from 'grip n' rip' to 'accurate' rather quickly.

There is the longest hole in IL here. Get ready!!

There are some decent ( for an IL standard) elevational changes here. In the summer months, the swamp/bayou/creek will become a factor as they can and will (I lost my 175 g pink XCalibur on the "swamp hole" because I couldn't find it when in waist deep in water....) eat up discs. That makes it that much more challenging.

This is a good place to find lost discs, so keep your wits about you.

Cons: Bring BUG SPRAY!!!! Bring SPARE DISCS!!!!

You can lose a disc very quickly. Make sure your name and number are on the back of each disc you plan on playing here.
Other Thoughts: If you play this course in the fall/winter, a lot of the environmental challenges go away. That's because the prairie grass and marsh reeds are no longer a factor and it's flatter. Keep that in mind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.