Layout Extinct

Round Lake, IL 
Fairfield Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 243ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Played it before it gets changed

1    8/12/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun course to play.
The condition of the course is pretty much great. The grounds crew keeps it manicured.
I enjoyed the well defined fairway and rough for the wide open holes. A nice touch.
The wooded holes are "beat in"
Lines are well defined from the volume of play this course gets. Not a fresh course by any means.
The park itself is a big chunk of land.
The design is "Good" for the realistate it's installed on.
The course has a mix of everything;
Uphill, downhill, valleys
Hyzer, anhyzer, flick
Tunnel shots, open fairways,
Extremely long, long, mid-length, and short holes.
Holes that have multiple routes.
Blind tee shots to hidden baskets, baskets out in plain view.
Some of the holes feel like an entire adventure in themselves. This was my favorite part.
Two extra holes as well.
Baskets are solid.
Cons: Tee pads are undefined on some holes.
Had to look for odd shaped concrete blocks in the ground. (Some weren't visible or missing)
The signage is not great. Basically absent. Tough for the blind tee shots and hidden baskets. Not a big con, but a con (none-the-less)
Other Thoughts: It was not packed when I played it. It was a Sunday afternoon. Although, I was going to squeeze a second round in. By the time I finished there was a pack of 8-12 people all in one group teeing off on hole 1. With another group of 6 infront of them. I turned to the parking lot and left immediately.
Heard it was going to be changed.
Had to play the original at least once.
It was worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home

5+    7/14/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 130  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'd like to start by saying that I learned to play disc golf here at Fairfield. While I did not live in the area back then, nearly 10 years later, I am now a local.

The recent addition of a bike path has turned this into a muti-use park. Some players may list this as a con, but I believe it is good exposure. It will only help grow the sport. Also, the path is typically used as an OB line on #12, #13 and #18.

With the current 19 hole layout, this is only 1 of 3 disc golf courses in Lake County that features more than 9 holes.

The kiosk in the parking lot includes a course map. Even though navigation is fairly easy, I still recommend that first time players take a look at the map and/or print one from the Links/Files tab here. Most of the locals and regulars are very friendly and will point you in the right direction.

There is good variety. While the first 5 holes are similar open shots with no obstacles, things start to change on #6 with the basket at the top of the hill and a good set of guardian trees only 50' away from the teepad. Throughout the rest of the course, you will find yourself playing a combination of shorter wooded holes and longer, grip-it and rip-it holes.

While this area is notoriously flat, the available elevation is utilized nicely on at least 12 holes.

The swamp in the middle of the course comes into play on #10 and #12. Possibly #18 as well if you throw OB.

The ever-present wind provides a good challenge on some of the flat, typically easy holes.

Hole #11A takes you back to the parking lot (port-a-potty included at no extra charge!) for a nice mid-round break if needed.

Round Lake Area Park District does a great job of mowing the fairways on a regular basis.

Several garbage cans have helped keep the course looking nice. A few years ago, litter on most fairways used to be a major con.

At 845', #18 is the signature hole here. With the woods on the right the entire length of the fairway and the OB bike path on the left, this hole encourages a wide variety of scores. I have seen everything from a 3 to a 10 here. Stay out of the woods if you can!
Cons: Limestone tee pads. Some of them are better than others. In wet, muddy, snow/icy conditions, these teepads go from bad to worse.

There are no tee signs.

The open holes (1--5, 9--11A) can easily get repetitive and boring.

In the summer, the tall grass can get frustrating while searching for discs. It is much easier to find discs here in the winter months. You don't have to get too far off of the fairway to call for the search party. This causes frequent back-ups while the course is busy.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE--As of 10/15/2012, Hole #14A has been removed and will not be re-installed. Please proceed directly to #15.

While Pro/Advanced players may not find much of a challenge here unless the wind is really blowing, beginners and rec level players will be tested early and often.

This course gets very busy in the summer on nice weather days. It is not uncommon to see 4 or 5 groups waiting to tee off at Hole #1 on a nice Sunday afternoon.

I considered posting this review back when I first found DGCR, but I really wanted to learn more about how Fairfield stacks up against the competition. Now that I am close to 100 courses played and Fairfield is in the midst of a re-design, I felt this was a good time to post a review on the soon to be extinct layout.

If you need a guide, send me a PM. I would be happy to give you the tour.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    6/2/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Leland
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front half has wide open holes to work on your driving (BH/FH). Back holes have woods and some good layouts/challenging. This is really a solid course for anyone at any level. Beginners should really check this out with the openness of the front 9. You can practice many throws without having to worry about trees and or losing your disk (until you play back 9). It is really a very entertaining course, and I am proud to call it my home course and play often.
Cons: I assume like most courses, the course retains some water and has a lot of mud in spots, depending on when it last rained, of course. Hole 12 retains a LOT of water in the middle of fairway, and is challenging to wade through it to find your disk if you threw it in that area. Back 9 can get a bit muddy (but hey, this is outdoor fun). No concrete tee's. Concrete tees would be sweet! Another great addition would be descriptive whole information/length/picture, etc., at each tee, as currently, the only thing you will find is a trash can here and there with the hole # on it.
Other Thoughts: If you are on the course, please pick up any trash you see and dispose of it in the trash cans at the beginning of each hole (well, most have one). Let's keep it clean and enjoyable for everyone. If anyone is playing a league out there or is trying to start one of interested in one, please let me know. I would love to be a part of a league and or club.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Only needs luxuries

5+    9/22/2010   4/14/2011
Review By: troyd
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its a difficult course! Well sized open holes in the front allow the wind to really play a factor in your game. Not to mention simply testing your accuracy when have to throw a good distance.
In the back the baskets are placed to challenge you. Maybe, also to make you cry... Tight, sometimes blind shots with elevation changes. 7 and 15 are two of the best holes Ive played, anywhere.
The land was used to its fullest potential. Which does a great job minimizing the walking from basket to tee. Extra hole by the parking lot is a great warm-up and a much appericated place to practice. Well groomed fairways help to see which hole is for which tee.
Cons: No tees. This place needs to get a couple bags of cement and put in some tees.
Hole markers with hole pars for amateurs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Course map under Links/Files tab.
Im sitting here trying to think of some real cons but there just aren't any. If you are looking for a challenge and not the same old same old this is the course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

5+    9/29/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There's a pretty good variety of holes here. The first couple holes are wide open with mild elevation changes. The wind whips around these holes, making them play much harder then they look. After the first couple open holes, the course becomes more wooded, and some of the wooded holes have significant elevation changes. A creek also comes into play on some of the forest holes. There are a few holes in the middle of the course that circle around a swamp, which adds an interesting hazard but also eats discs like a boss. One of these holes is a crazy dogleg right, probably the funnest hole of the course. The last couple of holes; 15, 16, and 17 are tightly wooded with elevation change. After playing these holes you walk out of the forest onto the 18th tee. The diversity of the course is highlighted here, the last hole is wide open but over 800ft long.
Cons: The course is a swamp until mid-summer, or whenever it rains, wear crappy shoes and bring bug spray. Some of the holes are not well marked, and it can be easy to get lost. There are no signs and the tee pads need their own interpretation, it is very difficult to figure out where to tee off from and which direction to throw your disc. It is also easy to lose discs on almost every hole, especially holes involving the swamp. It would be much more fun to have pars on all the holes, a course sign just says all holes are par 3 which is pretty lame.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in Chicagoland when dry, could easily be improved by adding signs and better tees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

5+    10/10/2009   7/15/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course makes good use of all available land to provide a wide range of shots. A good mix of wide open holes, heavily forested holes, and a lot in between. The first 4 holes are in the wide open, and are short enough to rack up some birdies. Then next 3 or 4 are in the forest, then back out again, then back in, then back out. I really like this design, as it is not just 9 holes in the field, and then 9 holes in the forest.
- Holes in the open provide a lot of different challenges. There are three bomber holes with large obstacles, and the last hole is unreachable for anybody out there. Bring the longest disc you have for that one. The other two longer ones involve avoiding water and deep rough, laying up can be a wise decision. A few others in the open have some minor elevation changes, including a gentle upshot and a shot down a hill. Good variety of different tosses for most of these, even without many obstacles.
- Most of the forest holes are pretty short, so elevation changes, obstacles, and tight fairways make for the challenge. There are some decent up and down shots, usually coupled with a slight curve either left or right. Most of the time, the challenge is to avoid hitting any trees that litter the fairway. Personally, I felt there was a good amount of tree-littering; any more would have been overkill and any less would be too easy.
- A couple of holes go into and out of the forest as well, which make great use of the trees to demand a certain line.
- Practice basket is present, port-a-potty, and plenty of parking.
Cons: - The first four holes of the course can be found anywhere else. Pretty flat, wide open, and on the shorter side. The only real point of the holes is to tackle the ever-present wind, otherwise it feels like practice. It is good for a warm up, but that's 20% of the course right there.
- The short holes are pretty short throughout the course. While there are a good amount of obstacles in the forest, and some elevation throughout, it seems like a lucky shot can produce a birdie just as easily as a well placed one.
- No tee pads and no signs never really bothered me, but I know it is a major turn off for other players. The tee areas are completely destroyed and rutted in the open, not so bad in the forest. I feel like it is a minor problem, but that's just me. As far as the signage, I can see how people would be frustrated as well. If I hadn't been shown around my first time, I am sure I would have missed at least one hole, if not more.
Other Thoughts: - In spite of all its shortcomings, I still really enjoy playing this course. Lots of different types of shots needed - almost any combination of uphill, downhill, left, right, straight, open, and wooded can be found here. There are a bunch of shorter, technical holes, but also some epic ones that dare you to throw over some nasty, swampy rough.
- I think this course is one of the most subjective courses to review... if you have a big arm, it might seem like 3 good holes and that's it. If you need perfect tee pads and signs, you will hate it. But, for a casual player like myself, it really has everything I need to feel satisfied.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Around the Edges

1    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun hole design
- Solid elevation changes
- Great variety (open, wooded, long bombs, short technical)
- Well groomed and defined fairways. (except 12)
- Wind becomes a factor on the open holes.
- Swamp and small creeks make for interesting water hazards.
- Solid baskets
- Friendly locals
Cons: - Very sloppy and muddy after rainfall.
- Tee pads were terrible and many were flooded.
- Few baskets were flooded
- No tee signs.
- Garbage cans were insufficient at signifying teepads.
- Navigation issues (both finding the next hole and the physical trek of getting to it.)
Other Thoughts: I personally considered this course "roughing" it in the disc golf world. To me, Fairfield has some fairly interesting shots and some really neat disc golf holes, but the course just doesn't seem complete. The tee pads are a disaster, some have eroded into strange lumps of gravel where others were completely flooded. This course needs tee signs to help navigation. My group found tee #7, but we all threw drives in the wrong direction until we saw a pair of locals throw a different way off the tee behind us. (They must have thought we were idiots). We met some other locals later on that helped us through the back half of the course. Besides, not being able to find the next hole physically getting there can be a challenge with all the standing water after a rainfall. Hole 12 is a mess with no direct route across soggy ground and chest high grass without going right through. If you don't want to get dirty, or swampy don't even think about coming here after a rainfall. I really hope tee signs and better teepads can be put in at some point because I believe Fairfield has a lot to offer if standard disc golf equipment is put in and some drainage problems are solved. It might be able to hit a 4/5 discs if some of the amenities I mentioned were added. It is definitely worth a play once if you live within an hour, but be prepared to get messy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dang SWAMP!

1    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 264  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is a good "par 3". Rolling hills were REAL rolling hills that make for some decent elevation changes, nothing too dramatic. Definitely a must play course! Kinda far from me but I still liked it!
Cons: SWAMP!!! The wind was blowing just enough to pick it up and toss it right in the pond. The group in front of me went in and the group behind me went in.... Lost my trusty surge. And hole 18 is a ridiculous par 3. but paring the course is a definite possibility. Just not that day for me.... And LOTS of people and BIG groups by mid afternoon. Kind of a given for the weekends anywhere.
Other Thoughts: I like the course! Definitely has it's own challenges. I'll be up there again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open and mostly short

5+    10/31/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 20 holes

Garbage Cans have hole number on them by almost every tee.

Somewhat wooded

Good Discatcher Pros

Some long holes: 13 (about 600') and 20 (about 850')

Uses what elevation is available in the land: 2: down and then up, 4: slightly up, 5: slightly down, 6: moderately up, 7: 30 foot drop or so through a tight opening, you get the picture...

Variety of shots needed for birdies ON THE WOODED HOLES. Most of the wooded holes are pretty fun.

Large Parking lot

This is a disc golf only park

Wind can add chalenge on the open holes.

A fun course

Some swamp adds to challenge in the middle of the park. Especially hole 12, although open is a good risk reward shot. When there is water in the fairway you either try to throw 400' over the wetland or lay up about 300'. Perhaps hole 10 is a better example. Dogleg right 377' unless you can bust out a superman hyzer over huge trees and the swamp on the right side. It you come up short on the turnover shot you are probably in water. The more safe you play it the less likely you will birdie this hole. There are many other fun holes just not the majority.
Cons: Tee pads are BAD. They are like 30 foot long strips of gravel that get muddy and eroded. There are ruts from water damage on many tees. Bricks try to show you where to throw from but it isn't always fesable to throw from the marks. Many tees are dirt which are sadly better than the gravel.

Whenever you go into the woods, the holes get shorter and whenever you are in the open, the holes are longer. The con is that most of the wooded holes are shorter just because they are more technical.

Most of the course is rather short. There is distance variety but sometimes all similar distances go in a row. For example holes 2-7 are all between 230 and 300', mid range shots for most people. Also 14A-17 are all 200' or under. It gets repitive. It shows the generalization I made above.

This course gets very busy in the summer mostly with chuckers and huge groups golfing together. Sometimes there are even backups at the first tee.

Prairie rough in the open holes is very annoying in the summer. It is infuriating to throw your disc and not be able to find it even though the area is completely open. It is mowed occassionally. It is not like 3 feet tall priairie grass adds any chalenge except for finding your disc.

Course is right next to the road, not secluded.

No signs except for 1 randomly in the middle of the park that says no drinking and that the park closes at sundown.

This course can get very flooded. When it is super flooded is is not much fun to play. Definately go somewhere else if it is raining or after a rain, or in the spring when all the snow melts.
Other Thoughts: For now, if you are around here go to Lippold or Crystal Lake or Bevier in Waukegan over fairfield. Some good local 9 holers include Warren in Gurnee and Adler in Libertyville.

There is a possibility of a redesign, we'll have to wait and see for now.

Local club Discontinuum put in 11A and 14A. (11A is the basket that double functions as a practice basket)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating Fairfield as the Swamp Thing

5+    11/20/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please read in other thoughts about the swamp, course map, and course tour.

Practice basket near tee #1 comes in handy when you are waiting on large crowds.

Last spring the park district placed a garbage barrel near each tee. They painted the hole # on each barrell to mark each tee. There has been a lot less trash.

Distance. This course has 5 holes over 350ft.

Although mostly open, the wooded holes of 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, & 17 are solid. You will pay the price on bad shots.

Risk/Reward Holes. There are several holes where you can take a chance to throw over trees or the swamp to net birdies. If you make a mistake you can land in some heavy rough or The Swamp and pay the price. These holes include 6, 10, 12, 14, & 18.

Altough this course is pretty flat it utilizes minor elevation very good.
Cons: The tee pads are one of the most frustrating and ongoing problems at Fairfield. They are limestone tee pads that are not boxed in. They are very uneven and have ruts. Often they get washed out by rain. They are much better than the old dirt/mud tees but they are still in bad condition. Please be careful.

Navigation of this course can be very difficult. There are no tee signs.
Print a map at the below.
http://discontinuum.org/index...amp;Itemid=60

This course can be very muddy after rain and especially during the early spring.

This course gets an unbelievable amount of play. They had to expand the parking lot a few years ago. Be prepared to wait and be patient during prime evening hours and weekends.

Overall there are way too many open holes which leads to repetitive shots.

If this course had cement tee pads and tee signs i'd rate it 3-Good.
Other Thoughts: I live about 2 miles from this course and play this course often. If you need a guide send me a message.

Watch out for "The SWAMP" !!! This is a disc eating swamp and you do not want to go in there. It smells and it's nasty. It comes into play on #'s 10, 12, & 18.

The skeeters can get pretty bad during the warmer monthes. Bring bug spray.

Here is a photo tour with description of each hole. The baskets have been painted and restored since they were taken.
http://discontinuum.org/index...amp;Itemid=60

I have talked to the park district and there is a possibility of the total redesign if the forest preserve builds a bike path to link millenium trail. There will be a bridge built that will access the wooded area across the creek. The bridge would also span the swamp on hole #12.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.