Bloomingdale, IL 
Springfield Park Share
Uploaded By: Nosh Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Soccer feild to the right of basket.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Does This Factory Tour Take Us Through The Gift Shop?

1    7/1/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
Pros: You know when you're on a factory tour and the tour always leads you through the gift shop so they can sell you their cheesy products. Well, the park's department employee who designed this course and obviously has never played the game, took the opportunity here to showcase her entire lovely park by making disc golfers traipse all around the county when they just wanted to play a short 6 hole course. I'm surprised she missed having us play through her office.

The course has decent metals signs that show the hole #, par and distance. The concrete tee pads are always connected to the walking paths. I think Harr might be correct in his thinking that this is some kind of wheelchair accessible course. The course also has the same elongated ugly, eyesore tee pads as Sunrise Pak DGC. The baskets are shiny new Discatchers with the yellow bands.
Cons: There are so many problems here. The design is terrible. I've never walked so far to play six holes of disc golf.

Hole # 2 plays DIRECTLY over the bocce ball court. It might prove entertaining when some 16 year old punk hits an old guy playing bocce with a disc and the old Italian guy playing bocce was once a hit man for the Chicago mob!

# 3 sign is gone. And this hole might unplayable during some soccer games.

# 5 sign missing. Tee off by the memorial to Ellanor Winkler. Could she have been the Fonz's mother?

# 6 is a straight 225' throw to a basket set 15 from the parking lot on the left and about 10 feet from the outfield fence on it's right. Did anyone consider that this might not be such an ideal location for a basket? How many cars have to get hit? Or little league right fielders?

Ugly tee pad areas need a front board installed so players won't keep trying to cheat up on these lengthy holes.

Another thing I can't quite get right in my head is, Who is this course designed for? Beginners? Recreation players? Wheelchair bound golfers? Pros?
Other Thoughts: If I were in charge of this railroad, I would shorten the course and have it finish out in the trees where the current # 4 basket is. As it sits currently, it's one of the poorer designed courses I've encountered.

And what in the hell is this cornhole that Mike Harr is writing about in his review? We used to talk about cornhole in previous times but it had nothing to with parks, disc golf or people from fine families!

 Waste Of Time

1    10/10/2009   3/21/2010
Review By: wolf1616
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple of the holes are actually kind of fun to play. This would be a great course for a child or someone not really into the game. If you just want to go throw a disc for 10 minutes of so this is the course for you.

The course is designed in a reasonably innovative fashion though, I liked where they were going, but unfortunately they never got there.
Cons: Obviously I didn't like it. The first few holes are extremely short and easy and then as previously mentioned by others, there's a huge walk to the next 3 holes. Basically, if I was interested in teaching my 7 year old nephew to play I might think about bringing him here. Although, if he ended up being interested and wanted to play more, this course would quickly bore him with all the walking between holes and that there aren't any more holes to play.

Other Thoughts: I was hoping a town like Bloomingdale with all their money would be able to provide an amazing course to play. This was a sad attempt at shoving a bunch of activities into one park, and half-___ing each.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Inept design

2-4    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 146  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, new Innova Discatcher baskets
Decent crushed gravel tees
Visually apealling tee signs
Cons: Very little challenge
Some holes are very dangerous:
2 throws over a bocci ball court
4 benches to close to basket
6 basket is too close to baseball field and parking lot
Short holes
Long walks between short holes
Almost no elevation change
Only 6 holes
Only one hole requires more than a midrange
Other Thoughts: 1 170' Easy wide open shot, the only obstacle is a small tree 15' to the front left of the basket

2 240' The one over the bocci ball court. If no one is playing bocci, it's a wide open straight shot. If the court is in use there are some low obstacles.

3 240' Slightly downhill, scattered, small evergreens provide minor obstacles

Walk around soccer fields

4 290' Decent hyzer shot over small rise and between evergreens. Watch out for benches to the left of basket.

Next tee is on the other side of baseball diamonds

5 370' Longest hole on the course. Pretty wide open for RHBH.

6 225' Dangerous basket placement between outfield fence and parking lot.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Why Bother?

2-4    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park maintained well.
-New everything (2009)
-Plenty of parking
-Course map & tee signs clearly visible
-Extra park accommodations (bathroom, benches, etc..)
Cons: -Very short
-Not enough thought in basket placement
-Not too much challenge (unless you count dodging pedestrians =3)
-Bit of a walk from 3->4 & 4>5
-Did I mention short?
Other Thoughts: The park is easy to find off of Springfield Dr. between Schick Rd and Route 20 (Lake St.). There was plenty of parking even with a soccer game and some baseball practice going on. I spotted the course map on the side of an out building right away near tee #1. I was not impressed by the distances of most of the holes but with all the foot traffic for the other park elements I'm not surprised. There was quite a bit of foot traffic even on a Sunday morning especially on hole #2. I can't imagine the amount of people on a weekend afternoon with all fields in play. If you don't know where to go after hole #3, just follow the asphalt path to the right and you will find tee #4 at the back corner of a soccer field. Speaking of hole #4, there are some benches not far from the basket behind the pine trees. An off shot could startle someone sitting there if it doesn't hit them. Get back on the asphalt path and follow it around the baseball fields for hole #5 & #6. Basket #6 is between the parking lot and a baseball field so take care when throwing. All in all with plenty of other better parks within a 5-15 minute drive there is no reason to bother with this one. It will most likely leave you disappointed that you wasted your time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.