Bloomingdale, IL 
Springfield Park Share
Uploaded By: Nosh   (Taken 6/2009)
Parking lot facing course directory and tee #1



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Does This Factory Tour Take Us Through The Gift Shop?

1    7/1/2016   7/1/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
Pros: You know when you're on a factory tour and the tour always leads you through the gift shop so they can sell you their cheesy products. Well, the park's department employee who designed this course and obviously has never played the game, took the opportunity here to showcase her entire lovely park by making disc golfers traipse all around the county when they just wanted to play a short 6 hole course. I'm surprised she missed having us play through her office.

The course has decent metals signs that show the hole #, par and distance. The concrete tee pads are always connected to the walking paths. I think Harr might be correct in his thinking that this is some kind of wheelchair accessible course. The course also has the same elongated ugly, eyesore tee pads as Sunrise Pak DGC. The baskets are shiny new Discatchers with the yellow bands.
Cons: There are so many problems here. The design is terrible. I've never walked so far to play six holes of disc golf.

Hole # 2 plays DIRECTLY over the bocce ball court. It might prove entertaining when some 16 year old punk hits an old guy playing bocce with a disc and the old Italian guy playing bocce was once a hit man for the Chicago mob!

# 3 sign is gone. And this hole might unplayable during some soccer games.

# 5 sign missing. Tee off by the memorial to Ellanor Winkler. Could she have been the Fonz's mother?

# 6 is a straight 225' throw to a basket set 15 from the parking lot on the left and about 10 feet from the outfield fence on it's right. Did anyone consider that this might not be such an ideal location for a basket? How many cars have to get hit? Or little league right fielders?

Ugly tee pad areas need a front board installed so players won't keep trying to cheat up on these lengthy holes.

Another thing I can't quite get right in my head is, Who is this course designed for? Beginners? Recreation players? Wheelchair bound golfers? Pros?
Other Thoughts: If I were in charge of this railroad, I would shorten the course and have it finish out in the trees where the current # 4 basket is. As it sits currently, it's one of the poorer designed courses I've encountered.

And what in the hell is this cornhole that Mike Harr is writing about in his review? We used to talk about cornhole in previous times but it had nothing to with parks, disc golf or people from fine families!

 lolololololol

1    12/9/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 84  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice baskets
-decent park
-a good place to practice your puts
-a good place to teach young children how to play maybe
-this course seems handicap friendly
Cons: -bad gravel pads that are to short and are uneven
-very open course almost no trees that come into play
- the lay out of this park is beyond bad the last 2 holes are on the other side of the park and took me forever to find
-the signs looked good but they are turned in random directions that make using them very hard and almost pointless to have
-super short course bring a mid and a putter and you will still overthrow a lot of the holes
-only 6 holes
Other Thoughts: this park might as well just be 6 random practice baskets in a field
i don't mind open courses to much because they make for good courses to test out new drivers but this course is to short for that
- i don't mind short courses as long as there are some fun technical shots but this course is far to open to have any technical shots

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cornhole and Disc Golf

1    8/11/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice course map on the snack shop wall.
2) Portopotty available by the first tee.
3) Wheelchair accessible because they have little gravel walkways to each tee and basket from the main paved sidewalk.
4) Beginner friendly because it is wide open and fairly flat.
5) Discatchers are nice baskets and very visible.
6) The park actually has permanent cornhole and horseshoes and plenty of other activities. When have you ever seen cornhole in a park though?
7) Tees are gravel which is better than grass and they seem to be maintained to be kept fairly level (which normally is a problem with gravel tees).
8) Distance variation is moderate, one hole in the 100's, two in the mid 200's, one in the upper 200's and one in the 300's. Not bad for a 6 hole course.
Cons: 1) Most of the holes are short, open, and too simple to be enjoyed by non beginners.
2) Hole #6 is actually dangerous for both the cars parked in the lot and the people on the baseball field. I imagine there are a lot of issues here.
3) The main sidewalk gets within 30-40' of each tee and basket which makes it wheelchair accessible but it also brings the walkers into play.
4) Long walk from #3 to #4 and #4 to #5 might get confusing. I just kept looking for the gravel off of the sidewalk, since I didn't see the course map when I walked up to #1.
5) There is a firepit and small seating area just short of #4 basket. I sure would hate to think of someone getting hit here unknowingly . . . or someone throwing a CE disc into the fire.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure if this was designed as a wheelchair accessible course or not, but it works very well. I guess it would be difficult to push a wheelchair through the turf especially on the small hills on #4 so they would have to throw it all the way to the basket in order for it to work. Regardless the paths of gravel work well to keep the traffic to a confined area. If this wasn't done I suspect worn areas would appear.
It isn't a great course, but it isn't the worst in the area. It has a couple of fun shots on the course and some safety negatives. It just falls right in line with so many of the courses out there, but the park is very well maintained and they have permanent cornhole (supply your own beanbags).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

2-4    10/12/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: Whicho
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compact Gravel Tee Boxes
Disc Catcher Baskets
Good Course if you want to practice short open holes and becoming more accurate with a mid or fairway driver.
One hole does offer the challenge of trees blocking the approach to the hole.
Cons: Course is very short
The signs aren't very good indicators of which basket you need to throw towards on the first couple holes.
The design is horrible.
After the first 3 holes you have to walk across the park back to the begging of the park for hole 4 and then cross 2 softball fields to get to holes 5 and 6.
Other Thoughts: This course would be almost impossible to play at if there were any events going on. Hole 5 throws across one of the fields and the other few have the path very near play where if you throw a bad shot you could take out a pedestrian.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So-So discing, but...

1    6/1/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: phildafunk1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The park has a canopy with bocce courts, bolted to the ground boards for bags, horseshoe pits, and tables with checkers/chess
Cons: 6 holes, good for practice. Hard to find tees. Don't have anything else to say

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 For kids & beginners

2-4    10/8/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic park, well maintained, new discatcher baskets, nice tee areas, course map & signs.
Holes 3, 4 & 5 aren't bad, has playground & other stuff for kids.
Cons: Course layout confusing (check the map on park house near hole 1), there are a couple long walks between holes, the park is often crowded & other users get in the way, hole 2 is too close to a picnic pavilion and area where kids play.
Other Thoughts: Located in a pretty nice park. Took kids here to play DG & go to playground, they love it & rate a 4.
There are nice walking trails along a couple ponds. Could have made a nice DG course here had the space been available.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Plain Jane

1    9/9/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: ufcliff
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None
Cons: Could not find the "tee" for Hole 4. Almost every hole could have challenges from other activities.
Other Thoughts: Should not be considered a course. Should set up 1 or 2 holes and reclassify as a practice range.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - There are a few holes that would be legitimate holes at other courses. One has a good amount of pine trees to avoid, and another has some length.
- For the most part, holes do not interfere with other park activities.
- Good teepads, signs, and baskets.
Cons: - Most holes are short and open. Very little challenge, and very little enjoyment.
- One hole does have some bocce ball courts in the fairway to avoid.
- Extremely long walks in between some holes. Pretty sure there is more length to the course in between holes than the holes themselves.
Other Thoughts: - Really not much to say about this little 6-holer. A good course for brand new players to learn the basics, such as putting. For anyone else, just a practice round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Waste Of Time

1    10/10/2009   3/21/2010
Review By: wolf1616
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple of the holes are actually kind of fun to play. This would be a great course for a child or someone not really into the game. If you just want to go throw a disc for 10 minutes of so this is the course for you.

The course is designed in a reasonably innovative fashion though, I liked where they were going, but unfortunately they never got there.
Cons: Obviously I didn't like it. The first few holes are extremely short and easy and then as previously mentioned by others, there's a huge walk to the next 3 holes. Basically, if I was interested in teaching my 7 year old nephew to play I might think about bringing him here. Although, if he ended up being interested and wanted to play more, this course would quickly bore him with all the walking between holes and that there aren't any more holes to play.

Other Thoughts: I was hoping a town like Bloomingdale with all their money would be able to provide an amazing course to play. This was a sad attempt at shoving a bunch of activities into one park, and half-___ing each.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Inept design

2-4    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 135  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, new Innova Discatcher baskets
Decent crushed gravel tees
Visually apealling tee signs
Cons: Very little challenge
Some holes are very dangerous:
2 throws over a bocci ball court
4 benches to close to basket
6 basket is too close to baseball field and parking lot
Short holes
Long walks between short holes
Almost no elevation change
Only 6 holes
Only one hole requires more than a midrange
Other Thoughts: 1 170' Easy wide open shot, the only obstacle is a small tree 15' to the front left of the basket

2 240' The one over the bocci ball court. If no one is playing bocci, it's a wide open straight shot. If the court is in use there are some low obstacles.

3 240' Slightly downhill, scattered, small evergreens provide minor obstacles

Walk around soccer fields

4 290' Decent hyzer shot over small rise and between evergreens. Watch out for benches to the left of basket.

Next tee is on the other side of baseball diamonds

5 370' Longest hole on the course. Pretty wide open for RHBH.

6 225' Dangerous basket placement between outfield fence and parking lot.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center