Bloomingdale, IL 
Springfield Park Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #5, Tee Pad #6 -- very nice presentation!

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Odd little course

1    10/4/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in really good shape, with brand new baskets and signs that have no wear at all yet. The signs are very nice, with distance and hole layout, and are very brightly colored and easy to see from a distance. There is a nice course map right by the first tee. The tees are nice crushed gravel that provides good footing even in wet weather.

The park brings the couple tiny hills in the park into play to add a little interest on a couple holes. There are a couple holes where the basket is protected by trees and isn't just an easy straight shot.
Cons: The course was clearly not designed by anyone who really understands disc golf. 5 of the holes are silly little ace run holes, and one is a longer, but still open easy shot. One hole plays directly over bocce ball courts, most of the rest play dangerously close to walking paths and sports fields.

There are very long walks between a couple of the holes, so the course has very little flow. Check out the course map carefully so you'll know where to go. There are a couple places where the tee signs are facing the wrong way, and make it unclear which way to throw.

Though the tees are a fine material and well packed, they are ridiculously short and unlevel. They don't allow for any kind of run-up, though that isn't really necessary here.
Other Thoughts: Many of the holes are ok for beginners, with reasonable lengths and no real chances of losing discs. It does seem quite dangerous to have a course clearly intended for beginners to play so close to so many other park activities, along with the parking lot with players who probably don't have the best control. More experienced players won't find anything interesting or challenging here.

This course isn't really worth playing. Though it's a quick 6 holes, the long walks make it take at least as long as a 9 hole course. If the weather is nice, you'll spend a ton of time waiting for people to walk by or clear the fairways. I don't recommend playing here, and I especially don't suggest driving any distance to play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love the gravel tees

5+    9/24/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The gravel tees are my favorite thing about this course. It is the perfect combo of grip and slip for me.
The course is well manicured.
Signs at each hole with little gravel paths around baskets.
Cons: Only six holes.
One hole literally places two bocci ball courts and a pavillion directly in between the tee and basket and another is tucked within feet of a home-run fence and the parking lot.
Very short on all six holes.
Long walk from 3 to 4 and 4 to 5 keeps it from being a quick six.
Other Thoughts: I use this course for a driving range when I dont have much time or the weather is bad. Hole three (can park right by tee #3) is 240ft with the basket surrounded in back by three medium pines and plenty of room to the right or left. So, you can practice accuracy or boom to the left or right and take the path around to pick up discs easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Why Bother?

2-4    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park maintained well.
-New everything (2009)
-Plenty of parking
-Course map & tee signs clearly visible
-Extra park accommodations (bathroom, benches, etc..)
Cons: -Very short
-Not enough thought in basket placement
-Not too much challenge (unless you count dodging pedestrians =3)
-Bit of a walk from 3->4 & 4>5
-Did I mention short?
Other Thoughts: The park is easy to find off of Springfield Dr. between Schick Rd and Route 20 (Lake St.). There was plenty of parking even with a soccer game and some baseball practice going on. I spotted the course map on the side of an out building right away near tee #1. I was not impressed by the distances of most of the holes but with all the foot traffic for the other park elements I'm not surprised. There was quite a bit of foot traffic even on a Sunday morning especially on hole #2. I can't imagine the amount of people on a weekend afternoon with all fields in play. If you don't know where to go after hole #3, just follow the asphalt path to the right and you will find tee #4 at the back corner of a soccer field. Speaking of hole #4, there are some benches not far from the basket behind the pine trees. An off shot could startle someone sitting there if it doesn't hit them. Get back on the asphalt path and follow it around the baseball fields for hole #5 & #6. Basket #6 is between the parking lot and a baseball field so take care when throwing. All in all with plenty of other better parks within a 5-15 minute drive there is no reason to bother with this one. It will most likely leave you disappointed that you wasted your time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud....a 6 hole dud

1    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The first review sums up the details very well. I do not have much to add to that other than noting that this course (if it gets any play) is in a very nice, high profile park so it has the opportunity to introduce many people to DG who have yet to be enlightened.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C- (Clean new park)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good for families, vetrans need not apply

1    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand new course
- Well manicured park
- Clear, new signage for each hole
- Restrooms/water fountain available
- Ample, off street parking
Cons: - Mostly short holes
- Layout problems with other park elements
- Potential issues with crowds
- Difficult to find a few tees
Other Thoughts: First, let me say this: Not all golf courses have to challenge Tiger Woods, and not all Disc Golf courses have to be pro caliber. Also, the more baskets we have in the ground, the better the exposure and future of the sport.

That being said, this course could be a great family/beginner course to introduce new players to the game, but with a few layout problems. The course itself is brand new, so new gravel tees, new baskets, and new signage everywhere. The course does it's best to fit inside a small park with several other areas, but there are a few issues with overlap. For instance, on hole 2, you throw directly over top of a Bocce Ball court! Obviously there is a hyzer line around the end, but for a course that should cater to beginners, this might not be readily apparent.

Also, there is a long (200+ yard) walk between holes 3 and 4. If I hadn't been taking pictures of the signage at the course and gone back to review the camera, I wouldn't have known where to walk for the next hole. Similarly, to get between hole 4 and 5, you have to walk almost completely around the end of a baseball diamond.

If you are looking for a place to bring mom and dad or the kids to give disc golf try, this would be a great course. If you are looking to test out your new driver or practice 400ft bombs, there are much better courses in the area to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.