Page, AZ 
Page DGC Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff   (Taken 7/2009)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Interesting Terrain, Tough Navigation

1    9/19/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built on a sloping hillside that has a couple of small ravines running through it. The soil is dark red sand with quite a bit of red sandstone exposed. Vegetation is scattered brushy plants no more than 2' tall.

There is a simple T-post with a number driven next to each tee pad. The tee pads are simply flattened out spots in the dirt, sometimes with rocks or branches to outline them.

For the most part the holes on this courses are short, but there is good use of elevation to make them more interesting. Several baskets were placed on outcrops or hillsides where missing your approach will cost you vertical distance.

Baskets are placed on and anchored to a square of concrete. This actually makes them easier to locate.
Cons: Navigation is the biggest issue on this course. They have added a course map near the parking lot, but it turned out to be the least useful map that I've ever seen. Other than giving a vague idea of direction of play and revealing the color-coding of the baskets, it did little to actually help me find holes.

The choice to color-code the baskets may have seemed like a good one, but it backfired. Most of the colors chosen were dark. Examples are black, dark green, navy blue, and dark red. This causes the baskets to blend into the surrounding ground, making them hard to see, especially in late evening.

Trying to find the posts marking the teepads was tough, because this tract has numerous other posts marking manholes, water lines, sewer lines, etc.

The evening I played there was a surprising amount of foot traffic from the housing project behind the course, through the course, and up to the parking area. This impacts Hole 1 more than the remainder, but there were also several folks using the course as a walking trail.
Other Thoughts: Park on the left end of the parking lot. You'll see the new course map down the trail a bit, but it doesn't give you a good idea of where to start. The first tee is much farther down the hill toward the housing project fence. The first shot is back up the hill.

With easier to locate baskets and better navigation I would rate this course a 2. But I'd probably not go out of my way to play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Saw Red

2-4    5/26/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain here is typical of the scenery that probably brought you to the Utah/Arizona area: red rocks, red dust, red cliffs, and some scraggly bushes. And it makes for good disc golf. About five of the holes play over mini canyons to baskets perched on the side. There aren't any ridiculous rollaways here; good shots are rewarded. But missed putts or bad drives could leave you below the basket.

The rocks here had great traction.
Cons: Navigation is poor. There are no numbers on the pads or baskets, so you never know if you're in the right spot. We skipped one basket on our first round and had no idea. I'm glad one previous reviewer said the course goes clockwise or I'd have had no idea where to throw (there are usually at least three baskets visible from where you are).

Tee pads are non-existent. I'm not much of a tee pad snob, but one of the holes has you teeing off from sand. Good luck with your run up.

Oh, and there is an absurd amount of broken glass. Be careful picking up your disc.
Other Thoughts: The first tee pad starts from the southeast corner of the parking lot. Don't throw to the white basket that is about 100' away, throw to the one that is more to the right (I forget the color). The third hole is the hidden basket. It's an orange basket that is east of the tee pad and maybe 240' away. After that navigation is okay, but you're never positive you're throwing to the right basket.

This course doesn't feel finished, and even painting numbers on the rocks would help. That said, this was a fun 9-holer. Lots of scenic ace runs and interesting topography.

I assume you didn't come to Page just for this course, so let me highly recommend hitting up Lower Antelope Canyon a few miles away. One of the most scenic, unique places I've ever been.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Missing a few Pages

1    7/19/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you're thirsty and wandering through a desert, you can't really complain about the quality of water when you stumble across a puddle. Similarly, this is the only course in about a hundred mile radius and a disc golf course is always a welcome sight. And while it's situated on a nice red rock landscape and has some elevation, this course needs an extreme makeover (see cons):

- 9 holes that go up and down a little park outside the community college. Starting out, you throw downhill, then play across a wash that bifurcates the park. Then, the last few holes proceed to kind of go up hill. Nice elevation changes.

- Decent hole lengths for such a small park. I'd say 1-2 holes exceeded 325 feet or so.

- Precarious placement of baskets on a few holes. Some baskets are near cliffs of red rock.
Cons: - Because there's no map for this course, I'm not even sure I played the holes in the right order. Each hole has a rock painted with a white dot on it to denote where the tee is. The problem is that there are no numbers. I played in the most intuitive loop possible and pretty sure I played the layout, but they need to (at least) denote the number of each tee for the simple sake of navigation for non-locals such as myself. "Next tee" signs would be superb.

- Teepads are non-existent. You have to run up on the ground, which is uneven on a lot of holes.

- Broken bottles everywhere. I played here during sunset, and you could see the shimmering sparkles of all the fragments.

- Park can get very busy with other people (bikers, hikers, dog walkers, etc.). Watch out when you throw.

- Aside from elevation changes, no real variety on shots. Just throw low to handle the wind and you have 9 of the same drives.
Other Thoughts: I'm a sucker for red rock desert courses such as this one, but it needs a lot of TLC before it can even be considered a decent course. I'm guessing this was one of those projects by the high school that has since been abandoned. What a shame! I don't usually knock a course this bad for having navigation issues, but when you find yourself playing safari golf for the better part of an hour, some changes need to be made.

If you're visiting Lake Powell and don't mind the glass fragments everywhere, the elevation and terrain make for a fairly fun round. Just keep in mind the limitations I outlined.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course (Needs Map)

1    7/8/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has the makings of some really fun-to-play holes. Lots of good elevation changes. Fun trail. Fun scenery of red rock. Baskets were in good shape (although no numbers). Some fun high-risk / reward shots with baskets cliff side (small cliffs).
Cons: Lacks good markings. No course map that we could find. Neither tee boxes nor baskets were numbered. We ended up having to make up our own holes. I also would prefer an 18 hole course and this was only 9.
Other Thoughts: Despite no course map and no hole markings, I had a blast on this course. I probably would have given it a 4.0 rating if it had some navigation aids like a course map or proper hole markings.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the difficulty, distance, elevation changes, basket placements. I'm from Southern Texas so I found the Arizona landscape new and exciting. Good drives are rewarded, accurate upshots count. Putting has to be on or you can miss the baskets and go over the cliff or roll down the hill in some instances.
Cons: Difficult to navigate. No map, no numbers on baskets or tee boxes, with tee boxes that are rough and hard to tell exactly where they point. We played one hole wrong as a result. Soft sandy, bumpy footing in the tee boxes makes the run-up difficult, and because most holes are in the 350-450 range, bad drives due to footing can be frustrating. Baskets are home made and though they did a decent job, the chains are too heavy/basket portion too small in diameter in comparison so some putts will be pushed back out by the chains. Baskets are also set a bit too low.
Landscape is covered with tons of broken glass. From a distance it's pretty but up close it's not so nice.
Other Thoughts: If this was my only course I'd be happy with it but I would make efforts to improve the tee boxes and make it easier to navigate for visitors. If these issues were fixed I would rate it about a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 page dgc

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great layout with risk reward shots. most baskets on a cliff side, with 20-40ft drop off. holes avg 250ft-340ft. great desert scenery over looking page,az. baskets in decent shape.
Cons: no tee signs, the tee pad area has large rock mixed with sand making it hard to plant foot. hard to navagate. baskets are super low.
Other Thoughts: when pulling in the parking lot of ccc, park all the way left and the first tee off area is 20ft down the hill. the tee signs are marked of with spray paint ( blue and white spray paint ). all in all fun little course with stunning views and fun shots. def. play if in page,az

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.