Monte Vista, CO 
Rio Grande River Retreat Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Overview



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Rip and Zip

1    3/16/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 98  Reviewed: 22
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -WOW factor. Zip line across the River: nuff said.
-Humble, hand's on owner. Just a nice round.
-Good use of what's there to create challenge.
-Some variety of up, down, left, right.
-Many Fourteeners (14,000 foot peaks) in sight.
-All around gorgeous setting.
Cons: -About 7 holes are pretty wide open and flat.
-LOTS of rusty tin cans on the first hill. Would take major equipment or a whole crew to clear it though.
-Can be very windy, especially spring/ afternoons.
-No facilities at all. Bring what you need.
-The thrill of climbing a tall ladder in the wind and hooking yourself in to a zip-line is not for the timid.
-This is not really a con, but as Don puts it, after you ride the Zip line a while, it's just transportation. It's not like what people pay for when flying down a mountain for several minutes.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course for me to review. IF you have never done a zip line and you can hook up with Don and have him show you around, this is a 4-5 star experience. But if you can't hook up with Don, you'll miss the Zip-line and the whole middle of the course. If you played here often, you'd want more variety. All in all, a great visit if you call ahead and make it part of your road-trip as most reviewers have.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the trip for this fun, adventurous course!

1    5/11/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: tele-mon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ZIP LINE ACROSS THE RIVER AND BACK!!! Elevation changes, open shots, cottonwood treed shots, amazing scenery, privacy, & a personal guide. We saw some huge birds of prey in the cottonwoods. Hole 17 is a straight-line shot marked as a driving range. Some great elevation changes such as the downhill shot on #3. Throwing across the river twice can be daunting, but oh so much fun.
Cons: Lack of signage, and the tee pads need some work. It would be difficult to follow on your own without Don's help, at least the first time. Watch out for glass on hole #2, which plays across a long-abandoned dump site, but the ancient tin cans and bottles are interesting in their own right.
Other Thoughts: We made a road trip especially to play this course, as well as Poncha Springs and Reservoir Hill in Pagosa Springs. It was a great decision, as this is one of the most interesting courses I've played! We called Don and left a message before leaving the day before, and he returned the call promptly, said the course was always open, but just to call back when we were close and he would come out to meet and guide us. Mr. Stultz is a heck of a disc player and a true gentleman. He was most hospitable, and met us right when we got there.

As others have stated, he has laid out three different tee boxes for each hole, which are still somewhat primitive, marked with landscaping flags or fence posts. The course starts uphill onto an old dump site, filled with artifacts and some broken glass, so watch your step. At the top of the hill, hole three is a signature shot downhill towards the river. This is a great spot to scope out many of the following holes on both sides of the Rio Grande. Don had all the distances memorized, but some signs would help in the future.

Hole #4 is your first chance to huck across the river. Then, Don unlocks the zip harnesses (more of a swing seat, no safety harness here), and you zip across after your throw. The next five holes play on the south side, with various water hazards and an OB cow pasture to keep things interesting. We threw two discs into an irrigation ditch and pond, but Don seemed to always have some sort of tool available nearby to retrieve them.

Throwing back across the river on #11 (I think), your second zip involves climbing a tall ladder and hooking yourself in, definitely a thrill!!! The next few holes play through tall cottonwoods along the banks of the river. Every hole has something interesting to discover. The final two holes pay back across a large field, which Don has marked as a driving range on #17. The last hole is back by the parking area, and is shielded by several wooden posts for a little extra difficulty.

If you ever have the chance, I highly recommend making the trip to meet Don Stultz and playing his very fun course. We offered to make a donation to his ministry or for the course, but all he would accept was some antelope meat I had brought from last year's hunt. 4+ stars, only the lack of concrete tee pads and signage hold me -back. ZIP LINE plus DISC GOLF = WIN!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zipped through a great round

1    3/3/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Chilly9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is fun and has a variety of distance. When the river is high it is very challenging. Get ahold of Don and he may just meet you there and give you the personal tour. Taking the zipline to cross the river was awesome.
Cons: First couple of holes have glass and other debris. The course could use a little work and solid tees.
Other Thoughts: Playing here was a great experience along our road trip I aced hole 9 from blue tee 313ft. Don met up and gave us the grand tour. Worth the trip!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, well laid out course

2-4    9/23/2012   3/12/2013
Review By: Crimsonjihad
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well planned out course. Great variety of challenging and interesting shots. Zip lining across the Rio Grande twice is fun.
Other Thoughts: You MUST get a hold of the contact in description to get access to the zip line. He is an awesome guy though and will play through with you, awesome if it's your first play through, makes it easier to find the baskets.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stunning Course

1    3/2/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: kjdutter
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a true test of your disc golf abilities. When I played there all of the factors of WIND, elevation, water, hyzers, anhyzers and straight shots came into play. And although there weren't a lot of trees on the 54-acre property, the designer made good use of them.

A lot of the holes were seemingly straight-forward and within reach of a common 300+-foot hyzer/anhyzer but there were just enough of "the elements" to make it so that there weren't a ton of "gimmie" birdies. The water came into play a lot even at this time of the year, I can't even imagine how daunting some of those shots are when the water is at full height.

There are three sets of tee pads, making the course accessible for all types of player. Can't wait for the gold layout!
Cons: Tee pads are the #1 issue on this course. I found myself unable to execute a full drive on several holes because of either the position or the condition of the tee pad(s). If Don needs help creating some tee pads I would gladly volunteer my time.

There is really only one par 4. With this much space I believe this could be a championship level course with the addition a few more par 4s.

No tee signs. Again, I would help with that.
Other Thoughts: Don Stults is really an awesome guy and a great disc golfer! He was given this property and DONATED it to a local ministry, at no charge... and continues to maintain it with his free time. This course is amazing and so is Don!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best as of yet

2-4    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Salcidomd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well the couse has many aspects to it first two holes are going up hill then across a hill with varying patterns of wind at all times very challenging the third hole is fron the top of the hill down and its a long way down holes 4 and 11 are crossing the river 17 being a realllll long drive a good strech for the arm and 18 is in a hole VERY challenging i love it
Cons: Onnly cons is the course neeeds upkeep holes 1 and 2 are around ALOOOOOOT of broken glass hard on plastic disks wear boots and pants there is rough foliage on holes 4-11 needs a little landscaping
Other Thoughts: my opinion is thiis is one of the BEST courses i have played obvously who designed it thoujght it out very well and knows what he/she is doing and i thank thenm for building a great course! **and as i have come to find out this course is maintained by 1 person so that being said... the maintnance it very well for just one person ... i would suggest getting a club togather to support the grooming of the course and regular maintanace... and im thinking adverts to attract people to this wonderful park*

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Down Home Feelin

2-4    7/26/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: Spet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am originally from North Carolina where the tree's are all around and the grass is lovely and the sun with rivers nearby, and if you want that kind of experience then this is your course! This course has nice long stretches and some short ones, some wilds hills and the Famous Rio Grande to throw over. Zip lines... which I have to say, were to much fun, and just a home feeling. The position of this course makes it so beautiful to see all of the surroundings and the course is laid out in an interesting manner so as it make it semi challenging. All around I loved this course.
Cons: First time through this course can be kind of confusing. As in most courses I have played, they were simple with few trees and easy to find the hole. Here, the obstacles are everywhere and make it interesting, but hard to find the goal at times. First time though I would suggest either asking him to give you a tour, or to get ahold of a map. The only other Con i can think of is the fact that #2 does kind of have a trash hazard. As long as you watch were you step as you travel to retrieve your disc and you don't just run like a fool, you should be fine.
Other Thoughts: The courses is absolutely beautiful, and the Dynamics of it I have not seen in any other course, and i have played courses in Denver, and all over Colorado and some in North Carolina. This is my favorite one, hands down. To new and old players alike, it is a very interesting and enjoyable course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  beautiful course!

1    5/21/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: krisnosti
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: If you're looking for a wonderful day trip/disc golf experience, this is it! It really doesn't get any better. A private retreat on the river, built by a gentleman who loves the sport. All levels of play encouraged, family fun, wonderful setting.
Cons: It didn't last forever! I cant wait to go back. As is typical of any expedition, bring lots of water & food, sturdy footwear, sun protection.
Other Thoughts: This course is a real treat! Looking forward to seeing everyone out there, maybe having canned food donations in lieu of greens fees could help Mr. Dons ministry. just a thought. Lets do our best to "give it back"! When you see all the work that has gone into the course, you'll know what I mean!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: Bunker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great fun zip lineing across rio grand river on swing set seats. Hole one from white tees is my favorite one yet tough for a par three great hole.
Cons: Long course open until you get back on the 13th hole. 13th thru 15 are in the woods 17 is marked great with fence post the first fence post is set at 200ft every one after that is 100ft all the way to the 700ft hole.
Other Thoughts: course does not have sign so look in mail box their are maps to help navigate course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Grande Ol' Time

1    10/9/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 75  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Have you ever met someone for the first time and walked away thinking "What a great guy"? If not, you've never met Don Stults. When you arrive to play his riverside disc course, he'll be your guide. Along with showing you the ropes (more like zip line cables) he's an all-around great host. If your disc lands in the water, you guessed it: he's going in after it. It's disc golf veterans like Don (he threw his first disc over 34 years ago!) whose continued interest have brought the sport from its humble beginnings to its recent surge in popularity. Just remember to give him a quick phone call in advance so he can arrange to meet you at the gate or the zip line on hole 4.

The beautiful course is laid out across a large plot of land split down the middle by the Rio Grande River. Three sets of tees are available and each corresponds to a different color on the Scorebook function of this site - a nice touch. The red tees are the shortest and offer the option of avoiding two of the more intimidating throws across the Rio Grande, which newcomers and rookies will surely appreciate. The white tees are the course standard and offer plenty of variety, while the blue tees occasionally get "ridiculously pro" (i.e. throwing through the open doorway of an unfinished building). A monster drive from a cliff top some 100 feet above the Rio on hole 3 will stick in your memory, as will the hilltop tee on #16 and the measured driving range on #17. You won't forget holes 4 and 11 either, where you throw your driver to the far shore then clip-in and fly across a roaring river on a zip line to finish the hole.
Cons: As with most one-man shows, things can fall to the wayside because there simply aren't enough hours in the day. Several of the pads are pretty rough and you'll have to watch your footing. The tee markers (posts with ribbons or paint) are sometimes hard to find, but chances are you'll have either the direction of Don at your side or your past knowledge of the course. Naturally, the wind and water play a big factor and could decide the fate of your round. In summer months, don't forget bug spray, sun screen and your shades. The grass can get chest high, so whether you wear shorts, pants, shoes or sandals is your call. The fact that the course is awesome - yet private - is a bit of a quandary.

This course isn't the easiest to find, so be sure to follow the directions on the main page or map out the address ahead of time. The nearby small towns aren't known for their wide range of services, so plan your visit accordingly. However, there are plenty of nearby attractions including Great Sand Dunes Nat'l Park, Wolf Creek Ski Area, mountain biking, 14ers, fishing, camping, off-roading and more.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course. If you go out of your way to make it a destination you won't be disappointed! Days later you'll find yourself smiling when you think back on zipping across the Rio Grande in the middle of a game of disc golf against the backdrop of the towering Sangre De Cristo and San Juan mountain ranges.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.