Mountlake Terrace, WA 
Terrace Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quite the Hike

1    10/15/2014   10/18/2014
Review By: TheMinnesotan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of hole variety. Short, long, uphill, downhill, trees, open shots.
-Nice tee pads
-Full 18 holes
Cons: -Hard to navigate (there is a google map with the new layout that works well, but I played it alone for the first time and definitely had to do some hunting for tee pads)
-Vandalism: Lots of graffiti, missing basket on hole one (I assume stolen)
-Layout: the walk from 18 and between some of the holes is pretty long. Play doesn't really flow all that well when you have a 5 min walk between holes.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course for the most part. Definitely had to mix up the shot types to reach the baskets.
THIS COURSE IS A HIKE! I read some reviews that said there would be elevation changes and long walks and man were they right! Not a course that can be played quickly!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lost my favorite disc

1    9/22/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Tromavilcitizen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Holes have some challenging elevation shots. Course skirted a park and walking trail but never had an issue with a park goer in the way
Cons: Lots of undergrowth. easy to lose a disc. Lots of elevation changes. shoot uphill to said basket then turn around and throw right back down the hill you walked up.
Other Thoughts: I lost my favorite disc here. A transparent Orange Discraft Surge SS with a Blue ring and writing. I also learned to start writing my number on my disc. Can't wait for the Disc Beeper to come out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First impressions

1    12/3/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrace Creek is a really fun course with a lot of unique holes. I really enjoyed holes #1-4 but hole #18 is hands down the most fun, it's maybe 500+ ft, but it's downhill so with a good long throw you have a chance to birdie it. You also have a pretty good chance to loose a disc or two on hole #18.
There are mostly concrete tee pads and a few trash cans. There are no signs but it's still pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: There are a few holes on the back nine (#14-16) that are in transition and kind of crappy thanks to nearby construction.
There is not a lot of hole variation, most of the hole are setup for a right handed back hand throw (to the left) with maybe about 2 or 3 holes playing slightly to the right.
The course is not marked all that well, and it is quite a hike from the basket on hole #18 back out to your car.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really enjoyed this course and will be back to play Terrace Creek's signature holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terrace Creek Baby!

5+    12/9/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots that will test your game pretty well. Good amount of elevation and plenty of longer holes for big throwers. A good challenge to every disc in your bag and a couple of one of a kind holes. The local players have put bark down in the spots on the course that were still muddy from the winter, they are also putting in a lot of work and the trash is starting to go away. The hole 18 top of the world shot is amazing!
Cons: The course has been vandalized pretty bad, there used to be signs and markers but they have all been ripped out which makes the course very hard to navigate by yourself if you are playing all 18 holes, though the front nine is pretty easy to follow. The fairways to some of the holes are right in line with people walking around and the park gets busy so waiting for pedestrians to pass happens quite frequently, not to mention that a lot of people use the disc golf course as well. The back 9 has been moved around and changed so much recently because of a dog park which made them take out 2 or 3 holes. Lots of hills and no benches so you can get worn out easily if your not careful. Finding the back 9 without a guide is near impossible as it is a half mile walk.
Other Thoughts: The course used to be a lot better before the back 9 has been screwed up, since most of the holes there now are temporary. Once they figured out what they are going to do with the back 9 I have faith it will get better. Recently the holes by the garbage pit has been taken out, now you shoot back down the big hill after twelves for hole thirteen and then walk back up the hill again and play as normal, this is just stupid backtracking and making people go up the giant hill twice, I say skip the new thirteen and move on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Memories

5+    7/2/2001   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course lots of different shots. Evertyhing ranging from open to in the woods. There are short controlled shots and some big shots as well. Hole 18!!!! One of the sweetest shots I have ever played. Good shots and lots of fun once you play and figure out the layout. Elevation used well on almost all of the holes.
Cons: Hard to navigate with no signs and long walks between a couple of holes. Couple holes close to play areas. Can get thick at times when your in the rough. No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Good times!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Terrace Creek

5+    11/25/2009   3/25/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The course over the last year has really been cleaned up and the brush has been cleared away which makes the course much more visually appealing. The tee pads were recently updated and are all cement and level which makes it easier for controlled drives. The holes have a lot of variety and elevation changes, which makes the course more challenging. Basket locations are well thought out and are often guarded by trees and other local foliage. The front 9 holes are fairly easy to navigate through (with the first four on the east side of the park and the rest on the west side) and quite enjoyable. The back 9 are just as intense but somewhat harder to locate for first timers.

For information on upcomming events or "next tee" locations look for the new kiosk near tee one. New tee signs are to be put in as well which would make a great addition to this course. Restrooms can only be found near the playground by basket 5, tee 6, so plan accordingly.
Cons:
Vandalism has always had a big part on the overall appeal of the course. However, it seems like the locals are making a positive impact because I am seeing less and less. Trash is still a problem, as more garbage cans are needed all over the course (especially around the front nine where more pedestrians tend to be).
Other Thoughts:
This course has always been a lot of fun and challenging. On the old layout it was difficult but very posssible to shoot under par, but with the new layout I am not sure if it is nearly as difficult. Although I am sad to see some great holes removed, I really enjoy how challenging some of the new holes have become on the front nine. Since the reconfiguration of many of the back holes Terrace Creek has lost some of its luster, and due to this setback it has lost a spot in the Washington State Series for the first time in many many years. It is a shame that the dog park took over some really great holes, especially since many dog walkers still use the grass on the open field down below near holes 5-9. I look forward to when Terrace Creek gets back on track and through some redesign, it has the potential to be one of the better courses in the state.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.