Mountlake Terrace, WA 
Terrace Creek Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Pro Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course, could use a few improvements

5+    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: Strongbow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
Elevation changes (uphill, downhill)
Signature holes - #3, #18

Cons: Vandalism to tee signs
Some tee-boxes small or in poor shape
Hard to follow
Park goers in fairways
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging course with a lot of variety on each hole. This course could be fantastic with a few improvements such as better tee-boxes, and new signs and maybe a slight layout change on a couple of holes so it flows better. Although I'm not sure how long the tee-signs would last due to vandalism.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SPOTTERS ARE A MUST--very challenging (but fun)

2-4    8/6/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As someone that first played this course as a beginner two years ago, it has definitely changed. The course contains a ton of thick brush, which makes it very challenging to find discs on at least half of the holes. However, compared to when I last visited Seattle (summer of 2010), the brush is greatly trampled down, which really helped us find our discs.

My favorite thing about the course is the challenge. Also, it has, in my opinion, two signature holes: #3 and #18 (See below). Other than that, it has a cool variety of holes, almost all of which are highly wooded. There is good use of elevation and foliage windows.
Cons: There are a decent number of cons to this course:
- It is very easy to lose a disc, so spotters are a must. If you play this course alone, be prepared to lose a disc.
- The signage is pretty poor.
- The course flow is not good, and a map is essential.
- The walk back to your car after 18 is annoying.
Other Thoughts: #3 is a cool shot from hillside to hillside, across a valley that is *highly* wooded. It's a hole that will keep you coming back, as it's pretty tough to get it across the valley without hitting a tree, especially given the limited tee space. I had daydreams of coming back to Seattle to play this hole.

#18 is a 500+ footer, with a huge elevation drop. Very cool shot. The first time I played the course (as a beginner), I didn't play the hole because I was scared (wisely) I'd lose a disc. This time, my buddy and I spotted each other and he helped me find mine. The guys playing in front of us were not so lucky, as they lost one of theirs. We helped look for a little bit, but to no avail.

#14 is an example of the importance of pin position. The hole has a lot of open space and is ideal for a RHFH shot. What makes it a great hole, though, is that the basket is just a couple feet from a ledge, so you could easily go from birdie to bogey. More course designers should guard/protect the pins with difficult hole locations like this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Wish There Was Better Signage

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: marx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I generally love this course after just the one time of playing it. It's like going on a hike and playing a little disc golf at the same time. Beautiful park!
Cons: I would love to see better signage, or at the very least an updated map on here.

After hole 13 it became terribly difficult to navigate, and I'm sure we skipped a few holes.

My buddy lost a disc on 18, which is not a difficult task. I'd toss a cheap disc on that last hole, just in case.
Other Thoughts: With better signage or a map, this would easily be a 4.5-5 for me. I had a fantastic time playing this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice wooded track

2-4    12/21/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wanted to give it 4 because it is just plain fun to play
lots of different shots and angles
strategy and luck come in to play
you can make a 2 or a 5 pretty easily
great feeling to be in the woods in the middle of a burb
Cons: tees a little inconsistent
can get sloppy pretty easily
not easy to navigate at first
find a tour guide
Other Thoughts: with a little work this course could easily become a 4 or 4+
18 is really fun..throw 2 just to watch em fly

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 every rose has its thorn

2-4    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: hyrulehero96
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: hard and easy holes all around, good range of difficulty. Tee's and baskets are all in good shape. A lot of room to work with!
Cons: Back 9 gets confusing, some holes coverd with thorn bushes on both sides. could use a map @ start kiosk.
Other Thoughts: Everyone here is really friendly and always willing to help your fellow golfers. If you cant find the next tee there are always an abundance of locals around to point you in the right direction!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely wooded course

2-4    9/22/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only thing keeping this course from being a 4 is the very tricky layout. 18's basket is a long hike from tee pad at #1. Other than that, this course has some awesome signature holes, one with a tee pad throwing across a steep wooded valley to a basket on the other side. Requires incredible precision with both accuracy and distance. The park itself is a mix of heavily wooded to wide open fields. Perfect disc golf terrain. The design of each individual hole is really well thought out.
Cons: Lack of signage is a huge con here. Without stumbling across a couple of locals I never would have found the most of the holes on the back 9. There seemed to be some confusion even with them as I guess the course is under some minor re-structuring as a result of some erosion, and a new dog park.... Front 9 is easy to navigate though
Other Thoughts: Its the only course I've played in WA., but I can say it beats anything in vancouver. I've heard there are much nicer courses down there, so I can't wait to check some of them out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is...

5+    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots required - The course has a great variety of distances, types of shots, elevation, etc. Especially for people who have only played the course a few times, you will likely have to add a new shot to your bag to "conquer" at least one of the holes out here.

Holes that challenge different skill levels - There are holes out here that will challenge golfers on the entire continuum of skill levels. Beginners will find several holes which will require some placement shots for a par and pros will find holes that will require some serious drives/putts for birdie. There are a couple of holes which are not beginner friendly (#11 and 18) because you'll be finding a lot of rough and perhaps a lost disc. Pros on the other hand may be bored with a couple of the easier holes.

Good tee pads (new addition!) - Just like it sounds, they just poured new tees and they are sweet and grippy right now. A couple of holes still have older/strangely shaped tees but they haven't really ever bothered me.

Challenging basket placements - Putting here is rarely on level ground and often has some pretty clear dangers in the form of dropoffs or rollaways. I like it! The baskets themselves are all in good shape and catch great with the exception of the extra hole which is a mangled single chain discatcher.
Cons: Difficult navigation - Even since I have first played the course, it has gone through several (>5) revisions to the back 9 holes because of construction of a drainage area, dog park, and park storage area. Because of this, many holes are now difficult to find and follow. The front 9 are straightforward with the exception of 8's tee which is only a few feet from 7's tee. After hole 9 you have to follow a walking path to a small dirt trail up the hillside to your left to a hidden tee and then back to the walking path to find #11 on the right side of the path (this is now obvious with the addition of a concrete tee). After playing hole 11 you have to cross 18's fairway and hike up a series of switchbacks to #12 which is an evil uphill turnover bomb (for righty backhand). Playing this hole is brutal after walking up the hill as a birdie requires a full-power uphill throw that must flip over! 14 also is (for now) an unmarked dirt tee until the city gives full permission for a teepad. The hole also plays to a blind basket and so may be a significant challenge for first-timers. There are a number of other areas in which newer players may get lost on this course and this issue will likely not be resolved for sometime until the city officially gives permission for a new hole behind current 14 - even after the course is finalized, the layout will probably be difficult to follow. It should be noted that while the layout issues sound bad on paper, the design of the course maximizes the use of land for the most part and designers have created holes that play quite nicely.

Several very righty or lefty biased tee shots (mostly 'screw the lefty') - Several of the holes have a very large bias towards either a righty or lefty thrower, this is not a huge con for overall course design as everyone should develop a sidearm and backhand shot but individual holes may frustrate frequenters of the course until they develop really strong shots from both sides. Hole 4 is an example; this hole is a right to left shot with a mandatory dogleg. Left handed throwers can birdie this hole relatively easily with a long flex shot while the right handed thrower can usually only get within about 40' of the basket and almost always score a 3 with little variation. Hole 6 is most likely a very frustrating hole for lefties. It is a bomb hyzer for the righty with no danger whatsoever and a really tough turnover or tight flex shot for the lefty. Both shots deal with an OB path on the right side and will need a bit of luck in navigating trees near the basket, but these challenges play out in very different ways for righty/lefty. Righties have to throw a stable disc to avoid straightening out but other than that, encounter little danger of a penalty stroke except in the case of a bad roll. Lefty shots which hit any piece of tree/leaf run a large risk of finishing OB; any shot that is turned over too much risks rolling OB; and finally any shot that is not turned enough will likely be OB as well. Again, solutions to these problems are in shot development, not course design but it is easy to see why some holes could create aggravation.

Execution over insight - Most holes here are not a mystery and require only execution of your shot rather than any analysis or thought about how to maximize scoring. This may be a function of almost all holes being par 3 (one par 4 hole) or that there just aren't that many options off of most tees. This is a con only because the course loses some interest over time.

A classic tweener/low variance hole - My pet peeve, holes where I score just as well with poor or great execution off the tee. Hole 2 is a classic low variance hole (I bogey maybe 1/20 times and birdie about 1/50 - the other 93% or so are pars). Don't get me wrong, the shots on this hole are really fun to throw, but there isn't much reward for good throws.
Other Thoughts: To really enjoy this course you have to be willing to take it for what it is. Enjoy the walks, navigate the continually evolving design, pick up some garbage, and throw fun golf holes.

Sidenote: If you are ever in the mood for berries, Terrace is a great place for Salmonberry early in the year and tons of blackberries later in the summer!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.