Mountlake Terrace, WA 
Terrace Creek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 MLT

1    5/22/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole is different. Lots of trees. Grass is nicely maintained. Tees are concrete. Baskets in good shape. What's Pro about it there's a nice mix. Definitely not open and flat. Very technical at times.

The course has recently changed, the long top of the hill shot No. 17 has been changed to No. 18 and is much much shorter. A long roller would probably land by the basket. Also No. 18 was changed to new No. 11 going the opposite direction. And the old 11 where you'd throw up the hill, is now gone. It was replaced by a new water system, so it's moved up to the top of the hill where the old No. 12 is. The back 9 has new holes and some new tees. Be aware. I liked the old system MUCH better than the new one. But hey better than nothing.

MLT is actually one of my personal favorites. I don't really notice the garbage. Parking on the street is good. Lots of regulars.
Cons: It does get muddy at times when it rains esp at hole No. 5, open meadow.

People are about walking their dogs.

It can be confusing when you play from No. 7 then have to walk back to where you came to No. 8. Then after the 10th hole there's a long walk to No. 11, follow the path you''ll come across it.

Also at No. 10, if you play in the summer, watch out for blackberry.
Other Thoughts: I like new hole No. 3. Awesome to throw across a valley, weaving thru trees.

OB - Road on left at No. 1, Path on the right for No. 6, left side Mando at No. 8. No. 13 has a Mando & Road to cross.

At No. 5 the path is not counted as OB.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Potential... but no Kinetic

5/15/2008   5/16/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes - both technical and some longer open shots. Busy course. Great use of the space. Ample parking.
Cons: No tee signs, trash cans, next tee directions, or course map at site. The course had a bit of trash at about every other tee pad. It was difficult to find the order of the holes, as a somewhat recent change to the course has not been reflected on the course. So the hole numbers on the basket, the only markers on many holes, turned out to be wrong.
Other Thoughts: I just had come from NAD... so I may have been a bit biased... but I decided the bias was reasonable and realistic. This course could be significantly better with some attention to the details. It is still fun to play - just wath the group in front of you until this gets sorted out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Terrace Creek

5+    11/25/2009   3/25/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The course over the last year has really been cleaned up and the brush has been cleared away which makes the course much more visually appealing. The tee pads were recently updated and are all cement and level which makes it easier for controlled drives. The holes have a lot of variety and elevation changes, which makes the course more challenging. Basket locations are well thought out and are often guarded by trees and other local foliage. The front 9 holes are fairly easy to navigate through (with the first four on the east side of the park and the rest on the west side) and quite enjoyable. The back 9 are just as intense but somewhat harder to locate for first timers.

For information on upcomming events or "next tee" locations look for the new kiosk near tee one. New tee signs are to be put in as well which would make a great addition to this course. Restrooms can only be found near the playground by basket 5, tee 6, so plan accordingly.
Cons:
Vandalism has always had a big part on the overall appeal of the course. However, it seems like the locals are making a positive impact because I am seeing less and less. Trash is still a problem, as more garbage cans are needed all over the course (especially around the front nine where more pedestrians tend to be).
Other Thoughts:
This course has always been a lot of fun and challenging. On the old layout it was difficult but very posssible to shoot under par, but with the new layout I am not sure if it is nearly as difficult. Although I am sad to see some great holes removed, I really enjoy how challenging some of the new holes have become on the front nine. Since the reconfiguration of many of the back holes Terrace Creek has lost some of its luster, and due to this setback it has lost a spot in the Washington State Series for the first time in many many years. It is a shame that the dog park took over some really great holes, especially since many dog walkers still use the grass on the open field down below near holes 5-9. I look forward to when Terrace Creek gets back on track and through some redesign, it has the potential to be one of the better courses in the state.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Like Playing At The City Dump!

9/21/2002   2/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is really a nice location for a course. The holes are well thought out and challenging enough. There's some elevation change.
Cons: I'm sorry, I couldn't get past the litter, the vandalism and the generally dumpy feel of the park. It's a shame because underneath all the junkiness is fairly nice course. We also had a very hard time navigating our way around the course, owing mostly to vandals ripping out the signs.
Other Thoughts: I have to feel sorry for the many, hardworking volunteers who have this wonderful park to work with, but are constantly fighting a battle with the neighborhood punks who are undoing the many hours of hard work put in by so many.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rough in the Emerald

1    5/24/2007   5/24/2007
Review By: Tim_the_Enchanter
Played: 100  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Good: Good mix of holes, lots of woods incorporated in the mix, in fact there's only one truly "open" hole for the whole course. None of the holes are gimmes, even the short ones have challenging obstacles/boundaries to thread by. Also most of the holes have some sort of elevation in play. Signature hole is #17, a ~500' top of the world shot.

Cons: The Bad: First and foremost...litter. Trash stacks up at this course, regardless of efforts to keep it in check. Some is contributed by lazy golfers, a lot is contributed by local kids, it's only cleaned up by a relatively small contingent of golfers. Also the course is visited by the aforementioned kids, resulting in lots of tagging and vandalism. No tee signs are in the ground because of them, and several trees have been hacked by them. >:( Some of the teepads are in rough shape and could use some repair, can be extremely difficult to find your way around without a map or a local (especially the back 9). Oh yeah, and blackberries...lots and lots of blackberries. (Course motto: If you aren't bleeding, then you didn't play Terrace)

Other Thoughts: The Ugly?: Due to the environmental reasons and an off leash dog park getting installed, holes 11-14 will be removed/replaced. Only time will tell if this will be a change for the better or worse.

Overall, a very good course with plenty of challenge. Could really use some maintenance though--if the course could be cleaned up (and kept that way), it could be excellent.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.