Disc Golf Center
Mountlake Terrace, WA 
Terrace Creek Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 every rose has its thorn

2-4    8/25/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: hyrulehero96
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: hard and easy holes all around, good range of difficulty. Tee's and baskets are all in good shape. A lot of room to work with!
Cons: Back 9 gets confusing, some holes coverd with thorn bushes on both sides. could use a map @ start kiosk.
Other Thoughts: Everyone here is really friendly and always willing to help your fellow golfers. If you cant find the next tee there are always an abundance of locals around to point you in the right direction!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  would be a 5 but

5+    6/5/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Repella42
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome Course!! Beautiful tees, and nice pins. Long holes that will make you learn a new throw or two. Nice elevation changes. Also, the play moves nicely, even when overcrowded. 18 is just epic!(If you make a good drive)
Cons: VERY overgrown in spring and summer. Probably spend 1/3 of time looking for discs. If you not doing well, very discouraging course. ver unforgiving. Also not easy to play 18 twice lol. Kicks your butt. Can be way to overcrowded cuz only decent course within 30min drive of here
Other Thoughts: Way to overgrown

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First impressions

1    12/3/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrace Creek is a really fun course with a lot of unique holes. I really enjoyed holes #1-4 but hole #18 is hands down the most fun, it's maybe 500+ ft, but it's downhill so with a good long throw you have a chance to birdie it. You also have a pretty good chance to loose a disc or two on hole #18.
There are mostly concrete tee pads and a few trash cans. There are no signs but it's still pretty easy to navigate.
Cons: There are a few holes on the back nine (#14-16) that are in transition and kind of crappy thanks to nearby construction.
There is not a lot of hole variation, most of the hole are setup for a right handed back hand throw (to the left) with maybe about 2 or 3 holes playing slightly to the right.
The course is not marked all that well, and it is quite a hike from the basket on hole #18 back out to your car.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really enjoyed this course and will be back to play Terrace Creek's signature holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely wooded course

2-4    9/22/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only thing keeping this course from being a 4 is the very tricky layout. 18's basket is a long hike from tee pad at #1. Other than that, this course has some awesome signature holes, one with a tee pad throwing across a steep wooded valley to a basket on the other side. Requires incredible precision with both accuracy and distance. The park itself is a mix of heavily wooded to wide open fields. Perfect disc golf terrain. The design of each individual hole is really well thought out.
Cons: Lack of signage is a huge con here. Without stumbling across a couple of locals I never would have found the most of the holes on the back 9. There seemed to be some confusion even with them as I guess the course is under some minor re-structuring as a result of some erosion, and a new dog park.... Front 9 is easy to navigate though
Other Thoughts: Its the only course I've played in WA., but I can say it beats anything in vancouver. I've heard there are much nicer courses down there, so I can't wait to check some of them out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is...

5+    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots required - The course has a great variety of distances, types of shots, elevation, etc. Especially for people who have only played the course a few times, you will likely have to add a new shot to your bag to "conquer" at least one of the holes out here.

Holes that challenge different skill levels - There are holes out here that will challenge golfers on the entire continuum of skill levels. Beginners will find several holes which will require some placement shots for a par and pros will find holes that will require some serious drives/putts for birdie. There are a couple of holes which are not beginner friendly (#11 and 18) because you'll be finding a lot of rough and perhaps a lost disc. Pros on the other hand may be bored with a couple of the easier holes.

Good tee pads (new addition!) - Just like it sounds, they just poured new tees and they are sweet and grippy right now. A couple of holes still have older/strangely shaped tees but they haven't really ever bothered me.

Challenging basket placements - Putting here is rarely on level ground and often has some pretty clear dangers in the form of dropoffs or rollaways. I like it! The baskets themselves are all in good shape and catch great with the exception of the extra hole which is a mangled single chain discatcher.
Cons: Difficult navigation - Even since I have first played the course, it has gone through several (>5) revisions to the back 9 holes because of construction of a drainage area, dog park, and park storage area. Because of this, many holes are now difficult to find and follow. The front 9 are straightforward with the exception of 8's tee which is only a few feet from 7's tee. After hole 9 you have to follow a walking path to a small dirt trail up the hillside to your left to a hidden tee and then back to the walking path to find #11 on the right side of the path (this is now obvious with the addition of a concrete tee). After playing hole 11 you have to cross 18's fairway and hike up a series of switchbacks to #12 which is an evil uphill turnover bomb (for righty backhand). Playing this hole is brutal after walking up the hill as a birdie requires a full-power uphill throw that must flip over! 14 also is (for now) an unmarked dirt tee until the city gives full permission for a teepad. The hole also plays to a blind basket and so may be a significant challenge for first-timers. There are a number of other areas in which newer players may get lost on this course and this issue will likely not be resolved for sometime until the city officially gives permission for a new hole behind current 14 - even after the course is finalized, the layout will probably be difficult to follow. It should be noted that while the layout issues sound bad on paper, the design of the course maximizes the use of land for the most part and designers have created holes that play quite nicely.

Several very righty or lefty biased tee shots (mostly 'screw the lefty') - Several of the holes have a very large bias towards either a righty or lefty thrower, this is not a huge con for overall course design as everyone should develop a sidearm and backhand shot but individual holes may frustrate frequenters of the course until they develop really strong shots from both sides. Hole 4 is an example; this hole is a right to left shot with a mandatory dogleg. Left handed throwers can birdie this hole relatively easily with a long flex shot while the right handed thrower can usually only get within about 40' of the basket and almost always score a 3 with little variation. Hole 6 is most likely a very frustrating hole for lefties. It is a bomb hyzer for the righty with no danger whatsoever and a really tough turnover or tight flex shot for the lefty. Both shots deal with an OB path on the right side and will need a bit of luck in navigating trees near the basket, but these challenges play out in very different ways for righty/lefty. Righties have to throw a stable disc to avoid straightening out but other than that, encounter little danger of a penalty stroke except in the case of a bad roll. Lefty shots which hit any piece of tree/leaf run a large risk of finishing OB; any shot that is turned over too much risks rolling OB; and finally any shot that is not turned enough will likely be OB as well. Again, solutions to these problems are in shot development, not course design but it is easy to see why some holes could create aggravation.

Execution over insight - Most holes here are not a mystery and require only execution of your shot rather than any analysis or thought about how to maximize scoring. This may be a function of almost all holes being par 3 (one par 4 hole) or that there just aren't that many options off of most tees. This is a con only because the course loses some interest over time.

A classic tweener/low variance hole - My pet peeve, holes where I score just as well with poor or great execution off the tee. Hole 2 is a classic low variance hole (I bogey maybe 1/20 times and birdie about 1/50 - the other 93% or so are pars). Don't get me wrong, the shots on this hole are really fun to throw, but there isn't much reward for good throws.
Other Thoughts: To really enjoy this course you have to be willing to take it for what it is. Enjoy the walks, navigate the continually evolving design, pick up some garbage, and throw fun golf holes.

Sidenote: If you are ever in the mood for berries, Terrace is a great place for Salmonberry early in the year and tons of blackberries later in the summer!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course!

5+    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Terrace park ranger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've been to many courses lately, lake Stevens, Bremerton, northgate and mtlk terrace. I truly believe that mountlake terrace is the most diverse and challenging, and at times the most fun course of them all. It most definately has the potential to be the best but it needs help. The locals are great, the guy selling discs in the parking lot has great deals on discs and if you lose one in the jungle in the back nine, someone will most likely make sure you get it back. I've noticed slot of improvements over the last six months and if there is any way I can help maintain the course to make it better please call me. I know somebody is out there trying to make a difference. Your efforts are much appreciated and I would love to help any way I can. 2069543067 matt
Cons: Trash. Man I've pulled alot out. Everytime I play I pick up what I can. The back nine is a jungle and is really confusing. Where can I get an online map of the updated course. I know the course now, but I think it might be quite hard for others to find there way around.
Other Thoughts: I want to help make this course better and I am a very hard worker. Call me and let's make it happen.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Terrace Creek Baby!

5+    12/9/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots that will test your game pretty well. Good amount of elevation and plenty of longer holes for big throwers. A good challenge to every disc in your bag and a couple of one of a kind holes. The local players have put bark down in the spots on the course that were still muddy from the winter, they are also putting in a lot of work and the trash is starting to go away. The hole 18 top of the world shot is amazing!
Cons: The course has been vandalized pretty bad, there used to be signs and markers but they have all been ripped out which makes the course very hard to navigate by yourself if you are playing all 18 holes, though the front nine is pretty easy to follow. The fairways to some of the holes are right in line with people walking around and the park gets busy so waiting for pedestrians to pass happens quite frequently, not to mention that a lot of people use the disc golf course as well. The back 9 has been moved around and changed so much recently because of a dog park which made them take out 2 or 3 holes. Lots of hills and no benches so you can get worn out easily if your not careful. Finding the back 9 without a guide is near impossible as it is a half mile walk.
Other Thoughts: The course used to be a lot better before the back 9 has been screwed up, since most of the holes there now are temporary. Once they figured out what they are going to do with the back 9 I have faith it will get better. Recently the holes by the garbage pit has been taken out, now you shoot back down the big hill after twelves for hole thirteen and then walk back up the hill again and play as normal, this is just stupid backtracking and making people go up the giant hill twice, I say skip the new thirteen and move on.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Memories

5+    7/2/2001   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course lots of different shots. Evertyhing ranging from open to in the woods. There are short controlled shots and some big shots as well. Hole 18!!!! One of the sweetest shots I have ever played. Good shots and lots of fun once you play and figure out the layout. Elevation used well on almost all of the holes.
Cons: Hard to navigate with no signs and long walks between a couple of holes. Couple holes close to play areas. Can get thick at times when your in the rough. No trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Good times!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/29/2008   1/20/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 11 holes have concrete tee pads
- A couple of fun new holes added recently
- Lots of elevation change
- Quality front 9
- Awesome hole 18 when pin is in the normal location
Cons: - No signs
- Hard to navigate
- Back 9 has been all messed up by work done due to erosion issues, and the addition of a dog park
- 6 holes with dirt/gravel pads, and 1 hole with the tee on a downward sloping access road
- Long walk to and from back 9
- Good chance to lose a disc
- Public park with a playground, plenty of people
Other Thoughts: Like I said the front 9 is a lot of fun (just watch out for folks enjoying the park)... but the back 9 needs help. It was much better before all the erosion work was done. I'm hoping that they will continue to fix it up, there's tons of potential. If they move pin 18 back to it's normal position...what an epic shot.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 MLT

1    5/22/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole is different. Lots of trees. Grass is nicely maintained. Tees are concrete. Baskets in good shape. What's Pro about it there's a nice mix. Definitely not open and flat. Very technical at times.

The course has recently changed, the long top of the hill shot No. 17 has been changed to No. 18 and is much much shorter. A long roller would probably land by the basket. Also No. 18 was changed to new No. 11 going the opposite direction. And the old 11 where you'd throw up the hill, is now gone. It was replaced by a new water system, so it's moved up to the top of the hill where the old No. 12 is. The back 9 has new holes and some new tees. Be aware. I liked the old system MUCH better than the new one. But hey better than nothing.

MLT is actually one of my personal favorites. I don't really notice the garbage. Parking on the street is good. Lots of regulars.
Cons: It does get muddy at times when it rains esp at hole No. 5, open meadow.

People are about walking their dogs.

It can be confusing when you play from No. 7 then have to walk back to where you came to No. 8. Then after the 10th hole there's a long walk to No. 11, follow the path you''ll come across it.

Also at No. 10, if you play in the summer, watch out for blackberry.
Other Thoughts: I like new hole No. 3. Awesome to throw across a valley, weaving thru trees.

OB - Road on left at No. 1, Path on the right for No. 6, left side Mando at No. 8. No. 13 has a Mando & Road to cross.

At No. 5 the path is not counted as OB.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.