North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #18
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
i just dont know

1    6/5/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: the challenge. this course will eat you up if you are not precise. front nine side of course makes you shape shots to have a chance for par.
Cons: no signs, no maps, no way to navigate. old baskets
Other Thoughts: if you get a chance to play with someone that knows the course do it. i spent more time looking for correct tee pads and baskets. my review rating is higher than i would give a course without signs but respect for an older course is do.

nice sister course for the red

1    3/11/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice mix of open and wooded holes

the "open" holes are well designed and still force you to shape your shots

a few grassy greens that were guarded by trees were quite picturesque

good variety in hole lengths

decent tees (some of the wooded holes had the numbers broomed into them before the cement set up. unique and cool)

Cons: all par 3--less interesting

missing, broken, or outdated signs (causes confusion, wasted time and spoils the esthetic of the course)
Other Thoughts: this course is well designed and nice looking. it is flatter, longer and more open than the red course. I really like it when on site courses offer such a great variety.

these would be 4 disc courses for me with some nice looking, updated signage. I know signage doesn't matter when it's your home course, but it makes it hard for road tripping visitors to enjoy a course when they are wandering around confused.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ended Strong

1    3/13/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: A couple of open holes to start and finish, and some fun holes through the trees in the middle. A good use of a small creek running through the final holes.
Cons: A few of the holes were absolutely sandwiched between a fence and the road. These were a bit ridiculous. One of my least favorite holes, perhaps ever, is on this course. Both the tee and the basket were within feet of the fence. While one in our group banked the disc off the fence into the basket, my layup slid 10 feet past the basket, under the fence by 8 feet. I'm having flashbacks as I write this.
Other Thoughts: Not as good as the Red Course, but a pretty good course.

 I liked it

1    4/3/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It was laid out nice, and it had a good mix of holes. It had multiple pin placements, and everything was setup for a flicker, which I am not. I want to play it when it is setup for a back hander like myself.
Cons: Terrible baskets, lots of trash on course
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play it again!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 8 and final 4 were pleasant to play. A few were over 400ft to air out some throws, Well places trees to make some of the lines more technical. The OB creek was also really well utilized on most of the holes.
Cons: 9-14 is pretty boring.
9- Throw straight between trees.
10- Throw hyzer between trees
11-FH hyzer between trees
12-Throw hyzer between trees
13-Throw hyzer between trees
14-FH hyzer between trees.

There all about the same length too. I just want more variation here, make them much longer with nicer lines to follow. There is a lot of potential in this area and it feels like it's been wasted.
I will say these have some challenge though. Even though the drives are pretty identical and easy, the baskets are well guarded by trees and you can easily get a terrible lie and be forced a 3. I don't particularly care for too many holes like that, just because I feel like the luck factor is too high, but I'm not counting off points for that.

The chains are quite old and don't grip the putters too well. This is isn't a HUGE con, but still one. I had a putt go straight through the middle from about 10ft out to lose a bird. Okay, I should have taken into account the poor chains, and I'll put that one on me. But far away when going for long birds or ace runs, unless it's hitting bottom of basket, it's probably going to spit out the disc every time. I'd just like a better chance there.

Last con I have is the teepads. Their good concrete teepads, just too narrow and short. I have long legs, and though fine for a FH my BH run up is longer, and it forces me to go beside the tee. I don't mind running on the dirt, but some of the lines are definitely made for the teepad line and that's unfortunate.
Other Thoughts: Lots of kids running around the area, and cars are a bit distracting at times. I've never played when it super crowded with golfers, but I could see a few bad throws cause people to easily play through one another. I also don't think hardly any of the posted distance at the course are correct, but I think they're more accurate on this website.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than the red

1    12/21/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the bottom area of the park. Most of the holes are wooded, with nice mature trees and dense enough woods to punish errant shots. A few holes play a little more open with ob roads and creek and some scattered trees. There is plenty of length on the Blue course, with several longer holes to stretch out your arm. The wooded holes offer a nice variety of hole shapes, I threw lots of different discs and lines here.

The baskets are older, but catch ok for the most part. There are good concrete tees on this course that were in pretty good shape. The online map is really helpful for navigation on both courses, print it out or pull it up on your smart phone and you'll save yourself a lot of time and wandering.
Cons: This course is very flat, playing down in the bottom of the park. It's more challenging, but doesn't quite have the fun factor that you get on the red course just due to the less interesting terrain. It's also less secluded with more holes playing right by the road and by other park uses so there are some safety issues and less of that out in the woods feeling.

The signage is inconsistent and in poor shape, so without the map provided here or a guide you'll do a lot of extra walking to figure out the course. The two courses share some space at the beginning, so it's even more confusing where your next tee is the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice pair of courses that's definitely worth a stop. They complement each other nicely, with a shorter technical hilly course paired with the longer, tougher flat blue course. The blue course is less beginner friendly with enough length to frustrate some beginners. More experienced players will find it more challenging, and testing more parts of their game, but it's not quite as much fun as the red course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Blue- Flat in the Field

1    7/15/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park has 36 holes. Both courses start and end from the same parking area (think mini-golf set-up!) This course is mostly flat and more open than the red course. A few open shots and ditches to navigate. There weren't the memorable holes of the red course, but I don't remember any stupid holes either. If I remember correctly, I think some of the back 9 was across the road.
Cons: Course was a little hard to navigate at times, and some baskets were hard to find, but we managed. Road comes into play on a couple of holes- watch for cars and disc scuffing!

Course seemed like it wasn't played too much when I was there- in fact the whole park (which contains a lot of stuff, including carnival type rides) seemed to be deserted- and it was summer.
Other Thoughts: Of the 2 courses I felt like this was a more solid course factoring in all 18 holes- nothing special, but nothing awful. It is a plus that another course is right there.

If I was passing through Little Rock again I would probably stop and play both courses.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Different than Red, good for some

10/9/2004   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long and open on many holes
Good long walk on mostly flat ground
Cons: Less traffic than Red, sees much less TLC and marking. Expect to get lost possibly on some holes - the unpainted baskets blend in well with trees during some seasons.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but don't play it often because the Red course is more my style and easier to get in and out of for me. If you have a large group who haven't played much, this might be a better choice because it is lower traffic and more open (and away from the freeway sans one or two holes).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.