North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #14
3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
fun times

1    12/6/2016   12/6/2016
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 211  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had fun throwing this course. It was hilly and tree infested which is what I like. Hit your lines and you'll have a good score. Tee pads were okay, sign's was good. Easy to follow. Good use of the available land.
Cons: There may have been two signs missing but it was easy to navigate. Relatively short holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find, I drove right to it. Plenty of parking. Picnic areas, playground, other activities go on here. There is a practice basket. "Next tee" signs on the baskets and on the tee signs. Bring spray during bug season.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid courses with fair challenge

5+    12/12/2015   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is an excellent mix of terrain, elevation, technical, and open shots. It provides a little something for everyone, and can be fun to play at any skill level. The course is fairly easy to follow, but you can get mixed up and throw a hole on the wrong course if you don't know where you're going.
Cons: Some of the tees are pretty beat up and it can get confusing, even if you've played the course a few times, to really figure out where you're going. Once you get past that, the courses both play very steady.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play back to back. Sometimes you can get multiple rounds in on both courses in a day. Bring bug spray and stay out of the brush, chiggers are everywhere.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Burns Blue

5+    6/6/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: LL_NiO
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It gets you much better as a player because it has a variety of shots. Has some short technical shots at the beginning, gets a little longer towards the middle, and stays long and technical for most of the remainder after 9. New baskets are definitely a plus as well. The park is typically in pretty good shape and parking is really never a problem. Benches/picnic tables at almost every hole is really nice and the signs at each hole are done pretty well too.
Cons: I've played it enough that it doesn't bother me anymore, but there are a lot of old tee pads lying around (mostly on the first half). It makes learning the course pretty tough because it's already mixed in with Burns Red course and on top of that the old unused tee pads just get confusing. OB is always tough for sure, but going over the fence on hole 5 and 7 can be an absolute nightmare so if you aren't pretty accurate with distance than I'd suggest not throwing your favorite disc on those.
Other Thoughts: Just an overall fun/skillful course and park. One of the great things is that you get Burns Red too so you can easily play two rounds in a day (more if you have the energy). Love this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very, very good.

2-4    6/5/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 53  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: - NEW BASKETS. Brand new Mach X's.

- Decent concrete tee pads, good signage.

- Lot of mixture in hole design. Woods, wide open, open with trees, open with an OB creek, tournament layout had two island holes (#3 and #8). Really high quality layout.

- Even though it goes near the interstate, there are holes cut in the fence at places to allow you to retrieve your disc.

- Beautiful part of the park. Grass was perfectly cut, even though there were people playing around the course, I never saw anyone mistakenly get too close to course.
Cons: - A few of the teeboxes can have mud right off the front of them. Speaking from experience, it's not fun throw a great drive, then bust your butt from slipping on mud.

- Could use a little more signage around #8's basket. #9 is a ways across the road, and #16's tee box is very close to #8's basket and seems like it should be the next hole.

- There several holes that have tee boxes near the previous basket. In the tournament I played in, I noticed a lot of groups get backed up because a group was on the next tee box near the their hole. Also, we had someone walking with us, almost get hit in the head by a disc from the previous hole, sure it was that group's fault for not yelling "four", but it really wasn't a bad shot, and if landing near the next tee box is a good strategy for a hole, that needs to be addressed somehow.

- During the tournament we had flags and string marking OB, but I doubt those a permanent. Would be nice to see small wood posts lining OB, to avoid confusion during casual play.
Other Thoughts: - I haven't made up my mind if I like Red or Blue more. It's clear they are perfect compliments to each other. I'd probably have to flip a coin on which to play if I could only play one, but I would hope I would have the time to play both. I would definitely recommend playing both, but if you have to choose.......good luck.

 Old baskets, great layout

5+    10/8/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: euclidbr549
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful (varying) layout with a mix of tight wooded lines, open shots, short and long shots, and noticeable elevation changes wherever the terrain allows. Challenging OB on some holes, plenty of risk-reward opportunities for birdies.
Cons: Ancient baskets, interstate highway noise. Lack of anything except par-3's.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! If it had brand new baskets and a quiet setting it would be my favorite in the state.

My favorite thing about the course is the variety. Hole 1 is a tight wooded shot with multiple pin positons. Hole 2 is a shorter shot with three lines to the pin. Hole 3 is an approach shot with two lines, but the basket is protected enough to reward accuracy with a birdie and punish bad throws with a not-quite-gimme par save. Hole 4 is an absolute bomb with a creek OB to the right, woods trouble on the left, and some beautiful trees in the fairway making you pick your landing area carefully. Hole 5 has two tee pads. The one up at the top of the hill makes you throw about 400 feet or more to have a look at birdie, with OB on both sides and an OB creek crossing your path around 330' to the front, or you can play it safe, lay it in the middle short and look at a 250' upshot. Hole 6 is a tight uphill shot with mature trees and an OB fence in play. This sort of variety continues throughout the course. Pin placement changes frequently on about a third of the holes to keep things fresh.

A golfer can navigate the entire course without ever needing a shot more exotic than an occasional forehand drive. I am RHBH and I can play the whole course without a single flick, and I have played with RHFH and LHBH players that navigate the entire course without pulling anything out of their bag of tricks. That isn't to say the course isn't challenging, or doesn't provide opportunities for multiple shot types, especially if you stray from the fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging; mix of open and wooded holes; mix of fade and draw drives; long.
Cons: you can throw your disc over a fence on a few holes; baskets are hard to see sometimes and it's easy to throw at the wrong basket on a couple of holes; hard to navigate.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than the Red Course...

2-4    5/18/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: rflahive
Played: 62  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great distance shots mixed with obstacles, OB, and vegetation--I prefer longer (more difficult) courses, and this fits the bill. Ditch the Red Course, Man-Up and throw the Blue...
Cons: way finding from 14 basket to 15 tee could be improved--as could 12 basket to 13 tee...otherwise...NONE!
Other Thoughts: check on the OB rules with whomever you play with...the rules vary and are not well explained...

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work it, Work it, Own That Flight Path

2-4    5/10/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a combination open and wooded holes. It has a decent variety of long and short holes as well. There is a creek running through a part of it, but it also has a road and some OB to be dealt with. The wooded holes are either alley shots or the sparse, tall trunk style, which make you really know your flight paths to navigate the longer throws. The open holes are long enough to let you air a few drives out. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.
Cons: Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. You may have to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check and make sure you know which basket to throw at, if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was pretty good here. The trees, well-designed fairways, and the use of the road and creek kept you under control. Some of these prevented you from just throwing for distance. Like the other course on this property, I wish it had easier navigation, but it was still fun just the same. I certainly would play this course again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Course

5+    2/26/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course with some nice open drives along with some long tree-filled drives. Some fencing and water to keep you on your toes and lots of trees on the back 9-15 across the street.
Cons: Very easy to chucnk your disc over the fence toward the interstate on a few of the holes. Interstate is quite loud at times. Very confusing if you are first-timer without a guide, you must print the map if you want to not get frustrated. Lots and lots of grounded leaves to dissapear into. Both of these courses can be crowded on nice days.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the area. A great foil to the short, uber technical red course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Discin'

5+    10/6/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Hjmitchell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course, easy to learn on but also challenging for the experienced. I play this course more than any other and learn something new every time I play it. Highly recommended.

Cons: They recently moved the fence on Hole 5 out farther, so it's now easier to lose your disc to the thick brush.


0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.