Disc Golf Center
North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #9
3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 8 and final 4 were pleasant to play. A few were over 400ft to air out some throws, Well places trees to make some of the lines more technical. The OB creek was also really well utilized on most of the holes.
Cons: 9-14 is pretty boring.
9- Throw straight between trees.
10- Throw hyzer between trees
11-FH hyzer between trees
12-Throw hyzer between trees
13-Throw hyzer between trees
14-FH hyzer between trees.

There all about the same length too. I just want more variation here, make them much longer with nicer lines to follow. There is a lot of potential in this area and it feels like it's been wasted.
I will say these have some challenge though. Even though the drives are pretty identical and easy, the baskets are well guarded by trees and you can easily get a terrible lie and be forced a 3. I don't particularly care for too many holes like that, just because I feel like the luck factor is too high, but I'm not counting off points for that.

The chains are quite old and don't grip the putters too well. This is isn't a HUGE con, but still one. I had a putt go straight through the middle from about 10ft out to lose a bird. Okay, I should have taken into account the poor chains, and I'll put that one on me. But far away when going for long birds or ace runs, unless it's hitting bottom of basket, it's probably going to spit out the disc every time. I'd just like a better chance there.

Last con I have is the teepads. Their good concrete teepads, just too narrow and short. I have long legs, and though fine for a FH my BH run up is longer, and it forces me to go beside the tee. I don't mind running on the dirt, but some of the lines are definitely made for the teepad line and that's unfortunate.
Other Thoughts: Lots of kids running around the area, and cars are a bit distracting at times. I've never played when it super crowded with golfers, but I could see a few bad throws cause people to easily play through one another. I also don't think hardly any of the posted distance at the course are correct, but I think they're more accurate on this website.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging; mix of open and wooded holes; mix of fade and draw drives; long.
Cons: you can throw your disc over a fence on a few holes; baskets are hard to see sometimes and it's easy to throw at the wrong basket on a couple of holes; hard to navigate.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than the Red Course...

2-4    5/18/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: rflahive
Played: 62  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great distance shots mixed with obstacles, OB, and vegetation--I prefer longer (more difficult) courses, and this fits the bill. Ditch the Red Course, Man-Up and throw the Blue...
Cons: way finding from 14 basket to 15 tee could be improved--as could 12 basket to 13 tee...otherwise...NONE!
Other Thoughts: check on the OB rules with whomever you play with...the rules vary and are not well explained...

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work it, Work it, Own That Flight Path

2-4    5/10/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a combination open and wooded holes. It has a decent variety of long and short holes as well. There is a creek running through a part of it, but it also has a road and some OB to be dealt with. The wooded holes are either alley shots or the sparse, tall trunk style, which make you really know your flight paths to navigate the longer throws. The open holes are long enough to let you air a few drives out. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.
Cons: Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. You may have to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check and make sure you know which basket to throw at, if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was pretty good here. The trees, well-designed fairways, and the use of the road and creek kept you under control. Some of these prevented you from just throwing for distance. Like the other course on this property, I wish it had easier navigation, but it was still fun just the same. I certainly would play this course again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Course

5+    2/26/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course with some nice open drives along with some long tree-filled drives. Some fencing and water to keep you on your toes and lots of trees on the back 9-15 across the street.
Cons: Very easy to chucnk your disc over the fence toward the interstate on a few of the holes. Interstate is quite loud at times. Very confusing if you are first-timer without a guide, you must print the map if you want to not get frustrated. Lots and lots of grounded leaves to dissapear into. Both of these courses can be crowded on nice days.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the area. A great foil to the short, uber technical red course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tougher than the red

1    12/21/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the bottom area of the park. Most of the holes are wooded, with nice mature trees and dense enough woods to punish errant shots. A few holes play a little more open with ob roads and creek and some scattered trees. There is plenty of length on the Blue course, with several longer holes to stretch out your arm. The wooded holes offer a nice variety of hole shapes, I threw lots of different discs and lines here.

The baskets are older, but catch ok for the most part. There are good concrete tees on this course that were in pretty good shape. The online map is really helpful for navigation on both courses, print it out or pull it up on your smart phone and you'll save yourself a lot of time and wandering.
Cons: This course is very flat, playing down in the bottom of the park. It's more challenging, but doesn't quite have the fun factor that you get on the red course just due to the less interesting terrain. It's also less secluded with more holes playing right by the road and by other park uses so there are some safety issues and less of that out in the woods feeling.

The signage is inconsistent and in poor shape, so without the map provided here or a guide you'll do a lot of extra walking to figure out the course. The two courses share some space at the beginning, so it's even more confusing where your next tee is the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice pair of courses that's definitely worth a stop. They complement each other nicely, with a shorter technical hilly course paired with the longer, tougher flat blue course. The blue course is less beginner friendly with enough length to frustrate some beginners. More experienced players will find it more challenging, and testing more parts of their game, but it's not quite as much fun as the red course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Discin'

5+    10/6/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Hjmitchell
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course, easy to learn on but also challenging for the experienced. I play this course more than any other and learn something new every time I play it. Highly recommended.

Cons: They recently moved the fence on Hole 5 out farther, so it's now easier to lose your disc to the thick brush.


0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 blue blues

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: My home course. Great course. Nice mix of long and short holes. Prolly only about 5 or 6 birdie opportunities if you don't throw it 350ft or further. Plenty of picnic tables and or benches at the tee boxes. Water available at the various bathrooms and pavilions located around the course.
Cons: Long. Big arms needed.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ebonsdad

5+    8/18/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ebonsdad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes: wooded vs. open, a few short vs. quite a few fairly long (400+), wide boundaries vs. tight w/ OB on either side.
Cons: weaves in/out of pavilions or other activities, quite a few holes use the street as OB, OB over fence by interstate difficult to retrieve discs.
Other Thoughts: well maintained, tee boxes are nice, not as hilly as red. Most boxes have benches or tables. Both courses can get busy on weekends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Blue Course

5+    6/5/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: JCPaige
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Local Pro's use this course over the red, for it's degree of difficulty. There's long holes and short. Some nice birdie chances. It's a change of pace from the red course.
Cons: Some holes can be a hassle with the volume of people using other parts of the parks i.e. basketball, pavillions, etc. Some hole can punish you if you make a mistake, mostly holes 5 and 7. If you are new and have a problem with your throws going left, you should be careful as discs are easily lost in some of the brush on the other side of fence.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course and can be a nice alternative when traffic on the red course is heavy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.