North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #1
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
i just dont know

1    6/5/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: the challenge. this course will eat you up if you are not precise. front nine side of course makes you shape shots to have a chance for par.
Cons: no signs, no maps, no way to navigate. old baskets
Other Thoughts: if you get a chance to play with someone that knows the course do it. i spent more time looking for correct tee pads and baskets. my review rating is higher than i would give a course without signs but respect for an older course is do.

Old baskets, great layout

5+    10/8/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: euclidbr549
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful (varying) layout with a mix of tight wooded lines, open shots, short and long shots, and noticeable elevation changes wherever the terrain allows. Challenging OB on some holes, plenty of risk-reward opportunities for birdies.
Cons: Ancient baskets, interstate highway noise. Lack of anything except par-3's.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! If it had brand new baskets and a quiet setting it would be my favorite in the state.

My favorite thing about the course is the variety. Hole 1 is a tight wooded shot with multiple pin positons. Hole 2 is a shorter shot with three lines to the pin. Hole 3 is an approach shot with two lines, but the basket is protected enough to reward accuracy with a birdie and punish bad throws with a not-quite-gimme par save. Hole 4 is an absolute bomb with a creek OB to the right, woods trouble on the left, and some beautiful trees in the fairway making you pick your landing area carefully. Hole 5 has two tee pads. The one up at the top of the hill makes you throw about 400 feet or more to have a look at birdie, with OB on both sides and an OB creek crossing your path around 330' to the front, or you can play it safe, lay it in the middle short and look at a 250' upshot. Hole 6 is a tight uphill shot with mature trees and an OB fence in play. This sort of variety continues throughout the course. Pin placement changes frequently on about a third of the holes to keep things fresh.

A golfer can navigate the entire course without ever needing a shot more exotic than an occasional forehand drive. I am RHBH and I can play the whole course without a single flick, and I have played with RHFH and LHBH players that navigate the entire course without pulling anything out of their bag of tricks. That isn't to say the course isn't challenging, or doesn't provide opportunities for multiple shot types, especially if you stray from the fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice sister course for the red

1    3/11/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice mix of open and wooded holes

the "open" holes are well designed and still force you to shape your shots

a few grassy greens that were guarded by trees were quite picturesque

good variety in hole lengths

decent tees (some of the wooded holes had the numbers broomed into them before the cement set up. unique and cool)

Cons: all par 3--less interesting

missing, broken, or outdated signs (causes confusion, wasted time and spoils the esthetic of the course)
Other Thoughts: this course is well designed and nice looking. it is flatter, longer and more open than the red course. I really like it when on site courses offer such a great variety.

these would be 4 disc courses for me with some nice looking, updated signage. I know signage doesn't matter when it's your home course, but it makes it hard for road tripping visitors to enjoy a course when they are wandering around confused.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ended Strong

1    3/13/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: A couple of open holes to start and finish, and some fun holes through the trees in the middle. A good use of a small creek running through the final holes.
Cons: A few of the holes were absolutely sandwiched between a fence and the road. These were a bit ridiculous. One of my least favorite holes, perhaps ever, is on this course. Both the tee and the basket were within feet of the fence. While one in our group banked the disc off the fence into the basket, my layup slid 10 feet past the basket, under the fence by 8 feet. I'm having flashbacks as I write this.
Other Thoughts: Not as good as the Red Course, but a pretty good course.

 I liked it

1    4/3/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It was laid out nice, and it had a good mix of holes. It had multiple pin placements, and everything was setup for a flicker, which I am not. I want to play it when it is setup for a back hander like myself.
Cons: Terrible baskets, lots of trash on course
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play it again!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 8 and final 4 were pleasant to play. A few were over 400ft to air out some throws, Well places trees to make some of the lines more technical. The OB creek was also really well utilized on most of the holes.
Cons: 9-14 is pretty boring.
9- Throw straight between trees.
10- Throw hyzer between trees
11-FH hyzer between trees
12-Throw hyzer between trees
13-Throw hyzer between trees
14-FH hyzer between trees.

There all about the same length too. I just want more variation here, make them much longer with nicer lines to follow. There is a lot of potential in this area and it feels like it's been wasted.
I will say these have some challenge though. Even though the drives are pretty identical and easy, the baskets are well guarded by trees and you can easily get a terrible lie and be forced a 3. I don't particularly care for too many holes like that, just because I feel like the luck factor is too high, but I'm not counting off points for that.

The chains are quite old and don't grip the putters too well. This is isn't a HUGE con, but still one. I had a putt go straight through the middle from about 10ft out to lose a bird. Okay, I should have taken into account the poor chains, and I'll put that one on me. But far away when going for long birds or ace runs, unless it's hitting bottom of basket, it's probably going to spit out the disc every time. I'd just like a better chance there.

Last con I have is the teepads. Their good concrete teepads, just too narrow and short. I have long legs, and though fine for a FH my BH run up is longer, and it forces me to go beside the tee. I don't mind running on the dirt, but some of the lines are definitely made for the teepad line and that's unfortunate.
Other Thoughts: Lots of kids running around the area, and cars are a bit distracting at times. I've never played when it super crowded with golfers, but I could see a few bad throws cause people to easily play through one another. I also don't think hardly any of the posted distance at the course are correct, but I think they're more accurate on this website.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging; mix of open and wooded holes; mix of fade and draw drives; long.
Cons: you can throw your disc over a fence on a few holes; baskets are hard to see sometimes and it's easy to throw at the wrong basket on a couple of holes; hard to navigate.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than the Red Course...

2-4    5/18/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: rflahive
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great distance shots mixed with obstacles, OB, and vegetation--I prefer longer (more difficult) courses, and this fits the bill. Ditch the Red Course, Man-Up and throw the Blue...
Cons: way finding from 14 basket to 15 tee could be improved--as could 12 basket to 13 tee...otherwise...NONE!
Other Thoughts: check on the OB rules with whomever you play with...the rules vary and are not well explained...

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work it, Work it, Own That Flight Path

2-4    5/10/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a combination open and wooded holes. It has a decent variety of long and short holes as well. There is a creek running through a part of it, but it also has a road and some OB to be dealt with. The wooded holes are either alley shots or the sparse, tall trunk style, which make you really know your flight paths to navigate the longer throws. The open holes are long enough to let you air a few drives out. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.
Cons: Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. You may have to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check and make sure you know which basket to throw at, if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was pretty good here. The trees, well-designed fairways, and the use of the road and creek kept you under control. Some of these prevented you from just throwing for distance. Like the other course on this property, I wish it had easier navigation, but it was still fun just the same. I certainly would play this course again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Course

5+    2/26/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course with some nice open drives along with some long tree-filled drives. Some fencing and water to keep you on your toes and lots of trees on the back 9-15 across the street.
Cons: Very easy to chucnk your disc over the fence toward the interstate on a few of the holes. Interstate is quite loud at times. Very confusing if you are first-timer without a guide, you must print the map if you want to not get frustrated. Lots and lots of grounded leaves to dissapear into. Both of these courses can be crowded on nice days.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the area. A great foil to the short, uber technical red course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.