North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Blue Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #4
3 / 451ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Friendlier than the red course

5+    10/15/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is much friendlier than the Red course are Burns Park, but not easy. There is diversity between the holes, only a few are truly similar. Good mix of obstacles. Be careful not to throw over the fence between the course and I-40,
Cons: Be careful not to throw over the fence between the course and I-40,
Other Thoughts: If you are a beginner, play this course at Burns park instead of the Red Course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More open than the Red but still pretty wooded

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded. Good variety of distances. Some of the wooded holes are pretty difficult. There is a creek in play on a few holes, but isn't too deep to get your plastic back. After playing the Red it was a nice change but not too drastic. Well kept. I saw a parks guy there picking up stuff. Between the local group and the parks guys, both of these courses are the most well kept pair that I have played. More than enough benches to rest. Fun course to play. Friendly locals. One guy knew about this site but he didn't ask my screen name so I figured he wasn't a dgcoursereview junkie like me and I assume many others. This site with the reviews and the pictures allows you to know what you are getting yourself into and to pick out the types of courses that you prefer. I really never thought about what courses outside of my area might be like until discovering this website.
Cons: Difficult to navigate in a few places. I was lucky and followed a local. He was extremely friendly and helpful. He was surprised to discover that one of the baskets had been moved about 150-200 ft. I think hole 9.(the first hole after you cross the street for 9-15) not a con just in info. Hole 11 or 12 is a throw and pray shot I hit a tree 3 times on that hole. Need better tee signs Houcks maybe.
Other Thoughts: This in my opinion is a very good course and I would recommend playing both of them if you are in the area or don't mind driving a few hours to play 36 holes at Burns baby Burns.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More challenging than the red course

2-4    3/16/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts out with the first couple of holes in the same wooded area as the red course, but then opens up into a much more open area for a few holes. There is a creek that runs along holes 4-8 for OB but is easy to get discs back from if you needed to. Great Holes: Hole 4 is a great long hole across a field of white flowers (in the Spring when I was there at least). Hole 5 is another awesome hole that shoots down a hill with a fenceline that runs the full length of the fairway on the left and has a creek that crosses the fairway in two different places to a basket about 450 feet out. Hole 7 is a cool tight hole with the same fenceline running the left side of the fairway. Holes 9-15 is across the road into another area with a lot of trees. This section had much less defined fairways from the rest of the course and from the red course. 16-18 are much easier to finish out the round. The blue course definitely had more long holes and more variety than the red course. Concrete tee pads and located in a park with a lot to do.
Cons: The blue course was not quite as much fun as the red course was. The blue course is also much more difficult to navigate, especially between holes 8 and 9. The basket for hole 8 actually says "17" on it and then the next tee box that you would intuitively go to is for hole 16. You have to cross the road and hunt for hole 9's tee box. Once you find that, your next challenge is to figure out where 9's basket is as it is not easy to locate in a mess of trees with no defined fairway and about 350 feet out. Most of the rest of the course is fairly easy to navigate. You may have to do a little bit of hunting when you are back in the area where holes 9-15 are. For some reason hole 12 did not have a concrete tee pad when I was there. It was the only one out of 36 holes at Burns Park. The baskets were old and beat up but double-layered chains caught okay. The red course has alternate tee pads to choose from, the blue course did not have them as far as I could tell. Not as much elevation change as the red course...for the most part pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: I thik that the blue course is the more challenging of the two courses at this park. The blue requires both accuracy and power, with several holes through trees in the 350 to 450 foot range.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Blue- Flat in the Field

1    7/15/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park has 36 holes. Both courses start and end from the same parking area (think mini-golf set-up!) This course is mostly flat and more open than the red course. A few open shots and ditches to navigate. There weren't the memorable holes of the red course, but I don't remember any stupid holes either. If I remember correctly, I think some of the back 9 was across the road.
Cons: Course was a little hard to navigate at times, and some baskets were hard to find, but we managed. Road comes into play on a couple of holes- watch for cars and disc scuffing!

Course seemed like it wasn't played too much when I was there- in fact the whole park (which contains a lot of stuff, including carnival type rides) seemed to be deserted- and it was summer.
Other Thoughts: Of the 2 courses I felt like this was a more solid course factoring in all 18 holes- nothing special, but nothing awful. It is a plus that another course is right there.

If I was passing through Little Rock again I would probably stop and play both courses.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good new concrete tees. This course is challenging, but a lot of fun to play. The variety is really good, with some long open holes, long tight holes, short open holes, and short tight holes. Holes that favor lefties and righties. You will need most every shot in your bag for this course.

There are a couple of bathroom houses on the back half of the course.
Cons: The course does not loop back at the half way point. This course would be difficult for newcomers, but the other course in the park compliments this one well. Only 1 hole was yet to have a concrete tee. It can be difficult to find your way to some holes.
Other Thoughts: The only time I played this course was in a pro championship tournament, so set up was in its most difficult positions (not sure how many different positions there are). It was very obvious to me that the local club had worked very hard in preparation for this big tournament, so the park was in pristine condition. The fairways were clean and a lot of cons I read from the other reviews seemed to be cleared up in my opinion. The park is really easy to get to off the interstate. As a blue level pro player, I enjoyed this course a lot more than the Red course. The balance was better, it was more of a challenge, and the fairways were a lot more fair.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Different than Red, good for some

10/9/2004   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long and open on many holes
Good long walk on mostly flat ground
Cons: Less traffic than Red, sees much less TLC and marking. Expect to get lost possibly on some holes - the unpainted baskets blend in well with trees during some seasons.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but don't play it often because the Red course is more my style and easier to get in and out of for me. If you have a large group who haven't played much, this might be a better choice because it is lower traffic and more open (and away from the freeway sans one or two holes).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I like the Red Course more...

4/10/2008   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some good distance
Open shots (more for big arms or beginners not worried about making near par)
Cons: Redundant for me
Since the Red course plays to my interests, it's hard to be fair reviewing the Blue Course
Some of the "fairways" on this course are nothing more than a random maze of trees with no real channel or tunnel...seems like luck more than skill is needed
Not as well signed as the Red Course
Other Thoughts: After the first couple of times playing both courses, I now only play the red course....
If you have a big arm or if you like longer holes and aren't into heavily wooded courses, you would like this course much better than the Red one...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Burns

6/16/2007   4/10/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two full 18 hole courses both well marked, fun, and providing a balanced challenge. The red course stays in the woods for almost every hole with some tunnels being very tight and others being more open. Elevation changes can be a factor. The distance of the red course is moderately low, but you need to be on your game to score well. The blue course also has some tight tunnel shots in the woods, but the majority of this course is longer and more open. There is less elevation change and trees but that is made up for with the longer distances.
Cons: Some holes not as well marked as you would like. Some gaps are almost non existent, you just throw and pray. Most times that I have played I have seen trach lying around.
Other Thoughts: The courses have been around for a long time and it has the feel of a nice worn in DG course. One of the finest courses in a large area and well worth a full day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

11/13/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: stephens
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Two courses to play.
Cons: Hard to find your way on th blue course.
Other Thoughts: Will play again. This couse is a must play in the state of AR

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.