Disc Golf Store
Lewisberry, PA 
Red Land High School Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #1 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Time to air out the drivers...from a standstill :(

1    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 207  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kiosk with maps, pencils and scorecards.
Distance carved into each tee pad.

Course features holes over 600 feet so you can air out the drivers that you do not get to use as much at the Gifford Pinchot courses.

A few attractive holes. 8 was a nice short par 3 gaurded by trees on the right and open field on the left. Elevation came into play on a few holes. 17 is a good example of throwing over the rolling hills. It is too difficult and dangerous for the average student, but to wide open for expereinced players.
Cons: 3x3 tee pads for holes over 600 feet are unacceptable. No tee signs.

Never found the tiny tee for hole 2.

Several design issues:
The first tee starts the course immediately throwing over a parking lot. HUGE hazard. Hole 2 throws over the soccer field, 3 is a blind shot over a gravel parking lot. Tee 4 aims directly at basket 5, which would be about the same distance as 4, so it is very easy to toss at the wrong basket. Hole 5's tee is directly infront of a shed, so a run up is impossible on this 560 foot hole. Holes 8,10, and 11 were all similar holes with something gaurding the right side so you had to come in from the left. Hole 9 was a tight right dog leg through mud and thorns. when you get to the end you have to do a 180 degree turn to throw back at teh basket. Hole 12 can throw over the track if you want to take that risk on your first or even second shot. 13 is a short uphill shot with the basket only 7 feet from the road. You can hit the basket and wind up OB. 16 throws over a exit road.
Other Thoughts: Not sure the purpose of this course. Par is set generous for school kids, but the course is not really set up for kids to use, The course is so spread out that supervision would be impossible, the tee pads are often very close to the previous baskets, and there are several safety issues. However, the tiny tee pads are a turn off for disc golfers who gain benefit from the long distance holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Open, Flawed

1    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 151  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept up. Everything was mowed. All tees except #2 were easy to find. A couple of interesting basket placements (#3, #9). Baskets are in great shape. Good mix of short and long. Good mix of up and down given the terrain). Short walk from parking lot to first tee. Course finishes back at same parking lot. You can really air out your drivers.
Cons: Most holes are wide open. Several play along the side of the woods but the woods are easily avoidable. Basically just long and open. My biggest gripe is the tee pads. They are very short and raised so when I ran up (which you want to on many of the holes), I invariably had trouble with the step-up and release. Two of the pads are directly in front of structures so you cannot run up. This is especially annoying on #7 which is a 569 foot hole but there is a shed directly behind the 4 foot tee pad so no run up at all. No facilities (unless you are a student or teacher, I guess).
Other Thoughts: The course is pleasant and I'm glad I played it once but there is no reason to return. If I had just teed off beside the tee pads (or somewhere else close), I probably would have enjoyed it more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    7/9/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Land High School hosts a nice 18 hole course that roams across very well maintained fields circling the school.

Pretty much all of the elevation available was used for this course. You get a couple downhill drives (1, 2, 4 and 7) as well as a few up hill rippers (11, 13, 14).

Most school courses consist of a 9 hole pitch and putt but this 18 hole course has some decent distance with a few holes over 400' all the way to 650'.

This is a good course for anyone looking to air out their plastic. There is also very little chance of losing a disc here.

The Innova Discatcher baskets were in good shape.

There were tees with the par and distance engraved into them.

Kiosk at Hole #1 that had pencils and score cards w/map.
Cons: The tee pads are only 3x3 concrete pads framed in wood.

The whole course is just kind of blah. It looks like the designer used everything available which admittedly wasn't much. Only three or four holes have any kind of natural obstacle.

Since it plays around and over a lot of the school fields this course would become unplayable if they were being used.

You play over roads and parking lots as well as very close to a few buildings. No real danger but you should be aware.
Other Thoughts: A nice fast course to play in the summer evenings when nothing else is happening at the school. Since I play mostly wooded courses it was a nice change to air out some of my discs without fear of trees and, well, anything interfering. Kind of like field practice.

I always appreciate school courses since that means that young people are being introduced to our sport but with all of the other courses in the area like, Pinchot, Creekside and Codorus this will never be a must play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Drive By

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Kiosk/scorecards at start, good baskets, on-line map makes it a cinch to navigate.
Cons:
Tee "pads" are 3'x3' wood frames filled with grey stones. Plays across/near multiple parking lots and athletic fields. Some tee locations are quite close to previous basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course skirts the property line and/or athletic fields of a high school set upon a large piece of property. If you like your courses long, mostly flat, and wide open, this is the course for you! Average length just under 400', ranging from 180' to 650', over half falling into the 275'-375' range. Half the holes are relatively flat, the others with elevation changes, but only three significantly so (#1 down, #13/#18 up). Other than narrow-wooded left-turning #9, all the holes are open. Most are WIDE open, with numbers 4,7,8,10,12 having "threats" (woods, fence) along the right-side.

No tee signs - the hole #, distance, and par is etched into the front of each teepad's wood frame, so you'll need the map to navigate. Most tee locations are near the previous basket and easy to find, but some tips include: #2, couldn't find it, so threw from just in front of the benches; #9 is in the woods, about even with basket #8; #17 is a bit behind/to the right of basket #16;

Favourite hole #3: Flat, just under 300', basket just behind a tree and a small grouping of bushes, can approach from left or right.

If you like to open courses where you can let loose and not worry too much about disc loss, this course is for you. If you prefer touch, technique, and turns, you'll need to look elsewhere.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I had a Course like this in High School

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has plenty of elevation and distance. Coming in at over 7000 feet. Mostly a big armer's delight with huge open drives across/alongside athletic fields. Up and down hills. One tight wooded hole on hole 9. The best holes are the for now unfinished 15-18. These holes are not close to any other activities and make playing this course worth the trip. 15 is an uphill climb. 16 is a glorious wide open hole across a bowl shaped grassy valley downhill then up between 2 trees. 17 is a steep drive up and across a steep sloping grass hillside, I would imagine wind and rollers could really come into play here. 18 appears to be a drive straight up again to finish the day. Well marked teepads. I love the concept of disc golf being part of a HS phys ed curriculum.
Cons: Just 12 holes at this time but soon to be 18......won't affect my rating, I am rating as if final 6 holes are done. The tee pads are tiny and big gravel stones at this time. I simply chose to tee off from the grass alongside the tees. For the massive distance of the holes here I would rather have just boards flat in the grass rather than short poor tees. The first 14 holes pose plenty of risk of injury or annoyance as they either traverse roads, parking lots, athletic fields or common areas. Realize the course is meant for PE class and thus no conflicts for students...but I would guess it is best to play this one during the summer during the day to avoid any conflicts. 180 days a year there will classes and there will be activity on the fields even more often. Hole 12 was a disappointment.....there is a huge open field 300-400 feet across with a dramatic hillside rising steeply 30-40 feet straight ahead....a basket at top or on this hillside would have been the signature hole on the course but instead the basket is doglegged around a football field barbed wired fence and all.....WHY? Too much risk and too rarely can you play without conflicts keeps my rating down.
Other Thoughts: If this course was just laid out as it is and there was no HS, atletic fields, roads, then it would be a 3.5 or 4 disc rating.....the distance and elevation makes it interesting. Unfortunately that won't happen. If your able to play it off hours I am sure you can have a lot of fun here. Probably a matter of time before a window gets smashed by an errant drive on Hole 17. Seems a bit of a beastly course for a HS. I don't think the course could be played in one gym period? I really don't think many HS kids will be able to play this huge course! I love the idea though and hopefully I will be proven wrong. I am considering contacting my Alma Mata about a 9 holer. Great Idea/Great Course...Good Luck to you Red Landers!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.