Disc Golf Store
Lewisberry, PA 
Red Land High School Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #4 (Taken 11/2011)
5 / 643ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Air it out

1    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 138  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great length, I have never seen any course with this amount of length on a high school campus, nothing with this length even on a college campus. Decent use of space.
Nice baskets
Cons: Tee pads are awful, they are pretty much useless.
Course was very wet and swampy after a rain, this tends to happen in most areas of PA I feel.
No real obstacles
School was not in session when I played but I don't think you will be able to play all 18 when the school fields are in use.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it could defiantly have it's fun moments. Lots of space to air out your arm and throw from some elevated tees. Very nice score cards and pencils available. They should really address the tee pads as it is a big cons especially when the course is soggy as they are useless except for giving the distance which is nice. I think it is a great course for a high school and probably the best high school course I have ever seen. I wish my high school had something 1/10th as good as this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your drivers and get ready to stretch out the old noodle.

5+    5/29/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 52  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide open allowing you lots of opportunities to air it out
-Excellent use of elevation throughout the course
-Low chance of disc loss
-Well maintained with nice newish baskets and concrete teepads (teepads are a bit short)
-Scorecards and pencils have been available beside hole #1 every time I have played there. The map on the scorecard also makes it very easy to navigate
Cons: -On the grounds of Redland High School, so during school hours you must yield to phys-ed classes or any other activity taking place
-Main challenge is distance, the design dosent place a high emphasis on "shotmaking"
-Plays across or near several roads and parking lots making awareness of your surroundings important
Other Thoughts: I am an above average recreational level player. For me this course is incredibly long. I can only think of 1 or 2 holes where I would tee off with anything other than a driver. There's nothing wrong with that its just not my favorite type of course. That being said, it allows you an opportunity to really grip it and rip it on almost every hole. Make sure you stretch and get that arm nice and warm before you play.
Its awesome that a local high school put a course in and hopefully this will encourage a whole new generation of disc golfers in the central pennsylvania area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice High School Course

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eighteen hole course with quality Innova baskets located on very well-manicured high school property. A "welcome" kiosk/board greets you at tee #1 and has a course map, pencils and scorecards available. The hole, par number and distance are all professionally etched into the front piece of 4 x 4 on each tee box. There is good variety and varying distances throughout the course and excellent use of elevation. Course navigation was relatively easy. Challenging, yet appropriate for most levels of play.
Cons: The biggest con by far is the size of the tee boxes, which are about half the size of what they should be. Public use is limited to summer months, after school hours and weekends & one must also work around athletic events taking place. Several holes cross access ways and hole one has the potential for disaster if cars are in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: While visiting the area, I decided to play this course and was not disappointed. As a high school phys. ed. teacher who designed a 9 hole course for our own school, I must commend those responsible for putting this course together. A lot of thought and effort went into this, and I think it's great this sport is slowly weaving its way into the school P.E. curriculum. The course is challenging- maybe TOO challenging for many students, but will undoubtedly improve their game while teaching them the sport. The Red Land DG Course will appeal to those who like to let it fly in an open area, not so much to those who prefer more technical layouts. Overall, a good playing experience. Get your 54 hole disc golf fix by playing Creekside, Pinchot State Park and Red Land all in one day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Patriot Pride

5+    9/5/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to play during the summer when school is not in session. A lot of elevation changes and long distance holes make this a great course for strong arms with long drives. The tee off boxes are marked well with the par and distance at the front of each box.
Cons: During school months the course is use for phy ed. class. Many of the holes are located around athletic fields which make it hard to play when practices or games are going on. Holes 1 and 3 go over parking areas. The tee boxes are a little small. Some of the tee offs don't have any room for a run up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and would be better if it wasn't built around high school athletic fields. That being said the best time to experience this course is over the summer when school isn't in session.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/17/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Wreckmaster13
Played: 129  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i have only been playing for 2 years.

Hole 1 - nice down hill across the driveway. Looks and plays nice.

Hole 2 - I love it ( See other thought..)Cons to follow.

Hole 3 - Look great, Cons to follow.

Hole 4 - Long dog leg. I have played across it for a long 2 attempt. not worth tring unless you have the arm...

Hole 5 - Basic

Hole 6 - across the side of a hill, great look and flow.

Hole 7- Driver hole

Hole 8 - Those of you looking for a ace here is the chance. I have hit the chains 3 time, but they have not grabbed the disc.

Hole 9 - potential see cons

Hole 10 - See cons

Hole 11 - Looks good, with danger on the right

Hole 12 - Well i have a descent arm and it still takes me 3 shot to get anywhere near the hole. I do love the danger factor on the right.

We have played the entire cousre a few time. i brought my hole with me and lugged it around the last 6 holes.

PLEASE FINISH SOON
Everything is marked

Hole 13 - another hole in one attemp. up hill is deceptive.
i like it.

Hole 14 - Throwing at the beach (volleyball court OB) hole just off the courner blind shot at the pin. i like it.

Hole 15 - LONG but a great vally looking throw right up the shoot.

Hole 16 - another great looking hole with the curb preventing the slide across the road

Hole 17 - School window are in danger if disc catches good cross wind. Another drivers hole.

Hole 18 - the finish with a up hill blind hole shot. very picturesque. Just kidden

Great flow to the course. Please see cons. i do have some worries.
Cons: Hole 2 - soccer practice/ tournaments.

Hole 3 - Across the parking lot for the soccer practice/tournaments

Hole 4 - Over hanging tree at tee off box right over tee box. Maybe open up a cut out straight toward the hole.

Hole 5 - Tee box needs moved forward a bit, only a few feet behind it. ( runway not needed, but it helps.

Hole 7 - Tee box right against shed. Maybe move it to side of shed.

Hole 9 - Not everyone is a pro. open up path a bit wider , Half way down cut a path to cross over to field.

Hole 10 - Soccer practice. move tee off pad. right now you are standing practically in poison to throw. with vines hanging over the tee box. Plus if others are playing hole 9 , you are in their way.

Hole 12 - really long. Feild hockey/ soccer/ baseball football practice.

That about it.

Other Thoughts: i may be biased to this course, it is my favorite. ( Well because hole 2 is the first hole i have ever aced.) With a soccer coach standing on the field watching, and the wrestling coach in my foursome)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will be great when done

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a brand new course, that when all 18 holes have disccatchers, will be a lot of fun to play. The course had a couple of interesting holes that changed elevation. Nice to have a course in the middle of West Shore School District. Shouldn't have too much traffic on it since it's at a High School. This is a great practice course for long drives. Almost all holes you can really grip it and rip it and most likely will still be on some sort of grass. The key for this course is how well can you approach and putt. The course is maintained well since it is at a high school and mowed regularly. The course has had a lot of trees chopped down and has cleared up some bad spots on the course where a disc may have wanted to hide. Can't wait to get the other holes in! Good exercise walking this course...up and down hills, this is not a casual walk.
Cons: The holes can be extremely swampy. Holes 6-9 are all along the woods and number 9 is basically in the woods. The tee box for number 9 is about 15 feet back in the woods behind number 8's basket. Some people play 9 by throwing out onto number 8 and then taking a long shot at the hole instead of trying to finesse your shots through the carved out woods.
Other Thoughts: This course will be great for all skill levels. If you are a pro, make sure you're under par and have a great shot to get some 2's on some long holes. Gives people a great chance to practice some bombs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Long and open

1    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Jaysus
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I started on hole #3, which seems like a nice place to start: right off of Pleasant View Road in the stone parking lot. The #2 basket is in the middle of the field to the left, and the #3 tee is just past it. #3 plays back across the parking lot behind some guard trees that are pretty much the only natural obstacles on the course - neat little hole.

#4 is a monster dogleg right that plays about 350' straight before turning 90 degrees to the right for the next 300' or so. This is one of the holes that plays along the woods - which I would consider OB to increase the challenge on the course (a lot of the baskets are awfully close to the woods).

#5, 6, and 7 play back and forth across the field, some swampy areas mixed in there... enough to keep a mower out, but not enough to lose a disc in. #7 is long and downhill with the basket in the "corner" - that will make sense when you see it. Fun hole - awful tee though; the tee is only 3' long and it is about 1' in front of a shed... oof.

#8 and 9 play along the wood line and are both are similar shots, slight anny or straight and low. I couldn't find the #9 tee, so I estimated the distance above, but it is essentially the exact same shot as #8. Should you chose to play the woods as OB, your putts could be hairy. #10 is another similar shot, though longer and back towards the track. #11 is the same shot as 6, but in the opposite direction - maybe a bit flatter.

#12 is long… and I 4ed it (just wanted to mention that): hard dogleg right after about 400' with a 12' high fence surrounding the track along the right. Pin location along a hill makes for a fun putt - oh yeah, there is a building in play too that may force an overhand shot depending on where your drive lands.

Holes 13-18 did not have baskets: 13 is an odd and short hole, up a hill, across a 'road', with a pin position that I can only imagine is near the parking lot (I just played to a trash can).

#15, 16, and 17 were all real pretty and will surely be a fun stretch of holes - I am looking forward to the basket on them… will probably be the signature stretch of holes on the course. #18 is pretty much straight forward, and ends up in another "corner" up near the road.

Walk between the tennis courts and Pleasant View Road from the #18 basket to find the #1 tee for a goofy downhill shot across a `road' with a bunch of fenced in area behind the basket. I didn't actually throw from the tee because there were so many cars leaving the school at the time.

To find the #2 tee, take a 200' walk from the #1 basket towards Pleasant View Road, then round the corner (around the previously mentioned fenced in area) away from the road for another 100' or so. #2 is another open downhill shot that make short armed discers like myself feel like Earls.
Cons: The tee boxes are pretty rough. They are all 3'x 2' and a bunch of them have obstacles immediately behind them (mostly sheds, but also a ditch or two). I did not even try throwing from a couple of them. On the plus side, they were all cleverly marked with distance and par - which was nice.

A couple holes played across either parking lots, or campus roads, which is awkward.

Currently no baskets on holes 12-18.
Other Thoughts: So yeah, Red Land, huh? Imagine Willow Mill on steroids. Not those wimpy 'roids that Manny Rodriguez was caught using either - think Arnold Schwarzenegger 70's style steroids. The course is over 7k feet long... no, really. There are 3 600+ footers, one of which is nearly 700'. Some nice elevation changes, but not many trees - mostly just length. I think the school is planning on including DG in the PE curriculum - those kids are going to develop quite the arms playing this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.