Lewisberry, PA 
Red Land High School Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #4 (Taken 11/2011)
5 / 643ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Wish I had a Course like this in High School

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has plenty of elevation and distance. Coming in at over 7000 feet. Mostly a big armer's delight with huge open drives across/alongside athletic fields. Up and down hills. One tight wooded hole on hole 9. The best holes are the for now unfinished 15-18. These holes are not close to any other activities and make playing this course worth the trip. 15 is an uphill climb. 16 is a glorious wide open hole across a bowl shaped grassy valley downhill then up between 2 trees. 17 is a steep drive up and across a steep sloping grass hillside, I would imagine wind and rollers could really come into play here. 18 appears to be a drive straight up again to finish the day. Well marked teepads. I love the concept of disc golf being part of a HS phys ed curriculum.
Cons: Just 12 holes at this time but soon to be 18......won't affect my rating, I am rating as if final 6 holes are done. The tee pads are tiny and big gravel stones at this time. I simply chose to tee off from the grass alongside the tees. For the massive distance of the holes here I would rather have just boards flat in the grass rather than short poor tees. The first 14 holes pose plenty of risk of injury or annoyance as they either traverse roads, parking lots, athletic fields or common areas. Realize the course is meant for PE class and thus no conflicts for students...but I would guess it is best to play this one during the summer during the day to avoid any conflicts. 180 days a year there will classes and there will be activity on the fields even more often. Hole 12 was a disappointment.....there is a huge open field 300-400 feet across with a dramatic hillside rising steeply 30-40 feet straight ahead....a basket at top or on this hillside would have been the signature hole on the course but instead the basket is doglegged around a football field barbed wired fence and all.....WHY? Too much risk and too rarely can you play without conflicts keeps my rating down.
Other Thoughts: If this course was just laid out as it is and there was no HS, atletic fields, roads, then it would be a 3.5 or 4 disc rating.....the distance and elevation makes it interesting. Unfortunately that won't happen. If your able to play it off hours I am sure you can have a lot of fun here. Probably a matter of time before a window gets smashed by an errant drive on Hole 17. Seems a bit of a beastly course for a HS. I don't think the course could be played in one gym period? I really don't think many HS kids will be able to play this huge course! I love the idea though and hopefully I will be proven wrong. I am considering contacting my Alma Mata about a 9 holer. Great Idea/Great Course...Good Luck to you Red Landers!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/17/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Wreckmaster13
Played: 144  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i have only been playing for 2 years.

Hole 1 - nice down hill across the driveway. Looks and plays nice.

Hole 2 - I love it ( See other thought..)Cons to follow.

Hole 3 - Look great, Cons to follow.

Hole 4 - Long dog leg. I have played across it for a long 2 attempt. not worth tring unless you have the arm...

Hole 5 - Basic

Hole 6 - across the side of a hill, great look and flow.

Hole 7- Driver hole

Hole 8 - Those of you looking for a ace here is the chance. I have hit the chains 3 time, but they have not grabbed the disc.

Hole 9 - potential see cons

Hole 10 - See cons

Hole 11 - Looks good, with danger on the right

Hole 12 - Well i have a descent arm and it still takes me 3 shot to get anywhere near the hole. I do love the danger factor on the right.

We have played the entire cousre a few time. i brought my hole with me and lugged it around the last 6 holes.

PLEASE FINISH SOON
Everything is marked

Hole 13 - another hole in one attemp. up hill is deceptive.
i like it.

Hole 14 - Throwing at the beach (volleyball court OB) hole just off the courner blind shot at the pin. i like it.

Hole 15 - LONG but a great vally looking throw right up the shoot.

Hole 16 - another great looking hole with the curb preventing the slide across the road

Hole 17 - School window are in danger if disc catches good cross wind. Another drivers hole.

Hole 18 - the finish with a up hill blind hole shot. very picturesque. Just kidden

Great flow to the course. Please see cons. i do have some worries.
Cons: Hole 2 - soccer practice/ tournaments.

Hole 3 - Across the parking lot for the soccer practice/tournaments

Hole 4 - Over hanging tree at tee off box right over tee box. Maybe open up a cut out straight toward the hole.

Hole 5 - Tee box needs moved forward a bit, only a few feet behind it. ( runway not needed, but it helps.

Hole 7 - Tee box right against shed. Maybe move it to side of shed.

Hole 9 - Not everyone is a pro. open up path a bit wider , Half way down cut a path to cross over to field.

Hole 10 - Soccer practice. move tee off pad. right now you are standing practically in poison to throw. with vines hanging over the tee box. Plus if others are playing hole 9 , you are in their way.

Hole 12 - really long. Feild hockey/ soccer/ baseball football practice.

That about it.

Other Thoughts: i may be biased to this course, it is my favorite. ( Well because hole 2 is the first hole i have ever aced.) With a soccer coach standing on the field watching, and the wrestling coach in my foursome)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will be great when done

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a brand new course, that when all 18 holes have disccatchers, will be a lot of fun to play. The course had a couple of interesting holes that changed elevation. Nice to have a course in the middle of West Shore School District. Shouldn't have too much traffic on it since it's at a High School. This is a great practice course for long drives. Almost all holes you can really grip it and rip it and most likely will still be on some sort of grass. The key for this course is how well can you approach and putt. The course is maintained well since it is at a high school and mowed regularly. The course has had a lot of trees chopped down and has cleared up some bad spots on the course where a disc may have wanted to hide. Can't wait to get the other holes in! Good exercise walking this course...up and down hills, this is not a casual walk.
Cons: The holes can be extremely swampy. Holes 6-9 are all along the woods and number 9 is basically in the woods. The tee box for number 9 is about 15 feet back in the woods behind number 8's basket. Some people play 9 by throwing out onto number 8 and then taking a long shot at the hole instead of trying to finesse your shots through the carved out woods.
Other Thoughts: This course will be great for all skill levels. If you are a pro, make sure you're under par and have a great shot to get some 2's on some long holes. Gives people a great chance to practice some bombs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Long and open

1    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Jaysus
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I started on hole #3, which seems like a nice place to start: right off of Pleasant View Road in the stone parking lot. The #2 basket is in the middle of the field to the left, and the #3 tee is just past it. #3 plays back across the parking lot behind some guard trees that are pretty much the only natural obstacles on the course - neat little hole.

#4 is a monster dogleg right that plays about 350' straight before turning 90 degrees to the right for the next 300' or so. This is one of the holes that plays along the woods - which I would consider OB to increase the challenge on the course (a lot of the baskets are awfully close to the woods).

#5, 6, and 7 play back and forth across the field, some swampy areas mixed in there... enough to keep a mower out, but not enough to lose a disc in. #7 is long and downhill with the basket in the "corner" - that will make sense when you see it. Fun hole - awful tee though; the tee is only 3' long and it is about 1' in front of a shed... oof.

#8 and 9 play along the wood line and are both are similar shots, slight anny or straight and low. I couldn't find the #9 tee, so I estimated the distance above, but it is essentially the exact same shot as #8. Should you chose to play the woods as OB, your putts could be hairy. #10 is another similar shot, though longer and back towards the track. #11 is the same shot as 6, but in the opposite direction - maybe a bit flatter.

#12 is long… and I 4ed it (just wanted to mention that): hard dogleg right after about 400' with a 12' high fence surrounding the track along the right. Pin location along a hill makes for a fun putt - oh yeah, there is a building in play too that may force an overhand shot depending on where your drive lands.

Holes 13-18 did not have baskets: 13 is an odd and short hole, up a hill, across a 'road', with a pin position that I can only imagine is near the parking lot (I just played to a trash can).

#15, 16, and 17 were all real pretty and will surely be a fun stretch of holes - I am looking forward to the basket on them… will probably be the signature stretch of holes on the course. #18 is pretty much straight forward, and ends up in another "corner" up near the road.

Walk between the tennis courts and Pleasant View Road from the #18 basket to find the #1 tee for a goofy downhill shot across a `road' with a bunch of fenced in area behind the basket. I didn't actually throw from the tee because there were so many cars leaving the school at the time.

To find the #2 tee, take a 200' walk from the #1 basket towards Pleasant View Road, then round the corner (around the previously mentioned fenced in area) away from the road for another 100' or so. #2 is another open downhill shot that make short armed discers like myself feel like Earls.
Cons: The tee boxes are pretty rough. They are all 3'x 2' and a bunch of them have obstacles immediately behind them (mostly sheds, but also a ditch or two). I did not even try throwing from a couple of them. On the plus side, they were all cleverly marked with distance and par - which was nice.

A couple holes played across either parking lots, or campus roads, which is awkward.

Currently no baskets on holes 12-18.
Other Thoughts: So yeah, Red Land, huh? Imagine Willow Mill on steroids. Not those wimpy 'roids that Manny Rodriguez was caught using either - think Arnold Schwarzenegger 70's style steroids. The course is over 7k feet long... no, really. There are 3 600+ footers, one of which is nearly 700'. Some nice elevation changes, but not many trees - mostly just length. I think the school is planning on including DG in the PE curriculum - those kids are going to develop quite the arms playing this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.