Disc Golf Store
Lewisberry, PA 
Red Land High School Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
5 / 652ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    8/1/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: rmiller44
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big, big, big. If you're tired banging your drivers off trees, this is your course. Great elevation changes, several blind tee shots, and the school grounds are very well maintained.

#1 -Down two hills and across the parking lot...beauty. Aim for the light pole with a strong backhand and you'll end up close. Yes, I've hit the farm house.

#2 - Walk between the fence and the shed to find the tee box...if no one is parking on it.

#3 - The basket is protected by a small rise of trees. Left or right is fine; straight on is no man's land.

#4 - Big drive back across the gravel lot then a dogleg right to the basket. The fringe is brutal.

#5 - This is your chance to impress the field hockey players and baseball teams. The only hazard is the seasonal swamp from left to center.

#6 - Another big drive to an elevated basket. Try to avoid the joggers on the path along the hill.

#7 - Like most of the sheds by the tees, this one harbors an assortment of bees and wasps, so just give them room. Two big drives can get you close the basket that's nestled in the corner.

#8 - Aceable. Easier when the foliage is not so lush.

#9 - This is their homage to finesse. Head down the path to the right of #8 and the tee box is in the mud. Nice and tight throws. "House rules" say you can blast it out into the field if you're not into finesse, but only after your first shot.

#10 - Straight shot along the soccer field. Again, the fringe is brutal. A little drop off beyond the hole can make for a tough putt.

#11 - It's not that far, but the fenced-in track to your right can mess with your head. Especially if the gate is closed.

#12 - This is why you came (unless it's football season). Big fairway of 400 feet, track to your right, around the concession building, and there's the basket, perched up on top of the hill. If you overshoot and have to putt downhill, good luck.

#13 - My one and only ace hole. Up the hill and across the road. Watch for cross traffic.

#14 - Another blind tee shot, over a slight rise. No one has used the sand volleyball court in years, so it makes a nice landing spot.

#15 - Another favorite. The area around the tee box is usually pretty damp, but your first throw is a bottleneck between a hill and some residences, then it opens up to a vast field with the basket sitting in the middle of nowhere.

#16 - Most scenic tee shot. Long, across the bowl-shaped field towards the road, then through the tree line to the basket. Really nice view in the fall.

#17 - After #16, make a hard right and follow the road to the tee box. The basket is hidden over the hill to the right of the school. And once you're over the crest, it drops off so far to the left that a promising shot can easily bounce off the road or the brick wall.

#18 - Blind, straight up the hill, to the right of the tennis courts. Make sure to stop at the memorial for the beloved Mr. Bartol; the inscription on the plaque is "Did you fill anyone's basket today?" Almost like he's the patron saint of disc golf. Reflect for a moment, then go ahead and fill your own basket. You earned it.
Cons: This course puts the "multi" in multi-use. Most days are fine, but you'll have to skip several holes during the spring and fall sports seasons. The tee boxes are more for reference, not really usable for a run up. The foliage around the fringe of the course is very dense in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown course, the one that got me into the sport. So despite its flaws, I'm still very fond of it. We're blessed to have some quality courses in this area (Quaker's Challenge, Boulder Woods, Creekside, and Coyote Hills), and this is a nice alternative if you're looking for something different.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for distances

5+    6/28/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: Fire Marshal Bill
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, wide open areas. Several changes in elevation make it interesting on several of the holes, mainly baskets 1, 17 and 18. Each tee has the distance and par cut into it. Maps are located up at Tee 1.
Cons: Located on school grounds. Several of the baskets are located across roadways, meaning you have to throw across them. Tees are somewhat on the small side, roughly 3 foot by 3 foot. Scorecard and map are not the easiest to understand.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course. Plenty of wide open spaces to try out your long distance drivers. Can become rather windy at times.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Time to air out the drivers...from a standstill :(

1    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kiosk with maps, pencils and scorecards.
Distance carved into each tee pad.

Course features holes over 600 feet so you can air out the drivers that you do not get to use as much at the Gifford Pinchot courses.

A few attractive holes. 8 was a nice short par 3 gaurded by trees on the right and open field on the left. Elevation came into play on a few holes. 17 is a good example of throwing over the rolling hills. It is too difficult and dangerous for the average student, but to wide open for expereinced players.
Cons: 3x3 tee pads for holes over 600 feet are unacceptable. No tee signs.

Never found the tiny tee for hole 2.

Several design issues:
The first tee starts the course immediately throwing over a parking lot. HUGE hazard. Hole 2 throws over the soccer field, 3 is a blind shot over a gravel parking lot. Tee 4 aims directly at basket 5, which would be about the same distance as 4, so it is very easy to toss at the wrong basket. Hole 5's tee is directly infront of a shed, so a run up is impossible on this 560 foot hole. Holes 8,10, and 11 were all similar holes with something gaurding the right side so you had to come in from the left. Hole 9 was a tight right dog leg through mud and thorns. when you get to the end you have to do a 180 degree turn to throw back at teh basket. Hole 12 can throw over the track if you want to take that risk on your first or even second shot. 13 is a short uphill shot with the basket only 7 feet from the road. You can hit the basket and wind up OB. 16 throws over a exit road.
Other Thoughts: Not sure the purpose of this course. Par is set generous for school kids, but the course is not really set up for kids to use, The course is so spread out that supervision would be impossible, the tee pads are often very close to the previous baskets, and there are several safety issues. However, the tiny tee pads are a turn off for disc golfers who gain benefit from the long distance holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Open, Flawed

1    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept up. Everything was mowed. All tees except #2 were easy to find. A couple of interesting basket placements (#3, #9). Baskets are in great shape. Good mix of short and long. Good mix of up and down given the terrain). Short walk from parking lot to first tee. Course finishes back at same parking lot. You can really air out your drivers.
Cons: Most holes are wide open. Several play along the side of the woods but the woods are easily avoidable. Basically just long and open. My biggest gripe is the tee pads. They are very short and raised so when I ran up (which you want to on many of the holes), I invariably had trouble with the step-up and release. Two of the pads are directly in front of structures so you cannot run up. This is especially annoying on #7 which is a 569 foot hole but there is a shed directly behind the 4 foot tee pad so no run up at all. No facilities (unless you are a student or teacher, I guess).
Other Thoughts: The course is pleasant and I'm glad I played it once but there is no reason to return. If I had just teed off beside the tee pads (or somewhere else close), I probably would have enjoyed it more.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    7/9/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Land High School hosts a nice 18 hole course that roams across very well maintained fields circling the school.

Pretty much all of the elevation available was used for this course. You get a couple downhill drives (1, 2, 4 and 7) as well as a few up hill rippers (11, 13, 14).

Most school courses consist of a 9 hole pitch and putt but this 18 hole course has some decent distance with a few holes over 400' all the way to 650'.

This is a good course for anyone looking to air out their plastic. There is also very little chance of losing a disc here.

The Innova Discatcher baskets were in good shape.

There were tees with the par and distance engraved into them.

Kiosk at Hole #1 that had pencils and score cards w/map.
Cons: The tee pads are only 3x3 concrete pads framed in wood.

The whole course is just kind of blah. It looks like the designer used everything available which admittedly wasn't much. Only three or four holes have any kind of natural obstacle.

Since it plays around and over a lot of the school fields this course would become unplayable if they were being used.

You play over roads and parking lots as well as very close to a few buildings. No real danger but you should be aware.
Other Thoughts: A nice fast course to play in the summer evenings when nothing else is happening at the school. Since I play mostly wooded courses it was a nice change to air out some of my discs without fear of trees and, well, anything interfering. Kind of like field practice.

I always appreciate school courses since that means that young people are being introduced to our sport but with all of the other courses in the area like, Pinchot, Creekside and Codorus this will never be a must play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Air it out

1    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 139  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great length, I have never seen any course with this amount of length on a high school campus, nothing with this length even on a college campus. Decent use of space.
Nice baskets
Cons: Tee pads are awful, they are pretty much useless.
Course was very wet and swampy after a rain, this tends to happen in most areas of PA I feel.
No real obstacles
School was not in session when I played but I don't think you will be able to play all 18 when the school fields are in use.
Other Thoughts: This course seems like it could defiantly have it's fun moments. Lots of space to air out your arm and throw from some elevated tees. Very nice score cards and pencils available. They should really address the tee pads as it is a big cons especially when the course is soggy as they are useless except for giving the distance which is nice. I think it is a great course for a high school and probably the best high school course I have ever seen. I wish my high school had something 1/10th as good as this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your drivers and get ready to stretch out the old noodle.

5+    5/29/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Wide open allowing you lots of opportunities to air it out
-Excellent use of elevation throughout the course
-Low chance of disc loss
-Well maintained with nice newish baskets and concrete teepads (teepads are a bit short)
-Scorecards and pencils have been available beside hole #1 every time I have played there. The map on the scorecard also makes it very easy to navigate
Cons: -On the grounds of Redland High School, so during school hours you must yield to phys-ed classes or any other activity taking place
-Main challenge is distance, the design dosent place a high emphasis on "shotmaking"
-Plays across or near several roads and parking lots making awareness of your surroundings important
Other Thoughts: I am an above average recreational level player. For me this course is incredibly long. I can only think of 1 or 2 holes where I would tee off with anything other than a driver. There's nothing wrong with that its just not my favorite type of course. That being said, it allows you an opportunity to really grip it and rip it on almost every hole. Make sure you stretch and get that arm nice and warm before you play.
Its awesome that a local high school put a course in and hopefully this will encourage a whole new generation of disc golfers in the central pennsylvania area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice High School Course

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eighteen hole course with quality Innova baskets located on very well-manicured high school property. A "welcome" kiosk/board greets you at tee #1 and has a course map, pencils and scorecards available. The hole, par number and distance are all professionally etched into the front piece of 4 x 4 on each tee box. There is good variety and varying distances throughout the course and excellent use of elevation. Course navigation was relatively easy. Challenging, yet appropriate for most levels of play.
Cons: The biggest con by far is the size of the tee boxes, which are about half the size of what they should be. Public use is limited to summer months, after school hours and weekends & one must also work around athletic events taking place. Several holes cross access ways and hole one has the potential for disaster if cars are in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: While visiting the area, I decided to play this course and was not disappointed. As a high school phys. ed. teacher who designed a 9 hole course for our own school, I must commend those responsible for putting this course together. A lot of thought and effort went into this, and I think it's great this sport is slowly weaving its way into the school P.E. curriculum. The course is challenging- maybe TOO challenging for many students, but will undoubtedly improve their game while teaching them the sport. The Red Land DG Course will appeal to those who like to let it fly in an open area, not so much to those who prefer more technical layouts. Overall, a good playing experience. Get your 54 hole disc golf fix by playing Creekside, Pinchot State Park and Red Land all in one day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Drive By

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Kiosk/scorecards at start, good baskets, on-line map makes it a cinch to navigate.
Cons:
Tee "pads" are 3'x3' wood frames filled with grey stones. Plays across/near multiple parking lots and athletic fields. Some tee locations are quite close to previous basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course skirts the property line and/or athletic fields of a high school set upon a large piece of property. If you like your courses long, mostly flat, and wide open, this is the course for you! Average length just under 400', ranging from 180' to 650', over half falling into the 275'-375' range. Half the holes are relatively flat, the others with elevation changes, but only three significantly so (#1 down, #13/#18 up). Other than narrow-wooded left-turning #9, all the holes are open. Most are WIDE open, with numbers 4,7,8,10,12 having "threats" (woods, fence) along the right-side.

No tee signs - the hole #, distance, and par is etched into the front of each teepad's wood frame, so you'll need the map to navigate. Most tee locations are near the previous basket and easy to find, but some tips include: #2, couldn't find it, so threw from just in front of the benches; #9 is in the woods, about even with basket #8; #17 is a bit behind/to the right of basket #16;

Favourite hole #3: Flat, just under 300', basket just behind a tree and a small grouping of bushes, can approach from left or right.

If you like to open courses where you can let loose and not worry too much about disc loss, this course is for you. If you prefer touch, technique, and turns, you'll need to look elsewhere.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Patriot Pride

5+    9/5/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course to play during the summer when school is not in session. A lot of elevation changes and long distance holes make this a great course for strong arms with long drives. The tee off boxes are marked well with the par and distance at the front of each box.
Cons: During school months the course is use for phy ed. class. Many of the holes are located around athletic fields which make it hard to play when practices or games are going on. Holes 1 and 3 go over parking areas. The tee boxes are a little small. Some of the tee offs don't have any room for a run up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and would be better if it wasn't built around high school athletic fields. That being said the best time to experience this course is over the summer when school isn't in session.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center